We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish this was our real home!”
Review of Aloha Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Cottage
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We cannot praise enough how thoroughly pleased we were with our choice. This was far outside of our budget, but worth every penny! Coming home every night and not having the hustle and bustle of a hotel or basically anyone around. The kitchen was absolutely perfect and allowed us to live by the local foods from farmer's markets! The outside bathtub--Oh my goodness... talk about delightful. There was a review about privacy that we were like, "how much more private could you get?" However, there were times when I was in the tub and the people in the driveway would drive down the road, and I understood why that review noted that. However, I did not feel like my privacy was invaded at ANY time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReshapewithApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aloha Cottage. Very romantic and private. The bed is sooo comfortable...got a good night's sleep every night. Things to note: 1) No air conditioning - not a problem at night and in the morning as it is cool and even a little chilly, but very warm during the day. Also not much of a problem, though, because we did all of our activities during the day. 2) Get snacks - the nearest town is about 10 minutes away. 3) Get a massage at Body Therapeutics in Pa'ia. My husband and I had a couples massage, and we agreed it was the best massage we've ever had - and I've had a lot of massages. 4) Eat at Mama's Fish House in Pa'ia. Excellent food, pricy, but totally worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeIsBeautiful7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Nestled in the mountains of Maui this ideal getaway offers luxury as well as seclusion. Within driving distance from beautiful Maui beaches, it is also minutes away from a forest walk or the local village (Makawao). All home comforts away from home and a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Great honeymoon cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ForestHIlls_NYDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is a lovely, secluded cottage - perfect for individuals who want privacy and quiet. The cottage has all the basic amenities including cable tv, laundry facilities and a hot tub outside on the patio. It is about a 10-15 minute drive into the local village where there are a few art galleries, restaurants and some really nice little shops that offer home furnishings, clothing, jewelry, etc. If you drive an additional 10 minutes, you will find a somewhat larger village with more restaurants, a health food store and a beach. This beach is good for people who like surfing activities as it has waves, but I think it is too rough for small children to safely enjoy. Be aware that driving to other attraction areas around Maui can take anywhere from 45 - 75 minutes (that's just how the island is). Anyways, if you want a quiet, serene hideaway with the best night time star watching you will ever experience, this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was my first visit to Maui and I couldn't have been more pleased with my choice to stay at Aloha Cottage. The property is secluded, quiet & gorgeous.

The cottage is upscale, clean & beautiful. The kitchen is fully stocked which is very important to me. The outdoor tub on the lanai is heaven - nothing like soaking in a hot tub every evening in paradise. I was lucky enough to have a full moon for company!

The owners were available to answer any questions I had, to offer suggestions only a local would know and yet they were very respectful of my privacy.

The location upcountry is perfectly situated for peace, quiet & fresh air. It was easy to make daytrips to other locations on the island. Also close to the best natural food store on the island, Mana Foods in Paia

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.5 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
32.2 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
21 km away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
572 reviews
43.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
7.2 km away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Cottage

Address: 1875 Olinda Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7126
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Makawao
Price Range: ₹ 12,830 - ₹ 19,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two distinctly different cottage rentals; The Thai Tree House and The Aloha Cottage. Both of these romantic maui vacation cottages, along with the main house, are situated on five pristine acres of a pastoral private upcountry, Maui estate. We strive to provide each of our guests with the finest vacation experience within Upcountry Maui and beyond. The Aloha Cottage is adorned with unique Balinese treasures and The Thai Tree House is uniquely decorated with marvelous items from Thailand. Each cottage was custom-built and designed around these two exotic themes while also maintaining an authentic Hawaiian feel to their settings. There's really nothing else like it on Maui. Privacy abounds with each cottage! The design and placement of these two cottages on the property were carefully planned so that would be ample distance away from each other and also that both cottages remain a good distance away from the main house. In fact each cottage is well over 120 yards away from any dwelling in an effort to provide you with an air of seclusion and independence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Cottage Hotel Makawao
Aloha Cottage Maui/Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing