We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lahaina
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napili Point Resort(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kahana Falls(Lahaina)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
261
68
14
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
68
14
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmai tai partyfriday breakfastcornbreadsea turtlesgarden viewpineapplelow keyhigh risethe north endshuffle boardwe loved our staybit datedfull kitchendaily maid servicebeautiful groundsminute drivebeach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A travel agent recommended this spot to us way back in the late 1980's and we've been coming here ever since. If you're not looking for a full-service resort hotel with lots of amenties and lots of crowds, then this is the perfect spot on Maui's west coast. We always stay upstairs in unit 201 (best) or 202 (second best) and the accomodations never disappoint - well-stocked kitchens so you can cook meals, two gas bbq grills outside for grilling that fresh Hawaiian fish, a fresh herb garden right next to one of the grills for your rosemary or thyme-flavored marinades. But the best feature is the proximity to beautiful Napili Bay. You are literally steps from the beach and Napili Surf has its own little sand beach just for guests situated under two big mesquite trees - ideal for reading and napping and watching the waves.The grounds are beautiful, colorful and always immaculate. I can't say enough good things about Napili Surf! Walk across the intimate beach to the nearby Sea Horse restaurant for puu puus or great breakfast. Snorkel right in very clear Napili Bay and revel in the marine life, complete with sea turtles. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upstairs gives you the best view. Favorites are 201 and 202.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BarbRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice. Once in 2005 on our honeymoon and once in April 2010. It's not super modern, but they have been doing updates. It's super clean, the units are very well cared for, they have very well cared for gardens and property. It's like a secret slice of heaven. It's quiet, the facilities are nice, the staff have always been more than courteous and I truly hope to go back again. Napili Bay is beautiful and my husband and I enjoy watching the sea turtles ride the surf on the rocky side right in front of the hotel. Not to mention that everyone we've met that stays here is really nice too. You won't regret choosing this property for your trip.

Room Tip: so far they have all been good
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ComeFlyWithMe_Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had a lower unit, but view of grounds were nice, room was super quiet, and loved that it had a bedroom door so if one of us woke up early , we could just go out to living room.. Bathroom area was old and small, kitchen was adequate.. Beach area is small but nice and not to loud. Older, quiet crowd. Nice location away from town but not too far from the resteraunts and shops. I accidentally left a small wallet that had fallen out of my bag that had 300 in it, I hadn't yet realized it had dropped out, when they called to say they would be returning it.
Nice! Great customer service and we loved our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We returned to Napili Surf with our boys for a family reunion after staying here on our honeymoon thirteen years earlier. Immediately, we asked ourselves, "Why did we wait so long to return?"

The grounds are immaculate. The friendly grounds crew seem to take pride in their work each day. The daily service in the room was done flawlessly. The front office staff was always willing to answer a question or help. We appreciated the chance to mingle with other guests on their weekly Mai Tia night and the Friday breakfast. Napili Surf creates a low key atmosphere that is very relaxing. You are steps away from the pool, beach, or just a lawn chair under the tree overlooking the ocean. The sunsets are amazing! Straight out of a postcard. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the ocean each night. We will certainly return to the place our eight year old son has been telling everyone was "paradise".

Tip: The Slack Key Guitar night (Wednesdays I think) is a short 10 min. walk from Napili Surf. It is fabulous! They begin tuning up and jamming at doors.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coachmdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were searching for a low rise condo on the water with good snorkeling for a group vacation with family members and trusted the Trip Advisor reviews of this resort. It couldn't have been better! All four of our rooms were steps from the sand and very clean with fully equiped kitchens. (The kitchens even had a full spice rack, a pack of coffee, filters, cream and sugar.) Several of us opted for full ocean view rooms and the views were spectacular.

The friendly staff members and the scheduled events, (Fri. AM continental B-fast, Wed. nite mai tais and a pot luck BBQ), made this resort seem like our own vacation home and we met many wonderful people. We stayed over the 4th of July holiday and the resort hired a dance troup that put on a luau show that was superior to the one we had paid for in Lahaina! All of the quests furnished an individual side-dish and the resort provided prime rib, salmon and chicken that was cooked to perfection. After the show and dinner, everyone went down to the beach and watched all the kids put on their individual fireworks shows.

This resort is located on Napili Bay, which has decent snorkeling and a group of giant turtles that seem to come out every afternoon around 4 PM and graze on the algae covered rocks to the left. They're amazing to watch....but don't touch. Great snorkeling is a quarter mile away at Kapalua Bay. Drive out of the resort, turn left and look for the public access/parking lot next to the Sea House Restaurant. The parking fills up around 9:30 AM, but there is overflow parking across the street at a tennis club. Follow the signs.

Here are a few tips:

Best take-out food: Okazuya (about 3 miles south on Lower Honoapiilani Rd) and
Mama's Ribs (next to Napili Market 1/2 mile away) Get the Portugese
Bean Soup or Teriyaki Chicken
Best Gourmet Market: Foodland Farms (in Lahaina across the Hwy from Safeway)
Best Liquor Selection & Prices: Longs Drug Store (in the Lahaina Safeway Center)

Needless to say, we had such a good time that we've already booked our vacation here for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 2LHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews