We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Marriott
$1,173
View deal
No prepayment needed
ZenHotels.com
$1,173
View deal
No prepayment needed
Trip.com
$1,101
View deal
No prepayment needed
eDreams$1,358
Algotels
StayForLong
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,368)
Filter reviews
2,368 results
Traveller rating
1,346
600
207
103
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,346
600
207
103
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lahaina tower marriott vacation club communal kitchen full kitchen time share pirate ship main pool whalers village kaanapali beach pool bar island view black rock bedroom villa lounge chairs self parking laundry room restaurants and shops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,368 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2022 via mobile

There are pros and cons to this club. But there are a few really important things you need to know, and ESPECIALLY if you aren’t an owner but book here thru Marriott, because you won’t be notified on their website or in advance of getting here.

(1) If you are a beach person, this is NOT the resort for you. Namely because, the beach access situation is extremely volatile, coming and going with little notice. As of our stay October 2022 there had been a big storm in July 2022, and the only beach access was down by the northernmost Napilli tower. The other areas of the restorer have no beach access, and the central tower has construction barricades lining the ocean view. There is also a capsized boat on the shore, that has yet to have been removed since the July storm. Furthermore, the Napilli beach, while decently sized at the time of our visit, can be underwater at any given time. Apparently this is a characteristic of Ka’anapali, as the name means “changing sands”, and they have major beach erosion issues not yet dealt with by the state of Hawaii. But the hotel photos definitely show plenty of walking beach, and that is definitely not always the case, in fact at this point, I would just expect that the beach situation is pretty dismal

(2) If you are returning to this property or area, you will likely have spent nights walking the beach walk north to Whalers village. A large chunk of the beach walk was washed away in the July storm, so this is no longer possible without a 10 minute detour around the Alli hotel, our to the street and then back again. The beach walk situation appears to be getting worse before it gets better. Again, a state of Hawaii issue, so the hotels will not notify you of beach situation or beach walk situation, but it is a situation and could make for a disappointing surprise if you booked expecting them.

(3) The central towers (molokai, maui and lanai) HAVE been updated, but I would classify it as more of a “refresh” than a true renovation. The age of that building and those units shows thru. This is NOT true of the Napilli/Lahaina towers reserved for timeshare owners. Those rooms are truly updated. The rooms are hard to distinguish online, because their photography is good for both. But we stood in both and hands down the Napilli and Lahaina towers are MUCH nicer. You can book those towers as a non owner though, and I would suggest that. Little further walk to the main pool, but rooms make up for it.

(4) I would not do a paid stay here. We came on a promotional offer since we are Bonvoy titanium and they wanted to try to sell us a timeshare. Our kids had fun in the pool, the pirate ship was a hit for our 4 year old boy and we did enjoy ourselves. But if I had dropped $6000 to stay in the molokai tower where we stayed I would have not felt this was a great value. And I thought the beach and beach walk situation definitely hurt the kaanapali area vs Wailea.

Personally, if I were booking again and wanted to do Kaanapali, I would stay at a resort north of the Alli so that the beach walk element was there. Easy walks up to dinner and back.

If you are looking for the best pool on the island that your kids will freak out over though, head down to the Grand Wailea in Wailea. Epic experience there for the kids and beautiful luxe area.

As an aside, if you are invited down to peruse a timeshare like we were - take them up on it. My review is based on if I was paying what it costs to stay here as a non owner, but by all means don’t let this review dissuade you from a nearly free vacation. Just know what you’re going to, BUT, I would STRONGLY advise against even considering purchasing into the vacation club points system. We had a near miss here where the sales guys blatantly lied to us and told us that our Titanium status got us a slew of benefits inside the MVC system. We were surprised to hear this and actually nearly signed because of it. That is until we got the contract and asked to see the portion of the contract where Titanium level bonvoy members received Chairman status and got a slew of upgrades including suite upgrades even if they bought at the lowest tier or 1500 points. Of course they couldn’t product it, because it was a lie, but that had told us this so we would sign and then it was going to be. a bait and switch situation where we joined the club, paid nearly $20,000 and then found out that our status meant nothing and we were at the bottom tier with no perks and no upgrades. I still can’t believe how blatant the lies were. SO, if you go sit thru their presentation, I don’t care WHAT you are told, I would 100% treat the MVC crew the same way you would a con artist. Assume lies, and unearth truth inside of the contract. Do not get bamboozled by what you are told verbally. Ensure everything is in writing on your contract before you sign anything. After our experience, I would never sign with this club. I can’t imagine how many people have been misled by any number of lies if they were willing to be so bold faced about the one they told us. It truly was proof that they will say anything to get you to sign, and it will be your problem later to deal with. Buyer beware!

Room tip: Don’t go here if you’re a beach person. And don’t trust anything MVC salesman say if you go to a presentation. Known liars.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2022

Aloha Tiffany, we appreciate you taking time to provide a review for the Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with the beach access due to the swell, but glad your son enjoyed our pirate pool! We are also sorry to hear about your sales experience, and we appreciate it if you could contact our customer advocacy office at 800-860-9384 or email customer.advocacy@mvwc.com to provide additional information. We hope you enjoyed your time on the island of Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2022

The good news it’s a nice property with a great staff. The bad is the Lanai tower is old and worn out. We
arrived via interval international as Marriot Owners.
As we traveled to the room the carpet is torn and replaced with tape and spotted. Entering the room,
we can see it has had many travelers. The dresser while functional has seen better days. The couch is
your typical uncomfortable hotel furniture. And the WIFI at best is spotty to slow. The efficiency
kitchen is poorly designed with limited space and tools. Bathroom is standard with nothing special to
write about.
We got to tour the new towers with a lock off that was 100% better in the use of space and design.I
would definitely ask for the tower.

Room tip: Ask for the villa towers
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CRA768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope you were able to enjoy our pool/slide and take in the many beautiful sights here in Ka'anapali! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed October 26-29. Enjoyed the room, amenities. We really enjoyed the Pool, and the pool bar and restaurant. The only downside was the lack of access to the beach due to previous storms. We might not have stayed if we were informed previous to booking due to this. Otherwise we liked the property and the staff was very friendly and attentive.

Room tip: I would not recommend renting a car. Parking is not easy, traffic can be very congested.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jgallaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2022

Aloha, we're excited you were able to join us on your anniversary, and love that you enjoyed the amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing us with a five-star review. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2022 via mobile

Lanai Tower in disrepair and be aware there is no beach really. Lovely property. Busy area. Just select your tower carefully. The beach is gone because of a swell. We like Hawaii properties where you don’t have to drive a lot. Here you have to drive to different beaches. So it’s not as relaxing. I’ve uploaded some pictures of the hallways in Lanai. First world problems really. But just to be aware.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S1357EIdeniseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2022

Aloha, we appreciate you taking time to provide a review for the Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with the beach access being closed due to the swell. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the Lanai tower. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your time on the island of Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2022 via mobile

Please be alerted that there is no beach. There was a swell and beach access is closed. When I heard about this and called, they told me you could go to the beach, but it is small. This is not the case. You just walk down to the Sheraton, partly via the road. It’s fine, but not what I expected at beach front resort. Also the Lanai Tower is very very dated. The rooms are not bad, but the public areas have taped up carpet areas etc. Just not to Marriott standards. It’s quite sad.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank denisegF6889QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2022

Aloha, we appreciate you taking time to provide a review for the Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with the beach access being closed due to the swell. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the Lanai tower. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your time on the island of Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews