We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Marriott
$1,232
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$1,263
View deal
Trip.com
$1,157
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel$1,232
Etrip$1,173
Agoda.com$1,173
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,349)
Filter reviews
2,349 results
Traveller rating
1,336
598
202
101
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,336
598
202
101
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lahaina tower marriott vacation club communal kitchen full kitchen time share main pool whalers village kaanapali beach pool bar parking garage island view black rock bedroom villa lounge chairs timeshare presentation laundry room road to hana
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 2,349 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2021

We are Marriott time share owners (Hilton Head & Points) and have visited Maui once on a cruise so this was our first time staying on Maui. Prior to this stay we spent a week at Ko Olina in Oahu so some of our review points are in comparison to our experience at Ko Olina.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Being owners we had to reset our expectations on the time share as we were staying in the legacy hotel towers that have been converted to time share units. We had a 2 bedroom garden view. The pros of the converted hotel rooms included 3 full balconies, 3 full bathrooms (typical hotel bathroom, clean and decent space, but not like typical time share you would have 2 bathrooms one being fairly luxurious) and "most" of a kitchen. One room was a lockoff room with mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot. Then the living room had a small kitchen that included a fairly large refrigerator, dishwasher, sink, toaster, coffee pot, microwave and all cooking tools you could use in a community kitchen if you chose. It was enough- we gave up a stove and laundry- quite frankly two things we didn't feel like doing anyway. The pro to this was however when we did have to do laundry we just went to the laundry room- free, right off the pool, enough machines and larger than what you usually have in the rooms.

The resort is HUGE- very spread out from the legacy hotel rooms and then with newer time share buildings on either side. I really enjoyed the beach walk- in particular getting pool chairs along the beach walk to enjoy the beautiful view, great sunsets and people watching. We even sat at the tables outside the local Starbucks one evening to enjoy takeout while watching the sunset. I enjoyed the beachwalk and close proximity to other beaches, shopping at Whalers Village and just looking around.

I was pleasantly surprised with the ability to get pool chairs. Security here made an effort to be fair- even if you came down early to get your chair they only let you hold one extra chair until others in your party arrived. It was fair. On days we chose to explore beaches we never had an issue finding a place to drop our stuff later in the day.

Bell staff was SUPER friendly and helpful on check in and check out.

A few nit picky items that we found frustrating:
-Water stations tough to find- there was one in the lobby - would have been nice to have in the pool area too
-There are no free chairs for the beaches-- that's disappointing- Ko Olina has free chairs and then you rent if you want an umbrella or cabana. Plus Marriott drew the short straw on this row of beaches for their beach in particular- it's small and rocky but it's a very short walk to other beaches you can sit at (we bought chairs at a Walmart to use for the week and gave them away the next week - check Facebook!)
-The Marriott key bracelets that we bought did not work at this hotel. They offered to reprogram them but then they likely would not work at our home resort so we chose not to. I got really used to wearing the bracelet in Ko Olina versus carrying a key card.
-Other Marriotts give you one bracelet to wear for the week- this location makes you go to the pool hut every day to get a new one and new color- it was a little annoying but they really didn't bother you if you didn't get a new bracelet unless you tried to use the slide or something.
-Rentals at the beach (not owned by Marriott) for things like surfboards etc, the worker Jasmine was extremely rude so we didn't spend any money there.

Overall this experience was very different than Ko Olina- things were "hopping" a bit more and we just really enjoyed the week.

Some things we did while there:
-Walked up the path to spend a few hours at Black Rock Beach , nice snorkeling and ability to cliff dive in the ocean
-Walked around Whalers Village
-Dinner in Lahaina and breakfast another day
-Snorkeling at Honalua Bay- beautiful but go early
-Kapaulua Beach -eh. Probably would not do again but kind of nice to look around the beach walk
-Trip down to Waielea area to do the beach walk and see Grand Wailea (beautiful)
-Sunset at Haleakala - be prepared for 2 hour drive there and back if you do this
-Dinner at Mama's Fish House-- very nice dinner but be prepared VERY expensive. Absolutely delicious, great ambiance & service but a one and done given how expensive it was

Stores in general were very reasonably priced for groceries.

Room tip: Lahaina and Molikai towers are a short walk to the main pool area.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 693marisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Aloha Marisal, thank you for your review of your recent stay at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the area beaches. We are happy that our accommodations met your vacation needs and you enjoyed some time by the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

I was shocked from check in and rooms not available ible till last minute, to the early morning construction And disrupted sleep. The air conditioning not working till we called them was on non stop to the last devastating find of cockroaches twice in hall ways. Pools had so much dirt in the it was just not Marriott standards a d very disappointing. The one night time restaurant ran out of food ever night and nowhere to get food. Absolutely disappointment. We are loyal Marriott titanium members that sadly would never choose Hawaii again due to this.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mmcmillan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

Aloha Mmcmillan78, thank you for your review of your recent stay at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We are saddened to learn of all the opportunities experienced during your stay and the inconvenience this has caused. We do ask when something is wrong in the villa or around the resort that it is reported to the Front Desk to be rectified right away. We do appreciate your patronage and thank you for being a loyal Marriott Bonvoy member. We hope to provide a better experience on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021

If you need to get away then this is a great option if you can trade. Worked out great for my family but we are not needed. Great rooms and resort. Go to monkeypod around 4:30 for a 60 minutes wait if you want dinner. Good options. If you can get there earlier they have a great happy hour with 10 pizzas. Kapalua bay is a great snorkel place about 15 minutes drive away. Go and enjoy…..

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank VacationOnMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

Aloha, thank you for your review of your recent stay at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We are pleased to have earned your 5-star review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and all our area has to offer. We hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

The good
- beautifully maintained grounds with lots of activities.
-location on Kaanapali beach walk close to shops and restaurants.

The bad
-EVERYTHING ELSE
-the service is nonexistent. I understand that there is a worker shortage, but since that is the case, the hotel should limit occupancy. Instead they have unapologetically cut all services. There is no housekeeping, no pool service, long lines and longer even longer wait times for the limited food that is available.
-The poor workers that actually did show up are understandably overwhelmed and take every opportunity to share there annoyance with you. The one exception is the sweet lady that works in the towel booth.
-they don’t recognize Marriott elite status at all, and claim it is because the units are timeshares. That makes no sense since we booked on Marriott.com, not through a timeshare host. You are much better off choosing the Westin that is just down the beach.
Bottom line —— i don’t know how long the worker shortage will last, but I would NOT come here until they have figured out a solution, or your relaxing trip to paradise will be anything but.

Room tip: Probably best for families, not couples.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank heatherc503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Aloha Heather, thank you for your review of your recent stay at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We are happy that our location and greats met your vacation needs. We are saddened to learn that you did not enjoy your overall stay due to staffing and longer than usual lines. We apologize if you were not made aware of the limited amenities prior to your arrival, this information is posted on our webstire. We do apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay, but hope you will visit us again in the future and we can provide a better stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at this resort. The hotel was very clean and staff were friendly. We found the main pool busy but the smaller pool that our room overlooked was great. We never had a problem getting chairs and found the grounds beautiful. The beach was great too. Even had some shade! Our room had an ocean view as well as pool and grounds. Great coffee in the room and the kitchenette was handy. Only downside was that there was no cooktop. Barbecue areas were plentiful. The beds were comfy but the pillows were on the flatter side. Great water pressure and nice sized lanai. We appreciated having 2 bathrooms as we were with our teen daughters so that was a huge plus. The hotel itself is in a great location with a 10 minute walk to Whalers village stores and restaurants. We definitely recommend this resort.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Molokai, Maui & Lanai Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Aloha Titannia, thank you for your review of your recent stay at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. We are delighted to learn that you would recommend our location. We are happy our accommodations worked for your family and you enjoyed some time but the pool and beach areas. We hope to welcome you back for another great visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews