We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 520
US$ 420
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 467
US$ 434
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 488
US$ 457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 593
US$ 549
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 238
US$ 225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 468
US$ 433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 351
US$ 331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 617
US$ 594
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$ 296
US$ 285
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,993)
Filter reviews
1,993 results
Traveller rating
1,315
501
112
51
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,315
501
112
51
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor to ceiling windowssusan ramosocean frontfull kitchengrocery storewasher and dryerliving roompremium studioeither directiongranite countertopslanai and molokaipalm treespool and hot tubroad to hanaour honeymoonjava jazzcoral reef
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,993 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

I researched many properties on Expedia.com but I’m so glad I chose Aston Mahana at Ka'anapali. It's a beautiful property right on the beach, with friendly and helpful staff.

We had a premium, one bedroom, one bath condo on the 10th floor, with a convertible sofa bed for our kids. Roll away twin beds are available for rent if needed. A nicely appointed space, our condo was comfortable, felt larger than its 938 square feet. Lovely updated kitchen and bathroom, in room washer and dryer, air conditioned. A table for four plus a recliner populate the lanai, which is accessible from the master bedroom and the main living area.

And the view! There’s a beautiful vista from every condo via the lanai or floor to ceiling windows in the main living space. When you book, make a request for an upper floor (there are 12 in the building), so you don’t have to look through the palm trees at the water.

The free parking is plentiful. The pool is well maintained and not overly crowded. There are several grills and tables nearby if you want to cook and dine near the pool or on the condo grounds.

It’s a very mellow, relaxing atmosphere at Aston Mahana. We preferred this environment to the busier hotels south of us. Aston Mahana may be quiet but it’s not remote - Lahaina is a short drive to the south. Heading north, Napili Beach, Kapalua, Honalua Bay and more are easily accessible via car.

Stroll south down the beach or boardwalk all the way to the hotels of Ka'anapali Beach. Head over to neighboring Duke's Beach House and order a smoothie to enjoy while you're exploring.

Across the street is a strip mall where you can rent or drop off gear at Snorkel Bob's, dine at Pizza Paradiso, or pick up groceries at Time's Supermarket. There are additional small shops, restaurants and shave ice places there too.

Thank you for your hospitality Aston Mahana - I hope to stay with you again someday!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor - it's quiet and the palm trees don't interfere with the ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Aloha and thank you very much for both choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and for recommending us to the readers here at Trip Advisor.

Our entire friendly and helpful staff looks forward to welcoming you back soon with that same Aloha Spirit and those spectacular oceanfront views again soon.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Nice resort. There were no amenities there. Store was 10 minutes away. We has the studio. It had a king bed, two chairs, and a small dining table. The 2 chairs were well worn and needed to be replaced. The room was on the5th floor and had good views of the palm trees and ocean. I would advise getting a 1 bdrm.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank domsgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Aloha and mahalo for your comments, while it is true we do not have a restaurant on-site every unit here not only features spectacular oceanfront views but also the home away from home convenience of fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer. As well, our pool/jacuzzi deck located just steps from the ocean has complimentary gas grills, shuffle board court and we also have a tennis court with the option to play pickle ball too.
Our location is quiet and just steps from the beach but also we are a short walk or drive to many dining or shopping destinations.

Mahalo for choosing the Mahana for your time on the beautiful island of Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This was my first trip to Hawaii. The room we stayed in had unbelievable views. The balcony was accessible from the master as well as the living area. With floor to ceiling views of the ocean. I couldn't keep my eyes off the view. We were there over the Christmas holiday. The weather was perfect and the view was amazing. We spent one day on the beach right in front of the hotel. Getting in the water was a bit treacherous because of the rocks, but it is doable. We were able to see wales from our room as well as the beach. The room was well equipped with everything you need for a nice stay. Cooking items, washer, dryer, beach items... You are within walking distance to a grocery store, restaurants and nightlife. The only thing wrong with the unit itself was a piece of carpet was coming up and there was a bit of tack strip showing. We covered it with a towel and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lovethewildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Mahalo for choosing the Mahana for your time on the beautiful island of Maui where all of our units have the same spectacular oceanfront views due to our second to none location just steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

There are over 1900 reviews of this property on TripAdvisor at this point with an average review score of 4.5 stars. I have to say this rating is dead on. If I could rate it 4.5, I would. I read a ton of reviews here before booking and I found that what other people are reporting is also very accurate.

We stayed at the Mahana March 25 – April 2 in Unit 208, which is a 1BR 1 bath premium unit based on the booking. Like many others have written, the property and accommodations were very good and the views from each unit are absolutely unbeatable – saw lots of whales, dolphins and turtles! Our room had a king bed with a pullout sofa. The lanai was spacious and there are floor-to-ceiling windows in every room. The kitchen was well-equipped and clean, but lacking a little bit of cabinet space for pantry items. Several cabinets, drawers and closets throughout the unit are locked (presumably by the unit owner), so storage was a little tight, but not bad. The furniture was slightly dated, but fine. There were a couple minor things that could have used some maintenance, but nothing major. Whatever minor issue you might encounter, the views will more than make up for it! There is some railing replacement construction going on currently on the east side of the building (opposite the ocean side) which is a little noisy, but they start late in the morning and they were working on floors well above us, so it wasn’t an issue.

As others have written, the friendliness of the staff is a bit underwhelming – not rude or anything, just procedural and not particularly warm. This is not a problem for a “condo vacation,” but it could be if you’re expecting a “resort vacation.” Set expectations accordingly.

The takeaway to focus on regarding the Mahana is that it is perhaps the best value in Maui. Most (if not all) hotels, resorts, etc in Maui charge a hefty premium for oceanfront rooms. If you want oceanfront but don’t like PAYING for oceanfront, you MUST book your stay here. The accommodations are undoubtedly the best value I’ve experienced out of four trips to Maui. The only small catch is the beach. It’s too rocky and the reef too close to shore for it to be a good swimming spot, although the snorkeling is fantastic. A short walk south will get you to a wider, sandier area with better swimming, so it should not be a deal-breaker if beach access is a must. Since all beaches in Maui are public, there are plenty close ones to visit without having to stay on one.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We will definitely work with our staff to make sure they are conveying the Aloha Spirit to all of our guests, that along with exceeding all of our guest's expectations is what we work at every day. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the spectacular oceanfront views and home away from home convenience of the fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer all of which is available from every unit here.
We do hope you'll be returning to see us again soon.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This was our first time in Maui and thanks to the Mahana we had a great time. We stayed in unit 213 and the room was great. Beautiful sunsets and easy access to everything. It was our anniversary and we where surprised with a bottle of wine and chocolates. We loved the guest book placed by the owner to add your comments. Thanks to Susan for setting us up for things to do during our stay. BBQ's are clean and easy to find and use.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodsandrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Aloha and congratulations on your anniversary and we're thrilled that all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali could be a part of your special occasion. It is rewarding to know that you returned home with fond memories of our spectacular oceanfront views of beautiful sunsets and all the other relaxing things to do here at the Mahana. All of us very much look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews