We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,029)
Filter reviews
2,030 results
Traveller rating
1,340
508
116
52
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,340
508
116
52
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floor to ceiling windows ocean front susan ramos full kitchen grocery store washer and dryer living room premium studio either direction granite countertops lanai and molokai palm trees pool and hot tub our honeymoon road to hana java jazz coral reef
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 2,030 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in June to kick off our 3 week Hawaii holiday. We booked this due to the pricing and upon check in we were checked into a ground floor ocean view room next to the elevators which beeped every 2 minutes and had us worried so my partner convinced me to change rooms for $20 a night more and we moved 5 stories up and away from the elevator and we had the best ocean view room that we could possibly ever have. Spoilt is an h der statement. Wow wow wow!! We spent every evening on the balcony watching the sun set directly in front of our window while sipping cold beer, wine and cocktails and eating cheese feeling truly blessed. The kitchen is a good size, all appliances work and are quite new and the view is to die for. Worth every penny, we did not want to leave and the staff were incredibly helpful and lovely.

The resort pool is fairly small but the sister hotel 4 hotels up has a large pool and the beaches are gorgeous so we only ever went into the pool once.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Aloha and mahalo for your comments on the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we're thrilled we were able to provide you the best oceanview you will ever have as every unit here has the same spectacular oceanfront views. We very much look forward to welcoming you back with the Aloha Spirit again soon.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

If you're looking for the perfect place to stay in Maui, book unit 316 at the Mahana. It's rented out directly by the owner of the unit, so you don't have to go through the complex to secure the rental. Mahana 316 is awesome, and has everything you need - fully-loaded kitchen, beach chairs, towels and much, much more. The view is perfect as well. You're high enough to have privacy, but low enough to really take in and hear the ocean. The tops of the palm trees are above you, so they don't impact your awesome views of Lanai, Molokai and the amazing sunsets. It's a clean, well-kept property with a pool that is right on the ocean as well. It's a very quiet area, but within easy walking distance to a number of eating spots and Times grocery store. So, if you're looking at the Mahana, we very highly recommend that you try and get unit 316.

Room Tip: Try to get unit 316 at the Mahana - it's awesome!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelerz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Aloha and mahalo for your positive comments on Mahana unit 316, our clean and well-kept property and the spectacular oceanfront views.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We stayed in a suite on the second floor and were very happy. The views are amazing as every room has an ocean view and it was nice to be able to sit on the lanai and hear the waves coming in. The room was very nicely decorated and the kitchen was fully stocked with any utensil or plate you would need. The grounds are very clean and the location is very good on Kaanapali beach and having a strip mall with a grocery and several eateries across the street was very convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful The only negative is that the pool is small and would get crowded and there is no eatery on property.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and our entire friendly and helpful staff thanks you for your comments.
We're thrilled that our second to none location just steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach and spectacular oceanfront views available from every unit here exceed all of your expectations and that our home away from home convenience with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer made for a relaxing vacation.

All of us look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit again soon.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

My daughter and I stayed at the Mahana resort on the 12th floor. The ocean view was spectacular. The location is really nice. Convenient to grocery , restaurants, shops, about 7 minutes to Front street in Lahaina. With all that said...the view is great but you cannot swim in the ocean at this location because of the rocks and coral. It's about a five minute walk to get to an area where you can swim. The pool is usually crowded because there is only one pool. It is not secluded at all. It is right in the middle of resort...you can sit in the lobby and view the pool. It is definitely kid friendly.....lots of children at the pool most of our stay, which was 28 days. There were 3 or 4 people that worked the concierge desk....not one time did any of them look up at us with a smile or hello. We walked by them everyday several times a day. Staff was not so friendly either. The weren't unfriendly....just indifferent. We are from Tennessee, we are used to over the top friendly! Lol.....we booked this thru KBM , the reviews were pretty good , everyone talked about them meeting them upon arrival to show them around....we received a text with instructions on what to do upon arrival and we never heard from them again. Which was fine, but didn't receive the "great" welcome that some of the reviews showed. All and all it was a descent place, we have been to Maui several times, we would not choose this resort again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoriA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Aloha and mahalo for your comments, I am not familiar with the check-in procedures for the private unit you stayed in however the front desk staff as well as uniformed daily housekeeping and on-site interior maintenance staff are part of the Aston Mahana rental program. Our guests check-in at our 24 hour front desk as well as the full service of daily housekeeping, that would explain you not receiving the "great welcome" you mentioned as we're not able to help you check-in.
As for our beach, the Mahana is blessed with our location just steps from the beach which provides for the spectacular oceanfront views from every unit here and also the beautiful reef fronting the property where an abundance of marine life including sea turtles spend their time. The sign in front points our guest generally around 500 yards in either direction should they want to swim more easily in the ocean when not enjoying our pool/Jacuzzi deck which is also oceanfront.

Mahalo again for your comments.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We stayed in room 1106 for 10 nights and had an updated, 1 bedroom condo. I am very picky when it comes to hotel rooms and have high taste. The room itself did not disappoint. Tiled floors throughout, granite countertops, new dovetail cabinets, stainless steel appliances, comfortable king size bed, tiled walk in shower..etc. It was living in luxury. AND THE VIEWS! AMAZING. We could've sat on our balcony or in our living room just looking at the water all day. You will not have better views of the ocean at any other hotel on Maui as you are literally right on the ocean. My husband and I kept saying how we felt like we were on a cruise because of how close we were to the water. We fell asleep every night listening to the waves crash. I researched Maui for 3 months before booking a hotel and I'm glad we chose this one. The only thing that would make it better would be a restaurant on site. However, Duke's is excellent and only a 3 minute walk down the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor. 1106 was amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Mahana, we're excited to hear you enjoyed the amazing oceanfront views available from ever unit here and that unit 1106 exceeded all of your expectations.

Mahalo, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews