We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to stay, amazing views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills MI
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay, amazing views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I spent the first two weeks of Feb 2012 at the Mahana and it is a wonderful place to stay. This was our first trip to Maui and the staying at the Mahana made the trip very special. We stayed in a premium 1 bedroom unit on the 9th floor and the views were simply spectacular. Feburary is prime humpback whale season, and it is not a question of if you will see humpacks from your unit, its how many will you see in an hour. Sometimes we would be watching a half dozen whales in every direction.
The building sits so close to the water, perhaps 25 yards, and unlike more modern buildings every unit has a front row seat with the same view. Its only a question of what floor you will see the whale show from at this time of year. The condo we stayed in, unit 914, was very comfortable, with a good bed, tastefully furnished and the kitchen was well stocked and had good appliances. Resturants are very expensive in Maui, so it was great to have a kitchen where we could eat in, and there is no resturant on Maui with that view.
This place is also so private, very unusual for a beach resort area. We booked through Aston, so we had daily maid service. The staff is very helpful and kind. Thanks to all of them for being so nice. They offer a one hour presentation in the morning for your first day giving you an overview of the island, and things to see and do, since we had never been to Maui before it was very helpful.
There is a grocery store near the driveway entrance to the building, but better yet, about two blocks down the road is a place called the Fish Market. It is primarily a fresh fish store, but also has carry out items as well. Their fish was the best. They claim the fish is caught either the night before or that morning, and the fish is so fresh that it is very hard being back in Mich and contending with what they claim is fresh fish here. The also have seafood gumbo and chowder that are outstanding. We went on line and found a Mama's Fish House reciepe for the mahi mahi- my my was it good!
There is a reef directly in front of the Mahana so there is no swiming directly in front. However, there is swimming and snorkeling right off the ends of the building. With a reef right in front, we saw giant sea turtles when we looked down from our balcony! Also because there isn't any beach activity right in front the units are very quiet during the day.
The pool and hot tub area is very nice, and it looks like its been updated, but it is a smaller pool, by today's standards, probably 1970s 1980s vintage. The Mahana also has gate access to the Kannapali boardwalk. Be sure to get the code from the front desk. You can walk all the way to the Hyatt on far end of the Whalers Village area on the boardwalk. We heard its about 4.5 miles from end to end. Its a great way to see the area, and lots of resturants and shops along the way if your interested.
We did all the first time on Maui must do's, the road to Hana, ate at Mama's Fish House, saw the crater, drove around most of the island seeing the beaches. The road to Hana is a must do, as is Mama's, but bring lots of money for Mama's. The driving on the road to Hana was not as bad as they say, but its about a 10 hour trip round trip with very few stops. On our next trip we will stay in Hana for a night or two. We went back a second time to see the Gardens on the Road to Hana and to eat a Mama's. The Gardens are wonderful, lunch at Mama's was to die for, and well worth a seperate trip. My husband and I agree the crater was our least favorite. Very cold even mid day on a sunny day and very windy.
The best were the boat trips for sunset, whale watching, eating, and snorkeling or any combination thereof. We highly recommend the Alli Nui and the Hula Girl for all of the boat trips, both are pricey but well worth it. I have never snorkled before and I am not much of a swimmer, and the folks from Alli Nui, got me in the water and snorkeling like a pro. And I am 58. What fun.
I would recommend getting a premium room and request a higher floor and try to go in Feb or March as those are prime months for the humpbacks. Thanks to the folks at the Mahana, for such a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Request a premium condo, 8th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmbjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    470
    94
    50
    11
See reviews for
425
1,017
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

To be fair, my husband and I stayed here after coming from a 5 star resort in Kauai so this definitely couldn't compete. However, it wasn't terrible. The property itself was alright. Nothing fancy or over the top. Parking was easy. Front desk staff was okay. Not particularly helpful but not mean either. The pool was just awful. It was literally the type of pool you'd see in someone's backyard. It left a lot to be desired. The beach was okay as well, nothing too spectacular. No beach chairs allowed on the sand so that was a bit of a let down as I don't care for sitting on a towel in the sand (especially not the awful thin towels provided by the resort). They have a bunch of grills by the pool that were being used every night. Since it was just me and hubby, we didn't use one but other larger groups and families were and seemed like they were having a good time! The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or bar. There is a small snack bar by the pool. The hotel next door has a lovely outdoor restaurant and bar.
As for the actual condo, it was okay but could definitely use a facelift. Our particular unit (I think it was 301) had one wall made of mirrors and furniture that was 70s style. The bedspread also looked like something from the 70s. Now like I mentioned, we had just come from a resort with the most modern look, luscious bedding, beautiful pool, nicest towels, etc. But regardless, the place was just average. The kitchen was nice and was fully equipped with nice appliances. The bathroom was tiny and towels were really cheap and thin there too. The kitchen came in handy as we made breakfast every morning and there is a nice, large grocery store right across the street. We also bought some very delicious fresh made deli sandwiches at the grocery store and had a picnic during our drive on the Road to Hana.
As everyone says, the selling point for this place is the full ocean view. It is really so lovely to sit on the balcony or even look out from the unit. So serene and peaceful...and fully blocked from all the other units so it feels like you are alone. Very very nice. Another plus point for me was the washer/dryer in the unit. I came back to NYC with no laundry!!! That was very exciting.
The location of this hotel is pretty convenient. Maui is so large that no matter where you stay, you'll be quite a drive from mostly everywhere you want to go. Lahaina is good for restaurants and shopping, however, it is far from the Road to Hana and Haleakala, but doable...especially in 80 degree sunny weather with the top down on the rental Mustang :)
If I go back to Maui would I stay at this property? Probably not but the price is worth the small amount of time you end up spending there anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Puja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here for a portion of my honeymoon. As many have mentioned, the view is outstanding - full ocean front. This is the major selling point for the property. The sound of the ocean was so relaxing and I enjoyed morning tea (and evening wine) on the balcony every day. The condo itself was very comfortable. If you like the idea of a more low-key vacation, this is a great spot. You're not going to get all of the amenities of a resort i.e. room service, restaurant on site, etc, but the condo was cleaned daily and additional soap, laundry detergent, towels etc were readily available. There's a shopping center right across the street that has a supermarket as well as a few restaurants, nail salon and shops. We didn't do any cooking but it was very convenient to stop at the store for snacks and drinks, and it was nice to pick up lunch and eat it back at the condo rather than dining out every single meal. The pool was nice - not too crowded - but the way the building is set up means that for a good portion of the day, the pool area is in the building's shadow. Directly outside the hotel is a coral reef, so if you want to swim you need to walk down one building in either direction - not exactly a hardship. The concierge (Lynn from Expedia) was extremely helpful in booking our dinner reservations and excursions. It was a little bit of a drive to get into downtown Lahaina - we drove there a few nights and took a taxi a few times as well. Also took advantage of Duke's restaurant/bar in the resort next door - very convenient when we didn't feel like getting in the car. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennaklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

You have a great privacy in your room even when you're on your balcony. You can be naked and none can see you. Only ocasional coast guard helicopeter flies by, pretty cool sight...for me that is. You are right on the water, hearing the waves breaking on shore and palms in front of your room making its soothing sound. Very convenient to the grocery store, it is a walking distance so you can cook your meals in your unit. Nice walk along the beach and nice swimming areas (not right in front of the hotel - too rocky). Whenever I stay there (5-6 times) I never hear or see anybody, makes me feel like I am all alone (which is a good thing).

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor if you want privacy, people walk by along the beach and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Very smart well appointed 1 bed condo all the normal equipment, separate kitchen and inc washer/drier. Ours was on floor 11 (out of 12) so great view over the ocean for miles... Spotted whales and a turtle from the lani. BBQ’s on the ground floor were gleaming always looked they had just been installed!

The condo building is an unattractive concrete block, but hey you’re on the inside so what’s it matter! The big advantage with this block is that it is square on to the ocean, not built at an angle as most of them seem to be in this area, so you are looking straight out to sea - views and sunsets are great.

On the beach you have to walk 100 yards or so left or right to reach a swimming spot (left is better) as there are rocks directly outside the resort. There’s also a reasonably sized pool but so close to the sea we never used it.

Nearest supermarket is Times just across the road – you can walk but the road is busy.

Great restaurant next door Dukes – busy (reserve a table for the same evening it saves the waiting) and a little expensive but mostly worth it. Some tables outside otherwise undercover – if when you book you ask for a table outside or on the edge of the covered area (quieter) the staff do try to get you one there.

Like: smart condo, views, Dukes. Dislike: sea rocks, ugly block.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
2.6 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
3.0 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,248 - ₹ 29,724
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing