We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but falls short in some respects” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but falls short in some respects”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed 6 nights in April 2012. The location is right on the beach, although the beach itself is small and unappealing by Maui standards. The room appeared spacious enough at first glance, but there was no bed. Then I found the foldway bed - which was as uncomfortable as a sleeper sofa. The air-conditioning kept going off even though the room was still uncomfortably hot and above the set temperature.
The good: the lanai was comfortably furnished, and with a nice view; and the room had a very adequate kitchen. The staff is helpful and always smiling - ok, they live in Paradise so it isn't that surprising.
The great: the property is on Front street at the edge of downtown Lahaina. Everything in Lahaina is a comfortable walking distance. After the first 3 days my wife even questioned why we had rented a car.

Room Tip: Higher floor, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    396
    95
    33
    20
See reviews for
151
647
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This place is horrible.Old, dated, dirty, murphy bed that was like sleeping on a bad sleeper sofa, no services, broken furniture and looks nothing like any pictures shown here. I would have been better to bring a sleeping bag and sleep on the beach! When you pull up one of the rooms had an old fridge on the lanai, bags of trash in one corner of the lobby and a service cart and trash all over the tables in the elevator area. If it hadn't been there for most of the day I might understand but obliviously they don't have a housekeeping staff. The grout in the tile floor once in the room aand bathroom had so mush buillt up GUNK I was afraid to walk on it barefooted. As I read the reviews from other travelers about this place I have to wonder if their idea of nice is a hostile with hourly rates. DON"T STAY HERE unless you like flith and no services. Oh yeah... bring a sleeping bag but don't sleep on the floor.

Room Tip: Request to see the room BEFORE you book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stocway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

As a first time visitor to Lahaina and Maui, we were not sure where to stay. I can say we were not dissapointed with the Lahaina shores beach resort at all. The location is good the staff were friendly and helpful. Keeping in mind that this is not a major chain resort, but a small well kept hotel mere steps from the beach and a short walk to shopping bars and restaurant.

Room Tip: We were booked into room 335 great view, one floor higher might be a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had read the reviews online and even called directly to the hotel to reserve one of the updated condos. All I can say is that the condo's website did a terrific job of making this place look like a great place to stay for a good value. We reserved our typical king size bed...it even shows up on our confirmation. We opened our door to find an outdated and dirty kitchen. Then, I spotted our bed...a Murphy bed! I immediately called downstairs, and was told that they would check to see if we could be moved. After 10-15 minutes of fuming and not receiving a call back, we took our bags and went to demand our money back. The man working the desk had a dear in the head lights look and began fumbling 2 or 3 different stories of why he hadn't called us back. I persisted and got a refund in writing. We are now staying at the Westin and are super satisfied! Learn from our mistake. Don't book with Lahania Shore Beach Resort!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trussville, AL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Cons: The room was very dated. Floors were warped & chipped; paint was peeling on doors; carpet was stained. Requested a room on a high floor away from the pool, and received a room on a low floor next to the pool; nobody on the staff was concerned about this. Pros: Location was ideal. I didn’t see any other condos that were so close to the water. Easy walking distance to town & the marina, but away from the busiest areas. Easy driving to just about anywhere on the island. The lobby, grounds & pool were nicely maintained. Parking was secure. Views from the balcony were beautiful, especially at sunrise & sunset. The bed was comfortable, and everything appeared to be in working order. I would stay again, but would probably upgrade (in advance) to one of the nicer rooms on the ocean side.

Room Tip: Get ocean side & upgrade to a premium room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
9.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
6.6 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
14.9 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
28.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
7.4 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,046 - ₹ 28,910
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing