We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Beach Hotel/Condo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach Hotel/Condo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Alii is situated right on the beach in Kaanapali, between the Westin and the Marriott Beach Club. The grounds are beautiful and kept up so well. There are two pools, one quiet pool and the other for families. The beach offers free chairs to sit on or covered lounge chairs for a daily fee. The units are very spacious. Very updated with granite counters new appliances. This is a great resort to stay in Maui.

Room Tip: The garden view facing the pools can't be beat. Also the ocean view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diane32724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    121
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
447
139
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Western US
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is almost a perfect hotel, the best we've ever stayed at on Maui. The grounds are immaculate, and the facilities are up-to-date. It’s location on Kaanapali beach is ideal.

I was impressed with the hotel staff, always willing to help, and always smiling and friendly.

I also enjoyed the resort's towel policy: Trust. No wrist bands, no towel card. You want a pool towel? Just go pick one up. I'm sure there are some towels that don't get returned, but I imagine the towel return rate is close to 100 percent. It's nice being treated like a responsible adult.

Our room (123) was great for our group (three couples). It had enough room that we could invite others over for dinners and gatherings. The suite has recently been refurbished with modern appliances and lighting. This was not an "ocean view" suite, so we also had the construction noise from next door as mentioned in a previous post. However, I can't hold the Alii responsible for that. The noise was a bit bothersome if you stayed in your hotel room all day, but who does that? And we actually enjoyed the Westin’s Luau music.

My only complaint is the tiresome invasion of pool-chair trolls. These are the troglodytes that run out early in the morning, place a book and towel on chair/lounger, and expect everyone to respect their territory the entire day. The Alii needs to get aggressive against these lower life forms to prevent chair saving.

Just up the beach, another hotel (can’t remember which one) has signs posted around the pool area which remind guests that pool chairs are for “active use” only. This means if a chair is left for more than 25 minutes, the staff removes any personal items that the Chair Hogs have put there.

It’s not that it was impossible to find places to lay out in the shade or sun; it’s just that the nicer spots under umbrellas were always “saved” by these squatters.

Fix this one problem, and the Alii is easily a 5 Star property.

Room Tip: We joined some couples who had a connection to the particular room we stayed in. If it were just my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DKLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The Kaanapali Alii was perfect for us. We stayed in Building 3, with a partial ocean view, so from our lanai, we could see the ocean/beach/surfers, the grounds next door and the mountains. The condo unit was very nice and very quiet. Several pools. We used the barbecue area several times to BBQ fresh Ahi. Gorgeous sunsets! An easy walk to the Hula Grill and Lailani's and Black Rock to snorkel, although we snorkeled right outside on our own beach and had a friendly turtle join us. Loved this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank santacruz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed at the Kaanapali Alii for the second time this past week. It was another absolutely fantastic stay! This time I stayed with my parents, who had not been here before. They found the accomodations to be top notch,as did I. The furnishings, appliances, etc. are all of very high quality and the views from our ocean-front unit were fantastic. We saw whales each and every day. I'm glad to see that Kaanapali Alii is continuing to keep their facilty up in such great shape - I think the unit we stayed in was better than the last.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BostonBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have happily returned to the Kaanapali Ali'i yearly since our first experience in 2008, always renting the same 3 bedroom unit facing the courtyard from building 2, unit 223. Without any doubt we have loved each stay and had no complaints. This year due to the unavailability of our usual favorite we rented a 3 bedroom in building 1 facing the Westin, unit 143. We had views of the Westin and it's waterfall pool which were ok, but still had nice ocean views including Black Rock, from the lanai and bedroom. We really had no complaints, we missed having the courtyard view and sunsets but felt that the cooler afternoons on the shaded lanai were a nice tradeoff. The condo is laid out very similarly to 223 (our "usual") except that the 3rd bedroom/den has a nice wrap around couch and flat screen tv, around 42-48 inch size. Nice touch! It is stocked as well as expected, the safe in the master bedroom worked, and beds were comfortable. We were happy to have the same large lanai as we love to eat all 3 meals out there and spend quite a bit of time socializing around meals. Unfortunately early in the morning on the 3rd day into our stay construction work started up at the Westin just outside of our unit and all day long we had jackhammers and loud construction noise driving us off the lanai. Even with all doors and windows closed the noise was unbearable. My brother in law was along with us on a working vacation and was quite unhappy with losing the quiet working environment he expected. Once the workers quit for the evening and we were looking forward to a nice relaxing dinner on the lanai the Luau from the westin started up, just under the lanai again! While we love the Hawaiian music, drums, and luaus in general, the speakers were so loud and must have been pointed directly at our condo as we couldn't even hold conversation over the music. It was like being at a really loud concert or wedding, and we gave up eating dinner outside. On top of this all, my husband and his sister were both coming off of a very difficult year health-wise and looking forward to a peaceful, healing time in Hawaii. After putting up with this unrelenting noise daily we finally called Maui Beachfront Rentals and complained that we were not happy with the status quo. Having paid the amount of money for an expected quite and restful Hawaiian vacation we were having anything but. I must give Maui Beachfront a shout out as they responded quickly and did what they could to assuage our negative reaction, offering a move to a different condo or a refund of one night and a free night on our next year's rental. I felt that Maui Beachfront Rental didn't have prior knowledge of the construction noise and didn't rent unfairly. The luaus would have been bearable if we hadn't been unable to use the lanai all day also. So as it stands, the condo itself is in good repair, located on the shady and cooler side of the building, clean and comfortable. I was told that the construction will be ongoing through April so if you are planning to rent, beware or check up on this. I can't really complain about the Luau music as it was just an annoyance caused mainly by following up on the heels of the loud jackhammers, etc. We hope to be able to return to our favorite on the courtyard side next year. My husband and I spent 2 weeks at the Whaler in the fall of 2010 and while it was nice, there is no comparison.

Room Tip: Check to see if the Westin has any ongoing construction if you are in the north side of Building 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MIfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
9.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.1 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.8 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Property: Kaanapali Alii
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,865 - ₹ 43,093
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing