We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveller rating
437
420
180
96
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
420
180
96
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maui dreams come true putting green grocery store sea wall ocean front living room shuffle board sandy beach farmers market beautiful grounds tennis courts pools and hot tubs c unit washer and dryer full kitchen koi pond first morning
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

The pictures are deceiving. The rooms are dark, the lani’s have cheap furniture not like the pictures and the condo’s are old and need updating. The grounds are maintained and the view from our unit is beautiful. However, our unit could have been cleaner, the unit itself had a nasty smell you get from old wood furniture.
Beware that check-in is not until 4:00pm and you will pay an additional $17 a day for resort fees and a cleaning fee of $89 to clean the unit for the next person. Also, you do not get daily maid service unless you want to pay a daily fees. I like to be pampered when I go on vacation.
Another surprise we found is that you are given a “starter” set of bath and kitchen amenities. Once you have used them you need to purchase additional bath and kitchen amenities as you need them.
If I had know about all the additional expenses and the overall condition, I would have chosen a different vacation “resort”. Very disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank neff12537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Aloha Neff12537,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Papakea Resort. Most importantly, I would like to apologize to you for the inconvenience you experienced. We pride ourselves on providing vacations that are both relaxing and hassle-free and it is a disappointment to us when we fail to meet that goal. You are correct, all rooms are started with an amenity kit. However, should you need replenishments on bath amenities, coffee, and/or paper items; we replenish them upon request. Should we have been made aware of your dissatisfaction with your accommodations. We are committed to customer satisfaction and would have done everything possible to find alternative accommodations here. All units are individually owned therefore each unit décor differs from one another. I'm sure we would have found something that fit your needs. Despite the inconveniences, I hope you returned home with many wonderful memories of your vacation on Maui. Again, we do apologize and hope someday we regain your trust in our product and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

H303 was a vast improvement over our original room, J407.....NEVER stay in that one! H303 could use some updates, still, but it was pleasant except that we did need additional fans to help with the heat. Most of the units have insufficient AC (to reach the bedrooms) when the weather is in the 80's. That was really our major complaint. I would stay there again, though, because I do prefer the "old Hawaii" feel as opposed to the high rise Hotels.

Room tip: Don't get the 4th floor...they are loft type rooms and AC is not good unless they have additional units which I understand some do.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 438maliab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Aloha 438maliab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay, but we are also glad to know that we were able to resolve your issue while you were here on property and were able to accommodate you in a more comfortable room for your family. If your travels bring you back to Maui in the future, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

This was a timeshare exchange for us. It was our 2nd time at this property. The rooms are clean and well appointed. That said, when you arrive you have enough toilet paper, soap, etc for about 4 days, so be prepared to take a very short walk to purchase more at the ABC store that's only a few yards away, or the Times market across the street.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LJS2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Aloha LJS2308,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review and also for your loyalty to the Papakea Resort. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us once again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We stayed here (via an Airbnb booking) with a group of friends for a wedding. We stayed in one of the larger units with 2 bed+ loft so were able to fit 9 people (although tight). The property was great - well kept, quiet, safe, and convenient. The concierge was very friendly and helped us book our excursions. We were able to enjoy the pool as well. I do with it were a bit closer to the action in Lahaina, but there is plenty to walk to. We had breakfast locally at the farmers market (acai bowls were awesome) and ate lunch at the local fish market. My favorite part were the amazing sunsets from the balconies. Every room looks out to ocean view and we LOVED the sunsets from here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lslevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Aloha lslevy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our local Farmers Market is a great corner gem near by and a definite "must do" on this side of the island, I'm glad you enjoyed it as much as your stay here with us at the Papakea Resort. Should your future travels bring you back to Maui in the future, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

I have stayed here before, many times as a teen and now as an adult and its always been a fun time,weather your with family or friends. Our condo was G-302 found it on VBRO and it was really all we needed. We had a great view of one of the two pools and a Koi pond, could see the ocean from our room. Even though there is not beach anymore to lay on, you can easily walk over to the next condo and use that beach if you looking for one, there are others close by, only a short car ride away. Enjoy this place because it is very quite and relaxing, and they take good care of the landscaping. Our room was nicely decorated in a Hawaiian theme, it only had Air conditioning in the main living area, but there were two room fans, and three ceiling fans that helped keep our room cool. we loved sleeping with the windows open and hearing the ocean. Would stay here again, great for families. Lots to do within a short drive, near a supermarket, walking distance to a Super ABC market.

Room tip: I liked staying in building G
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I6724XRjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Aloha l6724XRjohnc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Papakea Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews