We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coming back for sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I'm sitting on my lanai, listening to the birds and watching the ocean. Out of curiousity I started reading reviews and for the life of me I can't figure out the reason for that last bunch of negative reviews! We booked our trip through Priceline and I based my decision largely on the mostly positive reviews I had read in April. Glad that bunch hadn't put their two cents in and biased my choice. This place is lovely. There is some remodeling going on but I've never heard any of it. We are staying in the D (306)building. The room description was for partial ocean view but we are on the 3rd floor, facing the ocean and overlooking the gardens and pool. Beautiful! My husband and I both agree that every room, especially on the 2nd through 4th(top) floor would have a good view. I'm glad I read the reviews to find out the other pool is heated, I've swam in ours a couple of times and it's cool. I guess the bottom line is: if you're looking for a 4 star resort spend the $$$ and stay at the Ritz-Carlton! We've stayed several times in Maui at resorts w/ this same rating and this is so far the best value, loveliest gardens and best setting so far.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blondiefornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    374
    163
    84
    51
See reviews for
409
391
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Aston Papakea..In a word.. perfect....beautiful grounds, clean, friendly, great location, quite...and good price !..Never had any trouble getting a bbq at nite ( there are 12 ) would go back in a heartbeat. Great for familes or romantic getaways...

Room Tip: D block was great for view of the gardens as well as the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deborahb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a beautifully decorated, 3rd-floor, ocean-front unit over the Memorial Day weekend. (I think it was E301.) It was a corner unit that had windows facing the pool area, a sliding-glass door facing the ocean and a wrap-around lanai. We booked directly with Aston, although the condo is privately owned. The daily maid service included replacement coffee/tea, fresh towels, bed made, etc.

The property is a short 5-10 minute walk to the Kaanapali Beach, and the paved beach path extends from there all the way to the southern end of Kaanapali... approximately 4 miles one-way.

As everyone has commented, the grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained. We did find the swimming pool to be a little cold. Most of the buildings surround the swimming pool areas, with the majority of the lanais facing the pools...so you may feel that your are in a fish bowl when taking a swim.

We would definitely recommend this place and would consider it again on a return trip to Maui.

Room Tip: I agree with one other reviewer, who recommends that you book directly with Aston. A card in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CincyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I visited Papakea in June 2012 and stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath ocean view condo in the K building on the 3rd floor.

The resort is located about 2 miles north of Kaalipani and about 5 miles north of Lahaina in Honokōwai

The resort has two sides, with each having a pool, hot tub, putting green and shuffle board. Unlike some of the condo resorts we walked by in kaanapali, where loungers were lined up in rows 2 deep, here the pool areas were never crowded and felt spacious. Each pool has 6 BBQs. The grounds are well maintained with koi ponds and a nice garden.

I don't understand why resort fees are never included in the price but here there is a $10 resort fee per night and this is for wifi, parking, the local newspaper, room safe and 2 DVDs or games per day which can be rented from a Redbox style vending machine.

There is an Expedia concierge on site to help with excursions, tours, reservations etc but we didn't use them.

The property is right on the ocean but not on a beach. There is a seawall here but a nice beach is about 3 minutes walk away in front of the Aston Kaanapali Shores resort next door. A sea turtle came up to the sea wall most afternoons.

The resort is well located for those on a self catering vacation. There is a large supermarket 5 minutes walk away and a smaller gourmet supermarket about 10 minutes by foot. There is an ABC store next door to the resort which has everything from souvenirs to hot food.

There are also a number of restaurants, cafes, and coffee shops within 5 or 10 minutes walk.

The whalers village at ka'analapli is about 2 miles away and it is possible to walk there via a costal path which starts at the Honua Kai Resort. Buses to the whalers village leave once per hour from Kaanapali Beach Club Resort 5 minutes walk away and cost $1. You can also take a taxi to or from the whalers village for around $12. To get to Lahaina you change buses at the Whalers village.

Each condo is independently owned and managed by different companies so each visitor's experience may be different. Our condo was clean and comfortable with a living area and a well equipped full kitchen. There was a washer/dryer, dishwasher, flat screen TV, DVD player, and PS2 game console. A maid came to clean each day.

As stated on the resort website, some buildings are being renovated. Sounds of drilling, grinding and other assorted construction noises make relaxing on the lanai or lounging by the pool difficult from around 9am to 5pm. However, it was easy to avoid the sounds by moving to the 2nd pool on the other side of the property.

The ultimate question is would I stay here again? The answer is yes. The location is great, the pool and grounds relaxing and the condo nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zeseeatyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirby, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

i foiund he papakea a very nice place to stay most of the condos have a very good view of the ocean and he ground s

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
3.1 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Property: Aston at Papakea Resort
Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,035 - ₹ 23,886
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing