We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston at Papakea Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
418
401
169
91
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
401
169
91
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaui dreams come trueputting greengrocery storesea wallocean frontliving roomshuffle boardsandy beachfarmers marketbeautiful groundstennis courtspools and hot tubsc unitground floorwasher and dryerthrough vrbofull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Aston Papakea..In a word.. perfect....beautiful grounds, clean, friendly, great location, quite...and good price !..Never had any trouble getting a bbq at nite ( there are 12 ) would go back in a heartbeat. Great for familes or romantic getaways...

Room Tip: D block was great for view of the gardens as well as the ocean
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deborahb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a beautifully decorated, 3rd-floor, ocean-front unit over the Memorial Day weekend. (I think it was E301.) It was a corner unit that had windows facing the pool area, a sliding-glass door facing the ocean and a wrap-around lanai. We booked directly with Aston, although the condo is privately owned. The daily maid service included replacement coffee/tea, fresh towels, bed made, etc.

The property is a short 5-10 minute walk to the Kaanapali Beach, and the paved beach path extends from there all the way to the southern end of Kaanapali... approximately 4 miles one-way.

As everyone has commented, the grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained. We did find the swimming pool to be a little cold. Most of the buildings surround the swimming pool areas, with the majority of the lanais facing the pools...so you may feel that your are in a fish bowl when taking a swim.

We would definitely recommend this place and would consider it again on a return trip to Maui.

Room Tip: I agree with one other reviewer, who recommends that you book directly with Aston. A card in the room explained that not all units are managed by Aston and that, in some instances, Aston only facilitates checking in for other rental agencies. Also, I highly recommend the ocean-front units.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CincyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I visited Papakea in June 2012 and stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath ocean view condo in the K building on the 3rd floor.

The resort is located about 2 miles north of Kaalipani and about 5 miles north of Lahaina in Honokōwai

The resort has two sides, with each having a pool, hot tub, putting green and shuffle board. Unlike some of the condo resorts we walked by in kaanapali, where loungers were lined up in rows 2 deep, here the pool areas were never crowded and felt spacious. Each pool has 6 BBQs. The grounds are well maintained with koi ponds and a nice garden.

I don't understand why resort fees are never included in the price but here there is a $10 resort fee per night and this is for wifi, parking, the local newspaper, room safe and 2 DVDs or games per day which can be rented from a Redbox style vending machine.

There is an Expedia concierge on site to help with excursions, tours, reservations etc but we didn't use them.

The property is right on the ocean but not on a beach. There is a seawall here but a nice beach is about 3 minutes walk away in front of the Aston Kaanapali Shores resort next door. A sea turtle came up to the sea wall most afternoons.

The resort is well located for those on a self catering vacation. There is a large supermarket 5 minutes walk away and a smaller gourmet supermarket about 10 minutes by foot. There is an ABC store next door to the resort which has everything from souvenirs to hot food.

There are also a number of restaurants, cafes, and coffee shops within 5 or 10 minutes walk.

The whalers village at ka'analapli is about 2 miles away and it is possible to walk there via a costal path which starts at the Honua Kai Resort. Buses to the whalers village leave once per hour from Kaanapali Beach Club Resort 5 minutes walk away and cost $1. You can also take a taxi to or from the whalers village for around $12. To get to Lahaina you change buses at the Whalers village.

Each condo is independently owned and managed by different companies so each visitor's experience may be different. Our condo was clean and comfortable with a living area and a well equipped full kitchen. There was a washer/dryer, dishwasher, flat screen TV, DVD player, and PS2 game console. A maid came to clean each day.

As stated on the resort website, some buildings are being renovated. Sounds of drilling, grinding and other assorted construction noises make relaxing on the lanai or lounging by the pool difficult from around 9am to 5pm. However, it was easy to avoid the sounds by moving to the 2nd pool on the other side of the property.

The ultimate question is would I stay here again? The answer is yes. The location is great, the pool and grounds relaxing and the condo nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zeseeatyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

i foiund he papakea a very nice place to stay most of the condos have a very good view of the ocean and he ground s

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I recently stayed here with my 19 year old granddaughter for a week. We both had a great time. I chose Papakea because I had stayed here many years ago. It was great then too. I'm pretty sure it was called by some people, Peaceful Papakea, at that time. I chose it because I wanted to come and go as I pleased- to show her the sights. We had a studio room E304. I booked thru AAA. Had maid service everyday- clean towels, bed made, trash emptied, etc. To the complainers- you get what you pay for. People don't realize some or all of these condos are privately owned. I had one problem that was taken care of immediately. The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. The pool and jacuzzi were spotless. I would recommend this place. Mgr. Dave and his staff are very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews