We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveller rating
619
445
119
77
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
445
119
77
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castaway cafe banyan building coconut building aloha tower full kitchen black rock garden view whalers village free trolley smaller pool beach walk main building great beach studio condo beach towels on site restaurant main pool
Filter
Updating list...
894 - 899 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

So disappointing that management doesn't want to fire up the boilers on windy, cloudy days. The ocean is warmer than the pool by far. With such a large daily resort fee, would expect a heated pool.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2011

Dear Swimmer67,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali! Please know that after reading about your disappointment with the temperature of our pool we took steps to increase the temperature to ensure it is kept warmer.

I thank you for taking the time to post your comments because it gave us an opportunity to learn from your experience and take steps to correct the situation.

Mahalo nui loa,

Michael J. Sands
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Our studio was excellent in every respect: clean, comfortable, quiet, with tasteful modern decor--natural stone throughout, granite counter and nice bamboo cabinets in kitchen--enough room for three adults. Staff is courteous and very helpful. Helpful concierge books activities. I will absolutely return to these condos and will recommend them highly to my friends.

Our "garden view" still afforded a great ocean panorama. Large glass/screen sliding doors open to a small SRO balcony. Room has great climate control. Very comfy king bed; sofa bed is better than average. Very nice bathroom with no tub, traditional and waterfall shower heads. Room was cleaned thoroughly every day. Full kitchen was completely stocked with pans, utensils, dishes, coffee pot and grinder, etc. Very easy to cook and save $. Safeway is a five-minute drive. Costco is near the airport, on the way to the condos. Many upscale and budget dining options within ten-minute drive.

Grounds are manicured and lovely. Very nice pool-spa area, right next to a beautiful beach. Plenty of shade next to beach. Lots of places to walk, jog. Restaurant on beach has good breakfast. Adequate workout room--seven weight machines, three cardio machines. Free parking, free internet. I didn't use the hotel's laundry room. During my stay (late Dec.) most guests were seniors or families--very quiet and peaceful.

Be aware that every room pays a mandatory $13-per-day activity fee--I find this practice deceptive but still consider this place a bargain. Also, I understand that condos are individually owned, so each is a little different.

If you prefer low-key non-commercial vacations, you'll love Maui. I napped and read in the shade with an ocean view while my adult children swam and sunned. Road to Hana has waterfalls, vegetation, beaches, hiking and swimming opportunities. I rented an ordinary sedan, which was fine for everything I did. If you rent a jeep, you can drive the entire island perimeter, which I understand includes a few miles of unpaved road. If you whale watch and are lucky enough to see the critters breach, as we did, you'll never forget it.

Date of stay: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benlegato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

These villas were absolutely perfect for us! This low-scale resort is situated on an amazing stretch of beach on the west side of the island. This beach had everything we could have asked for, from sunrise and sunset walks to snorkeling, swimming, and body surfing (depending on the wave action). And when we wanted something less challenging than the surf, the hotel pool was perfect.

Our studio room with a full kitchen was on the second floor of one of the two story buildings overlooking the pool - close enough to allow our teenage girls to spend time in the pool by themselves. The kitchen was a "must" for us and it was stocked with all of the essentials for cooking and baking - other than food which we supplied from the Safeway store in Lahaina.

Service was absolutely excellent. Sheets for the sofa bed were delivered within minutes of the request, as were towels. Housekeeping left our room spotless every day. Parking was convenient to our room and the mix of condo owners and guests was appreciated. The pool was never swamped and guests never too loud.

There were many activities close by, including shopping in Lahaina, golf, horseback riding, ziplining, whale watching tours, surfing, hiking, etc. And for die-hard Starbucks fans, there is a location about 10 minutes down the road (I'll admit to a run or two in our 10 day stay). The location is just minutes from an array of activities to suit different tastes. But somehow, we found ourselves just relaxing in the comfy chairs on the lanai.

The hotel website, along with travel sites, offers a very accurate depiction of the grounds, property, and buildings. If you are looking for multiple on-site restaurants and bars, yoga on the beach, kids clubs, and water sports...maybe this isn't the place for you. But for us, this resort had just enough of everything and was an excellent value compared to the neighboring 5 star resorts. It made our MUCH needed vacation possibleand we thank Kaanapali Villas staff for making it special with their hospitality and accommodation. Mahalo.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OBrFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We knew which beach we wanted to stay on, but picked the hotel based on reviews and pictures. We made our reservations online with the hotel. Very easy. Our room was to be a 1 bedroom ocean view in the tower, however when we checked in they informed us we had been upgraded to a ground level, one bedroom ocean front. I can not emphasize enough how much of a difference that made. The room was BEAUTIFUL, all newly remodeled with a giant walk in shower and multiple shower heads. There were two LCD large screen TV's, all the lighting dimmable, granite counters, luxorious kitchen and two double sliding doors that opened to a private lanai. We were a 10 second walk from the pool, 15 seconds to the restaurant and a full 30 seconds to get to the beach! No stairs, elevators or hallways. Just open the door and you're there. The beach is wonderful and feels very private. No crowds and lots of familys. Our 14 month old had a great time and I always felt she was very safe. You can rent anything, like paddle boards, snorkel gear, boogie boards, right there on the beach.
The staff was quick and helpful as we needed a crib, high chair and a repair to the screen door. All requests were met.
We used the kitchen just like we would have at home. There is a Safeway Supermarket about 3 miles away. One big shopping trip and we were set for the week.
There is a free shuttle that will take you to the resort side of Kaanapali for shopping, fine dining and checking out the over priced, over crowded fancy resorts.

I could go on and on, but I'll leave it with this... on Maui, this is our new "place to stay"!

One word of caution, each unit is individually owned and not all owners have spent the kind of money it takes to make their unit luxorious. We were unit 192 in the Emerald building. That's where we will be staying.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmtrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we absolutley loved Mauii and the Kaanapali Villas!!! Beautiful beach, spacious and comfortable condo, lovely pool & grounds. Cannot wait to go back!

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveltheworld95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews