We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kaanapali Villas are the best value in the nicest area of Maui!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed on the property for over a month. It 's low density on the quietest spot in Kaanapali is truly desirerable. No running down to place towels on the chairs by the pool, lots of great sandy beach out front and lovely grounds surround the condos.
Each condo is individually owned and thus there is a wide variety of bedding configurations and decors available. Many units are upgraded with new cabinets in the fully equiped kitchens, granite counter tops, tiled floors, flat screen tvs, etc.
The front desk, maintenance and housekeeping staff are friendly and do a great job to make the vacation the most memorable.
It has all the amenities you need with two pools and twp hot tubs, spa, onsite Castaway's Cafe (best selection of wine anywhere), the free Kaanapali Trolley to visit other complexs and Whaler's village, beach shack (snorkel equip., paddle boards, beach chairs, sailboats all available to rent and no charge to watch the whales, dolphins and turtles going past in the water.
Does it get any better than this?? We loved it. Thank you MKV.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loveholidaysKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 819 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

So disappointing that management doesn't want to fire up the boilers on windy, cloudy days. The ocean is warmer than the pool by far. With such a large daily resort fee, would expect a heated pool.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSands, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2011

Dear Swimmer67,

Aloha from sunny Kaanapali! Please know that after reading about your disappointment with the temperature of our pool we took steps to increase the temperature to ensure it is kept warmer.

I thank you for taking the time to post your comments because it gave us an opportunity to learn from your experience and take steps to correct the situation.

Mahalo nui loa,

Michael J. Sands
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Our studio was excellent in every respect: clean, comfortable, quiet, with tasteful modern decor--natural stone throughout, granite counter and nice bamboo cabinets in kitchen--enough room for three adults. Staff is courteous and very helpful. Helpful concierge books activities. I will absolutely return to these condos and will recommend them highly to my friends.

Our "garden view" still afforded a great ocean panorama. Large glass/screen sliding doors open to a small SRO balcony. Room has great climate control. Very comfy king bed; sofa bed is better than average. Very nice bathroom with no tub, traditional and waterfall shower heads. Room was cleaned thoroughly every day. Full kitchen was completely stocked with pans, utensils, dishes, coffee pot and grinder, etc. Very easy to cook and save $. Safeway is a five-minute drive. Costco is near the airport, on the way to the condos. Many upscale and budget dining options within ten-minute drive.

Grounds are manicured and lovely. Very nice pool-spa area, right next to a beautiful beach. Plenty of shade next to beach. Lots of places to walk, jog. Restaurant on beach has good breakfast. Adequate workout room--seven weight machines, three cardio machines. Free parking, free internet. I didn't use the hotel's laundry room. During my stay (late Dec.) most guests were seniors or families--very quiet and peaceful.

Be aware that every room pays a mandatory $13-per-day activity fee--I find this practice deceptive but still consider this place a bargain. Also, I understand that condos are individually owned, so each is a little different.

If you prefer low-key non-commercial vacations, you'll love Maui. I napped and read in the shade with an ocean view while my adult children swam and sunned. Road to Hana has waterfalls, vegetation, beaches, hiking and swimming opportunities. I rented an ordinary sedan, which was fine for everything I did. If you rent a jeep, you can drive the entire island perimeter, which I understand includes a few miles of unpaved road. If you whale watch and are lucky enough to see the critters breach, as we did, you'll never forget it.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benlegato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

These villas were absolutely perfect for us! This low-scale resort is situated on an amazing stretch of beach on the west side of the island. This beach had everything we could have asked for, from sunrise and sunset walks to snorkeling, swimming, and body surfing (depending on the wave action). And when we wanted something less challenging than the surf, the hotel pool was perfect.

Our studio room with a full kitchen was on the second floor of one of the two story buildings overlooking the pool - close enough to allow our teenage girls to spend time in the pool by themselves. The kitchen was a "must" for us and it was stocked with all of the essentials for cooking and baking - other than food which we supplied from the Safeway store in Lahaina.

Service was absolutely excellent. Sheets for the sofa bed were delivered within minutes of the request, as were towels. Housekeeping left our room spotless every day. Parking was convenient to our room and the mix of condo owners and guests was appreciated. The pool was never swamped and guests never too loud.

There were many activities close by, including shopping in Lahaina, golf, horseback riding, ziplining, whale watching tours, surfing, hiking, etc. And for die-hard Starbucks fans, there is a location about 10 minutes down the road (I'll admit to a run or two in our 10 day stay). The location is just minutes from an array of activities to suit different tastes. But somehow, we found ourselves just relaxing in the comfy chairs on the lanai.

The hotel website, along with travel sites, offers a very accurate depiction of the grounds, property, and buildings. If you are looking for multiple on-site restaurants and bars, yoga on the beach, kids clubs, and water sports...maybe this isn't the place for you. But for us, this resort had just enough of everything and was an excellent value compared to the neighboring 5 star resorts. It made our MUCH needed vacation possibleand we thank Kaanapali Villas staff for making it special with their hospitality and accommodation. Mahalo.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OBrFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We knew which beach we wanted to stay on, but picked the hotel based on reviews and pictures. We made our reservations online with the hotel. Very easy. Our room was to be a 1 bedroom ocean view in the tower, however when we checked in they informed us we had been upgraded to a ground level, one bedroom ocean front. I can not emphasize enough how much of a difference that made. The room was BEAUTIFUL, all newly remodeled with a giant walk in shower and multiple shower heads. There were two LCD large screen TV's, all the lighting dimmable, granite counters, luxorious kitchen and two double sliding doors that opened to a private lanai. We were a 10 second walk from the pool, 15 seconds to the restaurant and a full 30 seconds to get to the beach! No stairs, elevators or hallways. Just open the door and you're there. The beach is wonderful and feels very private. No crowds and lots of familys. Our 14 month old had a great time and I always felt she was very safe. You can rent anything, like paddle boards, snorkel gear, boogie boards, right there on the beach.
The staff was quick and helpful as we needed a crib, high chair and a repair to the screen door. All requests were met.
We used the kitchen just like we would have at home. There is a Safeway Supermarket about 3 miles away. One big shopping trip and we were set for the week.
There is a free shuttle that will take you to the resort side of Kaanapali for shopping, fine dining and checking out the over priced, over crowded fancy resorts.

I could go on and on, but I'll leave it with this... on Maui, this is our new "place to stay"!

One word of caution, each unit is individually owned and not all owners have spent the kind of money it takes to make their unit luxorious. We were unit 192 in the Emerald building. That's where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmtrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,338 reviews
1.3 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,224 reviews
1.7 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 16,980 - ₹ 31,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing