We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,684)
Filter reviews
2,684 results
Traveller rating
1,280
917
307
128
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
917
307
128
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe beach club restaurantfull kitchengrocery storealoha suitegarden poolocean viewamenity feewasher and dryerstrip mallbedroom condoon site restaurantjava jazzparking feetennis courtsper daybeautiful groundsfitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,429 - 1,434 of 2,684 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked this place based on the great reviews it has here on TA. We were not impressed, however. On the plus side, it is right on the beach, with plenty of chaise lounges. There are also two pools. We had a two bedroom suite and the kitchen was well-appointed. On the other hand, there were a few negatives. First, our room wasn't ready for check-in at 3:00 on the day of arrival. This appears to be the norm because other people were also having to hang out in the lobby every day we were there. Seems that they need to hire more staff. Second, the rooms are very noisy: we could hear everything being said outside and the elevator bells. Third, the kitchen smelled like cooked fish. Fourth, the bath towels were only slightly softer than sandpaper. Fifth, the grounds were often full of litter. The worst was that they nickel and dime you even though you are paying almost $500/night for the room. There is a $10/day "amenities fee" that includes use of the safe in the room and WiFi, which didn't work. They also charge you extra to use the fitness facility. Overall this place was not anywhere near worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

We are sorry to learn of the disappointing experience of these guests. Our team does their best to ensure that suites are available at 3:00 p.m. However, often times the guests who are due to depart that day do not do so by the posted check-out time, which causes the delay. Sometimes they simply misjudge the time and are on their way back from an activity or attraction elswhere on the island. Many take full advantage of the complete kitchens that exist within the suites during their stays. It sounds like perhaps the guests who occupied this suite prior to those who wrote this survey cooked up a meal just prior to departing, which apparently led to some residual scent. This is the first and only time in the last five years and hundreds of reviews that I recall seeing someone say the grounds were littered. Our team is very cognizant of this in particular. Finally, we were sorry to learn that they felt nickel and dimed by the amenity fee. Most guests feel they receive a great value for the fee amount, but at times we do have folks who would have rather we built the fee into the room rate instead of charging it separately. We hope these visitors were able to enjoy our beautiful island overall and are sorry there were some disappointing moments for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was our second stay at the Ka'anapali Shores in Maui and once again we had a great time there. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Very nice and clean rooms, beach is great for us (I know some don't like it, but we do), pool is great, and the food at the restaurant is fantastic. Snorkeling off the beach here is great, lots of different fish and other critters. We will be planning our next Maui vacation here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked through Hotwire's Blind discount rate and could not have been happier. The place was top notch and the staff was friendly and helpful. Having the beach right on the resort was the icing on the cake. Our stay was in November on 2011 and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Room in the corner is slightly larger, plus an ocean view without the up charge.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ctallen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was our first trip to Maui and we couldnt have picked a better place to stay. The motel was great, the staff where so friendly and helpful nothing was to big a deal. Our room was great, it was very large, very clean and had a great kitchen. The view from our room was nice and the motel grounds were very well kept. The beach was fine and the pools/spa were also very good and clean and we had plenty of towels. The restaurant was very nice and the food was good we never had a bad meal there. The location of the motel was also very good as it had a great supermarket across the road, subway and a couple of other food shops. there was also a very very popular and great pizza shop there as well. A car is a must on Maui. Over all a great stay (9 days) and we will be back....thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bx203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very nice resort. I agree that I was overwhelmed by all the paperwork I received at check in, but I won't complain about potentially helpful Information. the 2 bedroom was very nice and perfect for our large family. The beach is nice, but be sure to bring water shoes as it is rocky in the water. I do wish there was more shaded seating at the beach and by the large pool. I can't be in the sun much and would appreciate some umbrellas and beach chairs (other than the lanais you have to pay for). All the employees we dealt with were friendly and the room was very clean (this is the #1 most important thing to me). I only left with one negative feeling: we had a situation in the middle of the night and informed the staff. They took care of it immediately the next morning and we even received immediate follow-up calls. All this was great EXCEPT not once did we hear the words "we apologize". We were informed of what was done, but never got a simple apology for the situation and inconvenience. I am a former hotel front office manager for Marriott, and I would have apologized and sent a gesture of some sort (credited account for something, sent fruit, etc.). This surprised me. Overall though, a nice hotel. We enjoyed the free hula show on Wednesday night (not enough seating though...get to the pool early).
pool early).

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank landpilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews