We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Swifton, AR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Our group had 3 different rooms and all were nice. We paid more for an ocean view room, and I'm not sure the view was really any better than the rooms that weren't considered ocean view. The hide a bed my kids slept on was marginal, at best. Otherwise, we enjoyed everything about our condo. Like other reviewers, I feel the daily amenity fees and parking fees are a little much. If you are looking for a great beach, this one is just ok. The restaurant was good- especially the banana pancakes. Overall, a good experience and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swiftonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    850
    286
    120
    42
See reviews for
1,043
788
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked this place based on the great reviews it has here on TA. We were not impressed, however. On the plus side, it is right on the beach, with plenty of chaise lounges. There are also two pools. We had a two bedroom suite and the kitchen was well-appointed. On the other hand, there were a few negatives. First, our room wasn't ready for check-in at 3:00 on the day of arrival. This appears to be the norm because other people were also having to hang out in the lobby every day we were there. Seems that they need to hire more staff. Second, the rooms are very noisy: we could hear everything being said outside and the elevator bells. Third, the kitchen smelled like cooked fish. Fourth, the bath towels were only slightly softer than sandpaper. Fifth, the grounds were often full of litter. The worst was that they nickel and dime you even though you are paying almost $500/night for the room. There is a $10/day "amenities fee" that includes use of the safe in the room and WiFi, which didn't work. They also charge you extra to use the fitness facility. Overall this place was not anywhere near worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
We are sorry to learn of the disappointing experience of these guests. Our team does their best to ensure that suites are available at 3:00 p.m. However, often times the guests who are due to depart that day do not do so by the posted check-out time, which causes the delay. Sometimes they simply misjudge the time and are on their way back from an activity or attraction elswhere on the island. Many take full advantage of the complete kitchens that exist within the suites during their stays. It sounds like perhaps the guests who occupied this suite prior to those who wrote this survey cooked up a meal just prior to departing, which apparently led to some residual scent. This is the first and only time in the last five years and hundreds of reviews that I recall seeing someone say the grounds were littered. Our team is very cognizant of this in particular. Finally, we were sorry to learn that they felt nickel and dimed by the amenity fee. Most guests feel they receive a great value for the fee amount, but at times we do have folks who would have rather we built the fee into the room rate instead of charging it separately. We hope these visitors were able to enjoy our beautiful island overall and are sorry there were some disappointing moments for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was our second stay at the Ka'anapali Shores in Maui and once again we had a great time there. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Very nice and clean rooms, beach is great for us (I know some don't like it, but we do), pool is great, and the food at the restaurant is fantastic. Snorkeling off the beach here is great, lots of different fish and other critters. We will be planning our next Maui vacation here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked through Hotwire's Blind discount rate and could not have been happier. The place was top notch and the staff was friendly and helpful. Having the beach right on the resort was the icing on the cake. Our stay was in November on 2011 and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Room in the corner is slightly larger, plus an ocean view without the up charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ctallen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was our first trip to Maui and we couldnt have picked a better place to stay. The motel was great, the staff where so friendly and helpful nothing was to big a deal. Our room was great, it was very large, very clean and had a great kitchen. The view from our room was nice and the motel grounds were very well kept. The beach was fine and the pools/spa were also very good and clean and we had plenty of towels. The restaurant was very nice and the food was good we never had a bad meal there. The location of the motel was also very good as it had a great supermarket across the road, subway and a couple of other food shops. there was also a very very popular and great pizza shop there as well. A car is a must on Maui. Over all a great stay (9 days) and we will be back....thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bx203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
2.0 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,466 - ₹ 25,261
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing