We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One step up from a hostel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Lahaina House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Lahaina House
Ranked #8 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One step up from a hostel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Not sure who gave this place 'excellent' or 'very good'. 'Average' would be generous. It isn't a bed and breakfast and certainly isn't a hotel. If you are used to staying in hostels, then I guess it would be okay. But the pricing is insane. We paid $130 for one night - exactly the same as we got the 4 star Hyatt down the road on Priceline. It has a nice little pool - but a dog was swimming in it when we arrived. Location is okay, a short walk to town. But really...you can do MUCH better than this place for the $$$

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie7381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    40
    8
    8
    16
See reviews for
13
57
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in an upstairs room for two nights. We were required to take the shoes off when entering the house. There was an ordinary interior door to the room and no glass in two windows so you could easily hear what is going on in the stairway and outside. The interior of the room looked a bit shabby. A small lizard was living in the bathroom.
I am not sure about the type of accommodation. It is not a hotel; it is not a B&B (they do not serve any food). The room is cleaned only once a week if you stay longer.
I met a cat in front of our room which might cause problems to allergic people (like me).
The location is quite good. The beach is very close - across two streets. It is about a 15 minutes’ walk to the centre of Lahaina. We had no problems with parking our car at the house.
It was good for an overnight stay - not for longer. You would not pay such money in any other location; but in Lahaina (and Hawaii generally) there is not much choice (especially if you book the accommodation few days before your stay as we did).
However, all the people we met in the house were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubolupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We recently spent four miserable nights at the Old Lahaina House. We had the "deluxe"
room, upstairs, adjacent to the chain smoking landlady's lanai, without any windows to shut
the cigarette smoke out, (we used pillows against the louwers to block out some of the smoke). In the middle of the night we heard the rats, eating our two small bags of Famous
Amos chocolate chip cookies!!! We were also charged one extra night, at the rate of $180.34
that took us, with the help of our bank's security divisions help, almost a month to get re-credited to our account.
So our advise, find someplace else to stay. Aloha!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I really enjoyed my stay this past Christmas.Good value, good location and wonderful host. Pool/garden has very nice feel.

Stana, Toronto

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

It was not my first time at the Old Lahaina House. I love this place! It is affordable, at a walking distance from downtown. And Sherry, who became a friend, is so sweet! This place is my home away from home on Maui.

Room Tip: My favorite room is the "mountain view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
0.3 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
6.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.9 km away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#22 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
1.3 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lahaina House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lahaina House

Property: Old Lahaina House
Address: 407 Ilikahi St, PO Box 10355, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,143 - ₹ 13,479
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Lahaina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lahaina House Hotel Lahaina
Old Lahaina House Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing