We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen”
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Ho'olio House. Great location, with amazing views of the ocean and Lanai. The outdoor shower also offers the same amazing views while you clean up before a night out on the town. Serene, happy and very comfortable, we are already planning our return. Dan and Amy, the owners are great and were very helpful with recommendations about Maui. The fresh breakfast was delicious. If you are there Saturday, stop by the farmers market on the corner of HWY 30 and Kai Hele Kuu St, for some delicious local treats.

Aloha.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent the second week of a two week stay on Maui at the Ho'oilo House and absolutely LOVED it! The home, grounds, view, and atmosphere there is truly beautiful! It was peaceful, serene, and totally relaxing. Although there were other couples there as guests, we often felt as if we were there alone. Each morning they served delicious homemade muffins, fresh fruit, eggs, toast and yogurt. A perfect breakfast for us! Our room was very clean, comfortable and we fell in love with the outdoor shower! We loved being a short drive from Front Street in Lahaina, but also in a quiet scenic area away from the crowds. After spending our first week at the Hyatt, it was a wonderfully quiet retreat! When we return to Maui, we will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay at Hoo'ilo House. By the end of our week there, we felt like it was our own luxurious home. We saw other people rarely even though it was filled. We had breakfast by the pool every day as we looked out at the ocean, and we were usually alone there. Breakfast was informal, and we enjoyed that. There was always hot tea availbable, and we sampled many different kinds. I particularly enjoyed the outdoor shower. I could see the volcanic mountains as I showered.
Dan gave us lots of good tips about what to do when we asked him.
We did have to drive to the beach, but we didn't mind that. Every day when we came home from our travels, we again marveled at the beautiful spot that Hooilo House is located in.

Room Tip: Get a room that has an ocean view. However, if you can't, there's not a bad room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Quiet. Relaxing. Great place to chill and re-energize. This is exactly what we were looking for. No crowds. No loud music. Just beautiful trade winds, palm trees, ocean views but close enough to great restaurants but far from the hustle bustle touristy places. There is a great trail for taking morning walks close by. And the best part is there was fresh piping hot Gluten free muffins every morning + gluten free cereal and fresh fruit + great coffee for us coffee snobs from the Pacific Northwest! Thank you Dan & Amy! Everything was Perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Airy & clean little B&B up in Launiopoko. Ten minutes drive from the action of Front Street but far enough to feel like you're in the Mediterranean. Amazing views of West Maui coastline and mountains. Outdoor shower and marble tub made it even more special. Simple breakfast in the morning. Bottle of Veuve waiting in the room on arrival was a great touch too. Many Mahalos Dan and Amy :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnnyscaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
17.1 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
5.1 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
472 reviews
14.3 km away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
7.1 km away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
408 reviews
10.7 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 20,463 - ₹ 26,402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing