We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much sea life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
Ranked #1 of 130 Tours in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 Sea Activity on Maui! Snorkeling, Sailing, Whale watches, Dinner Sails, Private charters, and most notably their "Discover Lana'i" excursion. Trilogy Excursions is a family-owned and operated sailing company established in 1973 by the Coon Family! They operate on both Maui and Lana'i and lead the industry in environmental stewardship, setting safety standards, and Hawaiian hospitality. They are committed to sustainable tourism and undergo an extensive certification process every two years to remain a certified eco-tour operator. They depart out of Ma'alaea Harbor, Lahaina Harbor, Ka'anapali Beach, and Manele Harbor (Lana'i).
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much sea life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

CaptIan Gabe was very knowledgable and pwrsonable. He clearly loves what he does. He found us lots of amazing sea life to watch and in this aspect clearly put performed other "whale watching" boats. He even explained what we were seeing like when several male humpbacks fought for dominance. Food was great. Crews service level was awesome they were always asking if they could get us something and during snorkel took time to help us spot the beat sea life. Highlight of our trip. Land excursion part was kind of boring.

Helpful?
Thank MSchock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,808
    296
    98
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What do Whales, dolphins, snorkle, snuba, and sails have in common? Trilogy Excursions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Spend a fantastic day on the sea and island, sunbathing, snuba'g or snorkling, eating, drinking, relaxing and being totally entertained. What could have a cliche outing was truly an exceptional day. Lots to do (or not do...as those who sunbathed on the beach would attest) and see. A day well worth the price of admission, as they say. Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed the whale watching, sailing, and snuba experience (extra $). They even served us a chicken BBQ before leaving Lanae; drinks and dessert on-board under sail! What made it especially exceptional, though? The staff. Our captain and crew made it very fun!! Just fyi, forego the Lanai island bus tour...it's optional...just stay on the beach and have fun. :D

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
1 review
“Awesome Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We did the snorkel/Lanai tour. There was plenty of seating and room to move around. We had dozens of whale sitings going to and from Lanai. We went for the Lanai tour, as it was the only island we had not visited, but the others said the snorkeling was great. The crew learns everyone's name at the beginning of the tour and calls you by name. The food was all included and homemade. (cinnamon rolls, juices for breakfast, teriyaki chicken, salad and roll for lunch, salsa and chips for a snack later). This a 3rd generation, family-owned tour and that shows. Would recommend them for anyone.
Steph and Mike Broderson

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some Good, Some Terrible !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The voyage to a snorkeling destination was good. We saw a lot of whales and dolphin. Once at the snorkel sight, it was downhill to terrible. The water was far to rough for even the most experienced among us who stayed in only a short time. Those with little experience gave up and did not even get their fins on. It was a waste of time and a lot of money for those of us that wanted to try snorkeling. As this was the main emphasis of the trip, we felt that a different sight should have been selected, or the trip cancelled.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Milton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a great crew!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We went to Lanai with the Trilogy group. So glad we went, since the weather was iffy in Kanapalli, but it was warm and dry on Lanai.
The captain and crew made sure everyone was safe, full and happy the entire day. They are all so personable and knowledgeable. A great group of people!
The food was to die for and just kept coming all day long! Homemade Cinnamon rolls, pineapple juice and fresh fruit on the way over from Lahaina to Lanai. Then several types of wraps (turkey, chicken salad, tuna or veggie) along with pop before we arrived to our perfectly timed demonstration by dozens of spinner dolphins.
Upon stepping off the boat at Lanai, we were greeted by a local with a shell necklace.
We spent time on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, but just missed snorkeling with the dolphins when they swam off for better sleeping grounds. Then we had the options for snuba, hiking, exploring tide pools or an AC van tour of the island. (I did the tour and learned so much about the beautiful island of Lanai which used to be the world's largest pineapple producer.)
A wonderful dinner of lettuce salad. grilled chicken, roll, ginger noodles, peas, tea, POG, etc. Back on board the Trilogy, we were treated to ice cream sundaes for our trip back to Maui.
It was very high seas heading back with high winds, but no one got sick that we saw...partially in thanks to the ginger and Dramamine offered after lunch. The wind helped sail us back home.
A wonderful day was had by all thanks to the captain and crew of the Trilogy!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank illust8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing