We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in Lahaina at Kimos”
Review of Kimo's

Kimo's
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 28/09
20:00
Ranked #31 of 228 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Papalaua Street and Wahie Lane
Description: Right on the water and in the heart of historic Lahaina, Kimo’s brings you and your o’hana (Hawaiian for family) a casual, completely Maui dining experience. Renowned our “postcard” views of Lanai and Molokai, we offer a menu featuring fresh Hawaiian fish, prime rib, prime steaks and the original Hula Pie, Kimo’s has been a Maui must-do for over 30 years. The upstairs main dining room shows the architectural influence of New England on the former whaling port, with koa-lined walls, missionary-style furnishings and maritime memorabilia. After dinner, Kimo’s lanai becomes a very cool hotspot for tropical cocktails and Hawaiian music. Live entertainment is offered on weekends and select week nights.
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

We finally were able to return to Maui for a vacation this year. Covid has caused several restrictions, but the vacation is on ! One of our favorite places for lunch and/or dinner is Kimos on Front St in Lahaina. Our group went for dinner about 5pm - it wasn’t too crowded - we sat upstairs with beautiful views of the water. They don’t have a large menu, but what they have is usually very good - fish dishes, salads, burgers, ribs, etc. Service was excellent during the meal with orders taken and delivered, we thought, quicker than usual. The group ordered ribs, fish platter, fish tacos, and fish & chips. Comments back from the group - ribs were very good, fish platter (ono) was very good, fish & chips ok, and fish tacos were ok. Fish tacos are always my favorite, but a notch down this time with the ahi. I prefer ono or mahi ! Of course, we ended with a couple of slices of Hula Pie shared by the table - yum ! They are pricey with the dinner costing approx $100 for 2 of us - only 1 alcoholic drink. I’ve always thought Kimos was a 5 out of 5, but this year I’d drop them down to a 4 out of 5 overall on the food. Still worth visiting on Front St in Lahaina !

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank VailAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 6,416 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2021

We love Kimos. The food is awesome and the scenery is amazing. We went for lunch and were not able to get a reservation in advance. We just showed up and waited in a line outside of the restaurant for 30 minutes before they opened. Got a table with an amazing view and an amazing Waitress. Amanda was awesome. One of my boys is vegan and she helped us find the perfect lunch for him on the menu. She even helped us secure a dinner reservation for a night during our stay. This was impossible for us to do by ourselves. Whenever we visit Maui, we will always go to Kimos!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 77jillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Had an amazing dinner and the staff was amazIng with the exception of the manager Jac. 
ManagerJac was unsympathetic. People were standing over our table with out masks taking pictures as if we were not there. (COVID RULES were put in place to protect patrons to keep everyone safe, manager Jac said everyone pays money to be here what would you like me to do?) There were other guest standing and leaning on our chairs as we were celebrating a birthday eating dinner to take pictures with the view. (HAWAII MANDATES ARE RESTAURANTS ARE  AT 50 %.CAPACITY! Could have fooled me. They were probably at 100% CAPACITY) Told by manager JAC, they spent alot of money to be here. As if we didn't! We have traveled to Hawaii every year for the last 13 years and have never been so disrespected as by Jac. He needs to be trained in customer service and not tell his customers that there is nothing he can do to help them in this situation.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Roam102662
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021

We were in Maui last week and ate at Kimo's as we have many visits before. The fish sandwich and fries, preceded by coconut shrimp pupus with a cider honey mustard sauce, were Lahaina-lunch waterside perfect. Kimo's has the best waterfront views of any restaurant along Front Street, and the cool breezes on the ground level tables and bar deck on the water give you an enjoyable upbeat day. The view across the 'Au'au Channel between your table at Kimo's and Lanai is active with sailboats, swimmers, paddle boarders, parasailers, and in August an occasional dolphin or turtle. During whale season we have seen Humpback Whales many times as we enjoyed lunch at Kimo's. The team is friendly and well trained - many have been there for years and are on their game for your enjoyment. We were fortunate to do a walk up at 10:40 on a Monday morning, with opening at 11:00 AM. There were 15 people in line ahead of us - we were all seated and ordering drinks and lunch by 11:15. Kimo's in Lahaina is tops for lunch.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021

Kimo's has a great spot overlooking Lahaina Harbor and we were lucky enough to get a table with an unobstructed water view. My partner had the prime rib and I had the parmesan crusted fish, both of which were quite good. I have had better coconut shrimp elsewhere. The hula pie was tall and delicious. It did seem a bit overpriced, as dinner was good but not great, and you are definitely paying some premium for the gorgeous setting.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LDKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Kimo's also viewed

 

Been to Kimo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.