We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
163
41
12
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
41
12
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach resident manager pool and hot tub wonderful condo beach towels green sea turtles amazing vacation air conditioning snorkel equipment minute drive a wonderful place to stay fully stocked kitchen grounds are beautiful little things master bedroom home away from home west maui
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Location is amazing! Right on the beach. Not many people on the beach as it seems only Hale Mahina residents/guests use it. Not fancy but great for families. I think all units have a beach view. We watched a beautiful sunset each night. Lounge chairs available at all times during the day. Bottom units have direct access to grass/beach area. Small pool but hardly used because the beach is right there. Skip the expensive snorkeling tours for the family. You can snorkel right here! Turtles swimming by all day long. Washer/dryer and full kitchens in the units is great. Check your unit before shopping or renting equipment. It may already be there for your use. There isn't air conditioning (I was a little worried about that) but it wasn't needed as the ocean breeze cools the unit and there are ceiling fans. It has a full kitchen so we saved money on eating out. BBQ grills available as well.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has direct access to grass/beach area but not as private. Building A has a little better direct view of the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnetravels2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

This was our third visit to unit A305. We love coming back here for many reasons. The location is close to Lahaina yet, it is tucked away on the ocean front above Kaanapali and away from all the big hotels. We love to be able to just take a few steps and have our own pool, jacuzzi, grassy area and beautiful beach available. There is never a crowd and there are plenty of lounge chairs, so no need to reserve them! The view from our unit is the best and we love sitting on the lanai watching the sunset.
The unit itself is so welcoming and comfortable. We love the open bathroom and the newly remodeled kitchen with a convenient counter and bar stools. There are easy to follow instructions for the TV, the appliances and the general rules for a stay at Hale Mahina. Ann and Joe Wlad, the owners, are very responsive and have been so helpful to us to in making renting this unit very simple. They keep the unit well stocked with toys and items for the beach/ hiking and snorkeling.
There is a caretaker who lives there and whenever we had any questions, Larry was able to help us. He and his wife are very friendly!
There is plenty of open parking and there are several small places to eat in walking distance. In addition there is Maui Brewery, which was one of our favorite hangouts. The only negative thing may be that the bedroom is on the street side and the traffic can be heard, especially in the mornings. However, the bed in the unit is very comfortable and we get the best sleep when we stay there.
I would highly recommend Maui Sea Shell Condo and know that my husband and I will be back soon! Aloha!

Room Tip: Building A has better views, ground floor view is obstructed by plants
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank smhamilton2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We arrived at Hale Mahina on Friday, late evening. Opened the door to find our condo had not been cleaned. Towels on the floor, bathroom dirty, etc. Contacted owner, who was responsive and reached out to his housekeeping agency ASAP, who apparently had a mixup on the dates. Spent the evening washing sheets and towels etc. Housekeeper came the next day and thoroughly cleaned our unit. We informed the owner that his toaster was also broken. They were going to drop off a new one, but it never showed up. The location of the unit is lovely; greate view (we could watch the sunset from our lanai). The condo itself desperately needs some updating. It's kitchen is dated, the tile floor old and stained. Shower very outdated. The internet wifi is worthless. Not able to really use it. The TV required resetting as it would constantly freeze. I couldn't download anything to my laptop. Has a pull out bed but the mattress cover is stained with...I'm not sure. Kitchen sink is very old and needs replaced. Bed is quite decent, small, but quite comfy. Two beach towels only in the condo. The towels are stored in the musty bathroom cabinet below the sink. Oven is wobbly, but works. Overall, the unit is basic and serves basic needs, but don't expect anything fluffy or efficient.
Can't beat the view. The actual condo facilities are immaculate, pool and spa well-maintained, as is the private beach-we loved the beach! Turtles on the beach daily. Condo close to ABC store, TImes Grocery Store, Maui Brewing, Whalers Village, DT Fleming Beach just up the road, and so is Lahaina. Wouls stay here again, but hoping the owner will appropriately compensate us for our inconvenience.

Room Tip: Small airport RIGHT across the street. You will hear the planes.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lawRN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

First, you have to understand how these properties work. There are property owners and there are unit owners. The property owners do a fantastic job. The grounds are immaculate, the beach is awesome (especially when the turtles come up to sun in the sand) and the pool and hot tub are well maintained, although a bit too warm on the hot tub for my taste. There is free parking. It's a little tight but we managed to park our full size SUV doing some 8 point turning.

Unit owners are responsible for the condition of their unit and it's contents and this is where my negative review comes from. A403 is horrible and I strongly recommend you find a unit other than this one. People have complained about the upstairs bed and downstairs furniture for some time now and the property rental company continues to respond they are working with the owner to do updates. When I read those responses from a year ago, I rented assuming they would be addressed. They weren't. I don't blame the property rental company, but the owner who is obviously happy to take the income but put nothing back into the unit.

There isn't a single comfortable space to sit downstairs other than the lanai. We wanted to spend most of our time out there, but to have no comfortable options indoors to maybe watch a movie or hang out was really disappointing. The couch is beat down so low it's tilted forward and hard to even get out of. The cushions slide out from under you. It has tears in it. There are two old rattan chairs with worn, dirty cushions. The dining chairs are also rattan and have cushions so old and worn they have holes in them.

We slept in the king bed upstairs and one side slopes big time. And it's not the floor. The mattress and box spring are shot.

Despite all of these things we made the most out of our vacation and enjoyed all that the property had to offer. We just went home with aching backs and feeling like we got ripped off considering how much money as we paid for this rental.

Room Tip: All units have ocean views. Don't stay in A403 unless updated.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K9RESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018


We stayed at this condo for 6 weeks, Mid-January to February 28, 2018, and we have stayed here previously. It has everything you could want. The view is spectacular. You can see one or two turtles on the beach in front of the condo almost every day. The location of Hale Mahina is very good for us- midway between Kaanapali and Kapalua. For me, the fact that the lanai is shaded in the afternoons is great (and necessary). The owners are very accommodating and quick to respond.
Our only complaints are with the whole property, not this unit. There are not enough parking spaces when all of the units are occupied. This is exacerbated by the fact that the resident manager has 3-4 vehicles parked there every day & night- he should only be allowed one space. And, because of the shortage of parking, the two places where smoking is allowed frequently have cars parked in the way. And the facilities/amenities for smokers are minimal and not so nice. If you are going to force smokers to use only these two areas, they should be nicer and not where cars are likely to park. Lastly, whatever spray is used in the elevators is pretty nasty smelling. I'm sure something with a pleasant scent or better yet, no scent could be found.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank dcraigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews