We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“not for everyone” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“not for everyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is not a bad review of the Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas, but It’s not a great review either. As for as a clean, safe, newer property on the beach, this is all of that. The beach is completely perfect. A few feet into the water and there is this beautiful pristine reef heavily populated with a variety of colorful fish. It looks like you are swimming in a world class aquarium. Turtles, Ells, fish, its all here. It is a time share hotel, so know you get the sales pitches from time to time, but it was not a big turn-off, because we knew that going in.

They have beach rental for chairs and umbrellas at the beach, but you have to to all the way back to the north building beach shop for any towels, and to pay the rental fees.


The restaurants are predictably average, but pleasant enough. The grounds are great, and there is a running/walking path that runs along the beach which is fantastic.

You cannot get food or beverage service on the beach so you have to abandoned your chairs and things if you want anything to drink or eat.

Having a washer and dryer in the room was very cool, because things don't always dry in time on the balcony.

The TV doesn’t have the typical movie rental/cable hookup, so we could not rent movies or select the usual variety of channels found at a regular hotel, and we were surprised there was no CD player in the room.

The room was pretty bland and utilitarian. You can cook and eat in the room, but the small square table is not very comfortable, and the view of the parking lot doesn’t add to it either.

The mountain/island view is really a huge parking lot view. The room is not good if you sometimes get up or go to bed at different times than the others in your party, because it is just one big room, and the wall dividing the bathroom from the bedroom area is a folding accordion style made of wooden blinds, so it does not block much light or sound.

The jetted tub sounds so nice, but it is pretty small. My wife is 5’6” and normal weight and she found it to be cramped, and it was almost impossible for her and our 7 year old to bath together. The shower was terrible. It has a mounted head high on the wall with low water pressure, so getting sand from the beach off your body and legs is frustrating. It would actually be worth bringing your own head/hand wand and attach it when you get here. All of the lights in the bathroom and toilet are on just one switch, so if you go to the bathroom in the night you can not turn on the light because of that accordion wall which lets light leak into the bedroom area.

In summary;
It is a nice big room with a small but working kitchen with a small refrigerator with a washer and dryer. The grounds are beautiful, and the beach is perfect. The restaurants are adequate. This is not an elegant hotel with memorable meals, but it is nice for what it is.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms look like they overlook the pool, not the ocean. It looks like you have to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GeneandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Aloha and thank you for your comments. While we strive to provide a memorable and unique stay for all of our guests, we are saddened to hear that in your case, we missed the mark. Please accept our sincere apologies for not providing you with an experience filled with positive impressions. Please let us know if we may ever have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back for a stay that you will never forget. Mahalo for your valuable feedback.
Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,121
    940
    338
    159
    119
See reviews for
1,617
1,409
42
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We arrived at 8 pm. They easily changed our rooms because we decided to upgrade to a suite. The valet parked and emptied our car. Bags were delivered right away. The suites also have washer and dryers so you can pack light and have fresh clothes and wash sand out of suits easily. The property has so much to do for the kids and my kid's loved the kids club so my husband and I could have some time. The concierge specialist are everywhere and have very good recommendations and help. Shuttles are a great help to getti nearby resorts . However, renting a car will hep to really experience the greatness of Maui. The food on property is expensive but the grocery store is near and Costco when you land. There are full refrigerators and stove in the suites. Also, it would be cheaper to rent snorkel gear in town and pick up cheap beach chairs since daily rental on beach with 2 chairs and umbrella is $40. We also had the photographer located in the South lobby take family pictures. They turned out awesome and will make great Christmas cards! I could goon and on...an amazing first visit to Hawii.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swb1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Sheration property resort/timeshare ownership. This is a beautiful beach front resort. All facilities are outstanding. Plenty for the kids to do at the pool and beach. You can rent all the beach gear needed. All ocean facing units with kitchen fabilities, washer/dryer. Close to golf and great restaurants. Free shuttle between the sheraton resorts. Can visit any of the Sheraton properties and charge expenses to your room.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Ocean front rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank extinguished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

modern hotel with very nice rooms. Washer/dryer and supplies too, which were very handy. Moderately pricey restaurant which is no surprise. Great pools with waterslides. Beautiful grounds with BBQ's available. Hot dog carts, Friendly, helpful staff. Great beach and right in the middle of everything. WELL worth it! We'll gladly return.

Room Tip: we always seem to get the parking lot view, but most rooms here have a shot at the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLCardwell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
It is so great to hear that your experience with us was WELL worth it. We can’t thank you enough for your outstanding review and can’t wait to see you again soon. Mahalo for your review.
Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Beautiful grounds and friendly staff. BUT, we were hoping for a room with a view, to celebrate a 50th birthday, and since we booked 6 months ahead and are Elite Level owners, that seemed reasonable. I guess not. We were placed in a 2nd floor room with a 4' high stucco wall around the deck, so we can't see out of our room unless we stand at the edge of the deck. It feels like a cave. Room 2205/2207 a 2 br lock off is one of the worst locations. Don't believe them if they tell you it's a ocean view. The wall around the deck RUINS the unit. Dark and claustophobic.
We asked repeatedly for a better location but no luck. Very disappointing. Why did we upgrade to Elite Level ownership? Hmmm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty47Edmonds_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction and that we were unable to grant you an Elite upgrade. Please know that we are grateful for your loyalty to Starwood and wish to have the opportunity to personally discuss your recent stay with you. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we a member of our Westin team may reach out to you directly. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
7.6 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.0 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,627 - ₹ 52,495
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing