We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at this Westin for 5 nights in April 2012 for a girls trip. Hotel is 26 miles from the airport. A nice scenic drive. The king ocean villa was a upgraded room from the standard (no charge). The villa has a desk, couch, table and 2 chairs, king bed. There is almost a full kitchen - full size refrigerator, half stove, dishwasher, sink, microwave, washer/dryer, nice big bath room w separate oversize tub with jets. Everything was 100% clean and in great shape. Maid service in the villas is 1x during a 5 night stay otherwise you pay for additional maid service. Beautiful hotel and room. The heavenly bed is positively heavenly.

The staff was super friendly and accomodating the entire time. There are two bars, one by the pool and one by the ocean. Food is pretty good at both, but expensive ($20 burger, $10 salad and four drinks was $50 + tip. There is an italian restaurant on premises but I did not eat there. The drinks from both pools were watered down, or mostly juice so I switched to beer (about $6 for a bud light can).

We sat through a timeshare presentation and received $100 resort credit for any room charges. They said it was 60-90 minutes and it was actually 2 1/2 hours. It wasn't bad but is was very long and they were very persistent. Not pushy but persistent.

There is a grocery about a mile away. We stocked the fridge with snacks, drinks, etc to avoid overpaying at the resort. And the kitchen is perfect for this. There is an onsite market to pick up the items you forgot, get Starbucks coffee in the morning, pastries, etc.

The hotel is right on the beach. You can rent chairs ($10/day) and umbrella ($20/day) that they set up for you, until 4pm. You can bring alcohol or a cooler down to the beach. You can't take your drink from the hotel bar down to the beach.

We went to the luau at the sister Westin property which is a free shuttle ride away, or $18 parking fee if you drive over. It is walking distance but it's too dark to walk back at the end. The luau is $109/person + tax, tip and includes a show, dinner and drinks. Drinks were horrible. Dinner was good and show was great.

Went to the spa ($140 + required 20% tip) for a deep tissue massage. If you get any service at the spa you have access to the amenities all day. This turned out to be a great place to stop in and freshen up after walking in the heat.

There are plenty of great bars, restaurants, shops in walking distance. Bars have happy hour as early as 2pm and as late as 7pm. Almost everything is completely dead, empty by 9 or 10pm.

Great location with several reasonably priced restaurants and bars in walking distance.

Room Tip: At check in I asked to see a map of the property and asked the clerk to show me where all the availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Mahalo for providing such wonderful detailed review on your experience. Your girl’s trip certainly sounded like you all had an amazing time. Thank you for choosing us as you resort destination and we look forward to welcoming you back soon Maui soon.
Mahalo,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,079 - 3,083 of 4,382 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

I had read about Ka'anapali beach and it was certainly as expected. But, I didn't know so much about the hotel. It far exceeded my expectations. We stayed in a junior suite adjacent to our family in a one bedroom. The hotel felt like home with a kitchenette, washer/dryer, and grills throughout the property. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in on vacation. Definitely better than my bed at home. I slept like a baby all week.
If I have to say something negative, I'd say the drink and food prices are high. But, hey, its vacation and its Hawaii. We went to Safeway (about 2 miles away) and stocked up, so the prices didn't hurt us so much. Basically, my Hawaii vacation was the best ever. And the Westin was the cornerstone of that experience. Be sure to snorkel off the Westin beach area...I'd pay for that experience alone. We liked it so much, we just booked another trip...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

This is great to hear! We are delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. Keka’a Beach and the beautiful waterscape that it provides is truly amazing. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Mahalo,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Fantastic location and beautiful scenery. Lots of things to do on resort grounds, and you can easily walk up and down the path to restaurants etc. Ashley in the Discovery Center was fantastic--very fun, entertaining, and welcoming.

I'm sure some of the rooms are spectacular but we were placed in a parking lot view room. The room was nice and included a kitchen and washer/dryer, but the garbage disposal was broken, the thermostat did not function (or respond to changes in temperature at all--icy cold), and the phone was broken. The phone was repaired after we notified the front desk, but the front desk was notable for not answering the phone on several tries. Upon check-in, the "Heavenly Bed" decorative pillow had an unidentified brown stain on it--never a great way to start your stay.

Also, the concierge and front desk felt it necessary to inform us that our presence was "required"--two phone calls between 0545 and 0600---yes, on vacation!!! Then during the obligatory sales pitches, both the concierge and the vacation homes pitch were marred by multitasking by Westin employees. Do you really need to answer emails and say hello to everyone walking by when guests are sitting at your desk? The concierge asked us to focus on dinner reservations so that we would not get "confused"--we must have looked especially slow-witted that day, maybe related to the 0545 phone calls! The vacation homes pitch tried to tell us what a great deal she was offering by showing us comparative numbers from 2010 (noted clearly on the paper she was waving around).

Overall, the resort grounds are beautiful and there are some great things. However, the staff seem to focus too much on pushing sales to the point of lacking authenticity and hospitality. Avoid the sales push and just enjoy the geography.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Aloha and thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for providing you with a less than perfect stay. We are disappointed to hear about the deficiencies you experienced with your villa and the issues you had with our Concierge & Sales team. This is certainly not to our standard as we strive to provide our guests with positively memorable time. Our leaders are already following up on these occurrences and would like to contact you personally to get further details. I have sent you a private message requesting for your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Again, we apologize and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Sincerely,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We are residents of Maui and we decided to dine at the hotel restaurant with a family friend who was staying at the Westin for the night. We were overwhelmed with the hospitality and special treatment we received from the hostess to the waiters and their general manager. John was the waiter assigned to our table who did an exceptional job making sure we had the best service. The food was out of this world delicious! We left there feeling like kings and queens! Mahalo for giving us an experience we'll never forget!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for a week as a timeshare exchange and had a wonderful time. The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. Location is perfect - walking distance to the Whaler Village and a short drive to Lahaina.

Room: Very comfortable and a good size for 4 to 5 people. Having 8 in the room would be extremely crowded. It did feel a little smaller than the quoted square footage, but that is probably from the size of the lockoff. Having two kitchens and two washer/dryer units was a plus. We were given an "oceanfront" unit on the first floor, but it looked out onto the pool and had a building obscuring most of the view. You could get a peek of the ocean, but I would call it partial ocean view at best. It was nice to be able to walk from the patio directly to the pool. The only negative is that the carpet was dirty with several large spots on it.

Staff: Really great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Check in was efficient and the bell staff outstanding. We made the requisite stop at Costco and Safeway and they brought everything to our room. Concierge was very helpful and the pool staff were super. We received one message for our welcome gift, which we ignored since the timeshare presentation was sure to be pushed. It was quite refreshing to not have to deal with constant calls and pressure for timeshares.

Facilities: Resort was fairly busy but we never had any problems finding loungers by the pools. The nice size of the pools was really great and seemed to give a nice sense of variety. The onsite BBQ's were great and we used them often. They get quite busy in the evening, but we never experienced much of a wait and people were good about sharing. We did find a a couple burners that would not light. The beach is fantastic for both snorkeling and swimming. It never seemed to be very busy and you could always find a bit of shade (if you did not want to rent an umbrella). One other minor item is the parking for the north villas. The spaces are very small and lots of people took up two spaces. This was not to be selfish, but rather to be able to get in and out of your car.

Food: We did not eat at any of the restaurants but used the kitchen often, especially for breakfast. We did dine at Duke's (up one resort to the right at the next resort) which was a little pricey but good. Hard to pass up the view and convenience though. Our favorite was Aloha Mixed Plate behind Safeway which was, by far, one of the most reasonable places in the area. One other note on markets, the Times Market (left at the light toward Kapalua) was much closer and more convenient that Safeway.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will have much better views of the ocean, but may be harder to get unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slacker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for your detailed review and your recommendation to other travelers. We greatly appreciate it and are happy to hear that everyone here was friendly and helpful. We have taken all of your feedback into consideration and are thankful that you have shared your comments with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again and wish you a wonderful Summer.
Mahalo,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
39.3 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.1 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.7 km away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,219 reviews
1.4 km away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 27,935 - ₹ 54,645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing