We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aina Nalu G103” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Aina Nalu G103”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Although this is our third time staying at the Aina, I think we will try a different property on our next visit. This complex is ideally located, just three blocks from Front St. The grounds are well maintained and include two pools and a clubhouse. However, all of the units appear to be decorated the same, dark amd dingy. The furniture is uncomfortable and the kitchen and bathroom floors (including the showers) are covered in rough stone. Bring a pair of flip flops because the tile flooring is hard on the feet and the carpeting will soil your socks. There was an ant infestation in the smaller bathroom and bedroom but Maui Beachfront sent someone from pest control within hours of being notified.

Parking on the grounds costs $15 per day and you have to buy a permit for your entire stay, no daily permits allowed. Save money by either parking on the street in front of the complex or using one of the two lots on the corner of Wainee and Dickenson which charge $12 per 24 hours, including tax. We were able to park on the street 12 of 13 nights.

We rented this unit from Maui Beachfront Rentals and they continue to treat custmer service with a low priority. They overcharged us on the deposit and later forced through the remaining balance onto a credit card of ours that had been stolen and canceled even though we provided a different card number. They corrected the deposit error but not the charge to the stolen card.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzhugashvili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    435
    149
    66
    50
See reviews for
403
409
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Good impression is first established by arriving at the open concept registration pavilion in the evening, street is quiet and overall atmosphere of the town is quite relaxed. Lovely lighting around the row units and pools. Tropical plants abound. Full kitchen upon entry with Whirlpool branded stove, fridge, and microwave is adequate, though the mini dishwasher may suit for those who cooks less.

Rooms appear clean, but we found a colony of small ants under the soap dish, and later see their friends crave for our ripen Maui Gold pineapple. The third day I discovered the panel windows behind the bedroom and washroom blinds were open! No wonder the ants found their way in. So did the chatters of corridor passers-by. That and their nose-blowing were very audible, early in the morning like 6AM.

We reserved a 2-bedroom unit. I thought it'd be queen size but turned out they are double beds. One of the rooms is without A/C, the other had one that emits a dampened odor. So after closing the windows, we had to turn the living room A/C on and leave our doors open to sleep.

WiFi available only at pool-side and registration pavilion, so make sure if you need internet in-room, bring a laptop that accepts LAN line.

Walking 5-7 mins to reach downtown Lahaina, which comprises a nice tourist street. For food, the front desk recommended Kimo's. Don't go there, they are terrible. I'd rather have Shaka shaved ice or Lappert's ice-cream for dinner. Check out TripAdvisor or Urbanspoon to mitigate bad food risks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junkbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The one bedroom facing the large infinity pool most accommodating for the two of us.

Room Tip: The one bedroom facing the large infinity pool most accommodating for the two of us. Be ready to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny SoCal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights beginning of May, and our experience was good overall. There is no daily maid service, but room was clean and comfortable when we arrived. Laundry soap was delivered fairly promptly after I called to request more. The pool areas are nice, and the location is super close to shops and restaruants. There is a decent beach a few minutes away, but the best one is about a 5-10 minute drive away, by the westin hotel. We had a great time in Lahaina and elsewhere, and this condo is situated in the perfect spot. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed there for our first ever trip to Maui over Easter 2012. This was our first really big family vacation (other than Disneyland) with our 5 yr old daughter so our expectations were high. Here, in point form is what I thought of the hotel:

The Room:
Good - It was clean and despite leaving out a few things over night, we never got any of the sugar ants, which I think is pretty lucky. The kitchen & bathroom were extremely clean and felt quite updated. The carpet was worn but clean. Having laundry access means a) clothes can be kept clean and b) you don't need to pack near as much. It was something I didn't think we would use and I ended up loving it. It was also fairly spacious - even with the sofa bed pulled out, it didn't feel cramped.
Bad - the A/C units are so antiquated that it was impossible to sleep with them on, which would have been a HUGE issue if it had been any warmer. If we slept with them off, we heard every little noise, including the constant yelling at a crying child in the unit below us. I definitely did not have a good night sleep.

Pools:
Good - the pools are really nice. The little pool has a great atmosphere and we found our time down there very enjoyable. There is ample shade with all the foliage surrounding it and despite the quick drop off, our daughter really enjoyed swimming there. The big pool has a more even depth and was easier for her to navigate, being a new swimmer.
Bad - there are nowhere near enough pool loungers at the big pool. Where the heck are the bathrooms?? I find it a bit shocking that they don't have some sort of pool bathrooms given there are so many little kids around. Really, if you want to promote children getting OUT of the pool to pee, it's a good idea.

Location:
Good - walking distance from Front street. You could not ask for a better location in Lahaina. Every day, after we came back from our adventures and had spent time at the pool, we wandered around town. One day it was just my daughter and myself and I never felt unsafe.
Bad - nada. It really is the best location you could ask for.

Housekeeping:
Good - ?? I have nothing so say because we NEVER had our room made up, not once.
Bad - Oh, the list!! We called 2x on our 2nd & 3rd days to get more coffee and it NEVER materialized. I was prepared to have our room tidied up once or maybe twice but it was not touched even 1 time. That's a lot of sand to bring into the carpet, despite our best efforts to keep it out. In order to replenish items we had run out of, we either asked at the front desk or one day, we happened upon the housekeeping staff in their storage room. I am happy to do my laundry, including our bath towels but I need detergent for that to happen. I was REALLY disappointed with that aspect of the hotel. It also appeared it was up to everyone to empty their own garbage bins so consequently, the cans around the property were often over-flowing.

Other than that, check in & check out was easy. I like how they have the little island info kit for the kids and providing the cloth shopping bag was a nice touch given we had no idea most stores don't hand them out. Having ExpediaLocal on-site was also nice. There was no time share sales pitch - although there was an offer to get money off our tours if we went to one. We declined and that was the end of it, no pressure. All the staff we encountered were pleasant. Parking is a bit expensive, given the weekly rates for a lot across the street were less but slightly less convenient when packing all the beach gear down to the car. The only thing that bugged me was the lack of recycling but I understand that is an island-wide issue so I can't really hold them accountable for that.

Room Tip: The walls are a bit thin so it may be better to be on the upper floor so you don't hear people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
13.2 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 km away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
6.9 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.7 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,564 - ₹ 21,879
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing