We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved staying here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved staying here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here during march spring break with our children and had a great time. We had stayed a week at the aston kaanapali shores as well for a week and liked the Aina Nalu better despite it not being on a beach. The suite was really nicely decorated, super clean , and had everything we needed to cook, and do laundry etc. We stayed on the bottom floor and our living room door led to the large pool which was directly outside our door, only steps away. We never heard any noise beside or above us which was great. We could walk to the restaurants and stores so we hardly had to use the car we rented while we were there. We drove to the beaches we wanted to visit, but we did that when we stayed at the other hotel on the beach as well. We visited another well known hotel to use their beach and found it to be way more crowded than any of the beaches we had been at. I would love to come and stay at this great quite place in an awesome location again. Awesome time!

Room Tip: Get a bottom floor room if you want to get to the pool really easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonsieJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    435
    149
    66
    50
See reviews for
403
409
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I walked into the travel agent and asked for a miracle for a spring break Maui vacation. The only hotel need I had was to sleep 5 people and to have a kitchen. The choice given was the Aina Nalu. I had read lots of reviews and knew basically what to expect. Our unit was ready when we arrived at 6:30pm, it was clean, quiet and exactly what we needed. We travel most of the time no frills, so daily maid service was not necessary. We washed towels as we had other laundry too. Great to have in-suite laundry. We were upgraded to a 2 bathroom unit from 1 at no cost, which was great for 5 people. The units were peaceful and wonderfully tropical. The pool areas and the BBQ's were great. Fantastic walking distance to Lahaina, a hub of activity if desired. The complaints I have I already knew about. The parking. We tried street parking for 3 days and everyday was a stressful task for my husband after we had been out all day. We bite the bullet and paid for parking after that. The front desk ladies were also not as friendly as I thought resort people should be, but the maids we did see were great offering extras. The internet also was poor, but useable. It allowed us in the room to connect to keep in contact, but the lobby and pool areas we couldn't get to work. Overall I would go back to this resort and area of Maui. We spent the extra money saved on activities. That's what we were there for and the resort was our base. I would recommend this property for like minded travelers. Thrify fun seekers.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bed 2 bath unit on the middle back left, the Moa?? units. Keep away from the back and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed 5 days in March for our first time in Maui.This resort has 180 condo units, all privately owned but 130 of them are managed by the hotel chain Outrigger. We rented from Outrigger. The service was excellent.The resort is quiet and beautiful: 2 pools ,3 BBQs, pavillion area with TVs , chairs and tables. We had a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath unit. Very clean , full kitchen , living room , washer/dryer. 5 minutes walk to Front street, which is the main attraction with its Banyan tree. There's a beautiful little beach at about 15 minutes walk ( Baby beach) . The food store, Foodland, is also at a walking distance . We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinetteandMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Having read both the positive and negative reviews I was sceptical, especially for the price - I shouldn't have been. We arrived at midnight after a long trip from London. The reception was closed but a security guard was on hand to give us our room key. A great aloha service from the night security guard and our room (a 1 bedroom 2nd floor condo) was like home from home. Clean, spacious and great attention to detail - beating many a stay in the likes of Sheraton and Marriott hotel rooms. Previous comments about the rooms looking "tired" didn't apply to our room. There were basic kitchen supplies, laundry supplies and soap, shampoo, moisturizer etc. Room towels and pool towels included. Although the maid service is by request, this didn't bother us in the slightest but I could see it as a problem for parents with kids. Upon official checkin the following morning the front desk staff were very happy to help and offer advice about the area. They also reinforced that if we needed anything, just to call them. Staff on the complex were always helpful. Both pools were clean but sunbeds become a little of a premium from lunchtime onwards. BBQ facilities are a great idea and well utilized at lunchtimes. Location is great, just 2 blocks from all of the shops, restaurants and harbour. There is a beach about 10 minutes walk away. On a negative side, no in room wifi, just free wired internet. More public areas could do with free wifi coverage. The charge for overnight parking is a rip-off. Overall, great stay and recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajlowe444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just returned from a visit to Maui and stayed at the Aina Nalu. We would normally stay in a more resort-like property closer to the beach but thought we'd stay in Lahaina for a change of pace. We booked a 1 bedroom and somehow scored a 2 bedroom unit! We paid $189 per night plus tax, which I thought was a steal. Especially considering we had just spent $195 for a hotle room in San Francisco. From the outside the resort looks like a 2 level motel but the inside was very nicely done!! We loved the slate shower/bathroom and the furnishings throughout were nice. We didn't really make use of the full kitchen or the living room or the 3 TV's. But the ground level unit (I-101) was great. We were able to park right outside our place. The pool was about a one minute walk across a parking lot. It was probably one of the coolest hotel pools I've ever been to. Grass right up to the edge, black bottom - just sleek. It was not heated so I didn't venture in much (I'm a big baby). The hot tub/spa was nice too. I never had an issue, but there weren't a ton of chairs around the pool. There was a very nice area for grilling and eating (that I didn't use) but if you're into that sort of thing, it looked like a fun area. There's no wi-fi in the units, but you can get in the lobby (smallest lobby ever, but it was perfect!) or at the pool area. There is a second pool that I never visited.

We were able to walk to various restaurants quite easily. Our kids are 3 and 5 and they only complained a little about the walk. :) The only complaint would be no beach (that I know of) within walking distance. We had a car so it didn't matter.

The only reason I didn't rate this a 5 is that I RARELY give that out. Only for exceptional room, service,etc. This place was just a shade below a 5. Give it a 4 1/2!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sithdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
13.2 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 km away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
6.9 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.7 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,629 - ₹ 22,075
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing