We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good times”
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good times”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The best part about this is watching the turtles swim from your balcony.. The Maui Brewing company is in walking distance with a great happy hour and Dollies has the best Pizza I have seen in a very long time! It's a great town to stay in.

Room Tip: be sure to get a room over looking the ocean if you don't you will be looking at another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Aloha Zael Z:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We're happy to read that you enjoyed both the wildlife and the nightlife that are nearby!

Thank you for staying with us; we hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    400
    170
    85
    54
See reviews for
277
491
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for two weeks in Maui at the Outriggger Royal Kahana and found the facilities bright, clean, and more than satisfactory. The location is right on the beach, close to a large variety of services, and very easy to find. Our trip advisor, Kay Ryan went above and beyond with her excellent personalized service and great dining recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Aloha Norma E:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review.

We appreciate you kind words and are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit. We work with Kay quite a bit and we appreciate her Aloha and knowledge of Maui.

We hope we see you again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is our 5th year staying here and we decided to try a 1 bedroom ocean front. Wow! What a view. They gave us the 12th floor. We open the vents and windows and have the breezes (sometimes gale force) push through the windows. Pool, beach, staff are all wonderful and accommodating. The kitchen is nicely stocked and we do lots of cooking. I just wish the grills would crank up higher then 350 degrees! I want to grill not bake my food. We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: The floors have the same numbering. We love 1107 as an Ocean View 1 bedroom - but any floor with 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Aloha IPM:

Thank you for returning to stay with us again!

The "7 stack" units really do have a great view of the ocean and of Molokai and the tradewinds are definitely Hawaii's air conditioning -

We're pleased that you enjoy the beach and the pool and we are especially happy that you like the kitchen and it's amenities and that you found our staff to be so helpful. I've shared your comment about the grills with the appropriate person.

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We hope to see you soon for your sixth visit with us!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reno, nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Arrived and got upgraded to a partial oceanview room, 719. Dated island furniture, dated carpet, extremely comfortable bed and overall clean, great circulation so you could sleep to the sounds of the waves without overheating. Helpful staff, snorkeling beach with 3 adorable large turtles who frequently swim nearby. Good location with probably 6 restaurants within walking distance. Quiet, away from the hustle & bustle of Kaanapali. We've stayed at 5 stars on the island and took a risk on this place. For us the aloha spirit was present here. Mahalo.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Aloha yga:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. It was our pleasure to upgrade you to an ocean view room!

We are so pleased that you liked the more residential feeling of Kahana and we are happt that you felt the Aloha here. Thank you for your kind words about our staff.

Thank you for spending your Maui vacation with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We (2ad,2teens) had a one bedroom appartment partial ocean view -1205 if I remember well. Everything was perfect. We saw turtles and one seal from our balcony.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Aloha xaak:

Thank you for staying with us. We're happy to read that you were able to see some of the local ocean creatures from your balcony!

We hope to see you all again on your next trip to Maui.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
2.7 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,510 reviews
2.7 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
4.7 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,003 reviews
6.0 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,235 - ₹ 55,215
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Kahana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing