We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Cuisine”
Review of Pulehu

Pulehu
Reserve with OpenTable
Pulehu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 264 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Pulehu, an Italian Grill, presents traditional Italian cuisine with a local sustainable twist. Overlooking the koi pond gardens of The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas, the resort's talented team of chefs partner with local farmers and growers to offer only the freshest ingredients that Maui has to offer. This 6-year Maui No Ka 'Oi 'Aipono Award winning restaurant is also known for its vibrant and thoughtful wine list. Complimentary valet parking available.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I had just arrived in Maui and looked for a nearby restaurant to eat dinner. We chose Pulehu Italian Grill. The restaurant was open to the hotel courtyard - very nice atmosphere. We had a salad and calamari appetizer. The salad was very good and the calamari was pretty good. Our entrees was excellent: Braised short ribs and lasagna. Our dessert was a warm fudge chocolate cake. All in all, very enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alaska23_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    159
    63
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrific Dining Experience”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I'd say this is the best restaurant along Kaanapali Beach. The food was delicious, service fantastic and a beautiful setting.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriaanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice find in Westin vacation villa resort”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The best thing about Pulehu was the ambiance. Low level mood lighting, combined with open kitchen cooking set the stage for a nice meal. Though listed as Italian, I would think it to be a little more broad in their offerings. There were a few pizza suggestions and of course the build-your-own option, but I would not consider their pizza to be their best item. They had a variety of appetizers. We enjoyed the calamari. There were pasta dishes, seafood dishes, steaks, etc and grill specials. The prices were reasonable for the area and it was an easy drive from the Hyatt.

They even gave the kids pellets to feed the koi in the adjacent pond after dinner.

Directions: Drive down to Westin Vacation Villas at far north end of Ka'anapali Parkway. Park in the visitors level 2 parking garage and enter the building on the south side of the garage through an unmarked door.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank txjsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, fabulous ambience”
Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaurant while staying at the Westin Villas. The early fixed price menu makes this a really good deal. we got a wonderful table beside the koi ponds which made for an amazing setting. Our two children (4 and 6 ). Who both had spaghetti and meatballs. One with marinara sauce and one with Alfredo sauce. Both sauces were delicious. Bruschetta appetizer was really good and my husbands mahi mahi dish was one of the very best we've ever had however, mY chicken breast was a little on the dry side. Deserts we tried were the chocolate cake and tiramisu. both were absolutely delicious. Tiramisu while not entirely authentic was very delicious. We will definately go back one more time before we leave to go back home.

Helpful?
Thank SusanM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
“Wonderful Experience, Wonderful Food!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and friends dined here this month.. For me, it was the first time. I ordered a special on the menu, veal chop. Whenever a restaurant offers a veal chop, I order it. I have tried probably 15 veal chops at the best restaurants around the US and Europe. The best I ever enjoyed was in Spain and nothing has ever come close until we ate at Pulehu. Their veal chop was thick, tender, and I am still craving the taste. This meal rivaled the earlier experience in Spain.
Great atmosphere. Excellent table service. Top quality menu - we would come here for any special occasion.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pulehu also viewed

 

Been to Pulehu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing