We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lahaina's Last Resort - Your first choice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa monica, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lahaina's Last Resort - Your first choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

You're not getting for what you pay for, you get somethin way better. This was my first time staying in a hostel and I had no high expectations to be met, so in fact what I got was a pleasant surprise. The rooms are clean and bathrooms are too, there's a fridge, microwave and telephone in the room - which, if you think about it all come in handy if you're travelling on a budget and want to save & nuke your leftovers from eating out, or heatin up something from the frozen aisle at the grocery store, and most hotels won't provide you with such options. The rooms are all fully equipped with air-conditioning and perfectly comfortable. Didn't get bothered by any bugs so don't know what that guy is on about, sounds like bit of a d-bag, also nobody ever said this was a youth hostel, genius.The location is perfect, super close to everything you need to be by, restaurants, stores and the wharf cinema (if you're getting around by bus). The staff is wonderful, super friendly and very knowledgeable, and will definitely answer your questions. Only thing I feel I should mention is if you're gonna choose the cheapest option like I did, which is to stay in the co-ed dorm (3 bunk beds), you should definitely be a people person. I was travelling alone and the first night there there were 4 other guys in sets of 2. Met one early in the morning and he said he and his buddy were takin off, nice fella. The other 2 were kids and were from Brazil, nice guys and left later on that day too. Another guy came later on that day and was plenty friendly, but just a little too much. I get along with most people but if you don't really like someone you're sharing a room with it can be kind of tedious. If you're not willing to risk having to put up with different kinds of people, you should probably fork out a little more for a more private room.
Everything on Maui is expensive and gonna cost you, save yourself some money to spend on other things you might wanna do, like take some surf lessons, go on a helicopter ride or a fishing trip and just stay here! You can sleep when you're not in paradise!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    47
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
16
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was a good place for my stay on Maui. It was within walking distance to Front Street, which is a popular place for souvenir shopping, eating, and activity information. I stayed in the ladies room at the hostel which made my party of two feel more comfortable. It was my first time staying in a hostel so i was a little uneasy about it, but i found it perfectly fine. It was a good place to come and rest and shower-which is all i needed during my stay. The staff helped us pick out a place to eat there, giving us all the ins and outs of Front Street. The only things that could have made our experience better was a micro in the room and faster service on refunding an extra charge that was made. Also if you are terribly allergic to cats, there might be one or two hanging around, even up to the room doorstep! :) Besides that, this was a very good stay and I would book it again.

Room Tip: Ask for waihine room if you are a girl :) Its located off to the side of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I spent 3 nights there. The location is great, close to front street where there's a lot of restaurants.
The staff helped me book tours and give me great advices about the area.
The only "negative"point is the lack of some kitchen appliances.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chica_chups04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LahainasLastResort, Manager at Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about LLR! The #1 thing I hear is not enough, plates, bowls and the like. We went out and got a brand new grill, toaster oven, and microwave in the common area. A sink is coming soon!

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed for three nights in January 2011. Okay, the place needs some TLC. Actually, parts of it need quite a bit of work. But it's not like Sherry and Gary aren't aware of that. Plus, it's a hostel, if dorms and shared bathrooms aren't your cup o'tea, don't book it. I had booked a single and all I had to do was unplug the mini fridge, because the small window ac-unit was fighting a loosing battle against the heat that the fridge put out. Other than that my stay was great. If you're looking for daytime activities, go to the front desk and they'll put every effort into booking it for you, even on short notice. I went on a really nice whale watching cruise and I had my very first surf lesson thanks to the outstanding helpfulness of the owners.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biosfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My name is michael , i lived and worked at the last resort for almost the last year and have since moved to another side of the island ,Still involved in the tourism industry .
I wanted to say , that it was an incredible experience working for the the family , Sherry and Tianna they take pain staking care to make sure that people that visit Maui Lahaina i n particular have a great time . ...The owner Sherry dedicates herself literally 24 hours a day to making sure the property is in its best possible condition and the guests are happy and well informed about all the island has to offer .
I enjoyed meeting all of the international travelers from every walk of life ....... if you want to hang with other travelers (as opposed to tourist ) check out lahainas last resort

Room Tip: the dorm is an experiance not to be missed ,, if you are going to drop your bags and explore it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelseanmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 km away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 km away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#22 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.9 km away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#30 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Puunoa Beach Estates
Puunoa Beach Estates
#20 of 42 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 km away
Old Lahaina House
Old Lahaina House
#8 of 11 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.2 km away
The Ilikahi
The Ilikahi
#5 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel

Property: Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel
Address: 252 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1505
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lahaina's Last resort hostel is a truly backpackers Hostel and prove that there is no reason to settle for staying anywhere but in the heart of Old Lahaina Town. Its quaint seafront, numerous art galleries, legendary restaurants, and good nightlife have been calling to visitors for years. Foodland grocery store is a three minute walk towards town. 2.5 miles from the celebrated Ka'anapali Beach and walking distance from the beautiful Baby Beach in Lahaina! We believe that when traveling, the five most important elements of that "Once in a lifetime" experience include: great location, comfort, safety, good value for money, and great people - and this is what we are proud to bring to you at Once. We want you to feel at home here at The Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel That's why we included all of the following for your comfort WE OFFER: Free Different Tours/activities of Maui: MONDAY: Kanaha beach Park TUESDAY: Snorkel (Kapalua Bay and Napili Bay) WEDNESDAY: Hike Bamboo Forest THURSDAY: Snorkel (Ka'anapali Beach and Honolua Bay) FRIDAY: BBQ Night SATURDAY: Northwestern Coast (Blow Hole, Olivine Pools and a short hike 'Lower Makamaka'ole Falls') SUNDAY: Fun day at Little Beach and Big Beach AMENITIES: -Free Breakfast -Free Wi-Fi -Free parking -Fire-Proof Security Safe at Front Desk. -Free Luggage Storage -Free use of boogie boards -Free use of Snorkel equipment -Free use of Surfboard -Board Games -Free City Maps -BBQ charcoal grill -Coin-up Laundry -Linens provided -Air conditioner and mini fridge in all the rooms -Free use of Foosball -Free use of Tennis racquets and balls (Public tennis courts are available in Lahaina) Staff at the resort can help plan visits and reserve excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina`s Last Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing