We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip Woody.”
Review of Captain Woody's

Captain Woody's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aloha!! Come see the beauty of Maui from the water with Captain Woody's, the Original Private Charter boat in Maui!! Captain Woody has been in business in Maui for over 20+ years and would love for you to join him on what will be the highlight of your vacation!!! Captain Woody offers private charters for up to 6 passengers, so beat the crowds and make it a special day for your group!! On your private charter Captain Woody caters to your every need and lets you decide what you would like to do for the day, whether it be snorkeling with hundreds of tropical fish, ancient green sea turtles, eels, and other sea creatures, fishing, looking for dolphins, whale watching, or just enjoying the natural beauty of Maui from the water.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great trip Woody.”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have been going on snorkeling/fishing trips with Woody now for a while. I think this was our 7th or 8th time going out with Woody, and it was another great trip. We wouldn't keep going back year after year if he wasn't the best and most accommodating charter boat on Maui. We have been on at least 10 other boats in the past 25 years. We have and will continue to only go back to Woody for our snorkeling and fishing trips. Thanks for another awesome trip Woody,
Ben

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    5
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snorkeling with Captain Woody”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Everything about the snorkel trip with Captain Woody was excellent. The crew, the boat, the food, and the snorkeling were first rate. We swam with turtles and a reef shark (the dolphins weren't around). Limiting the number of people to 6 really makes for an enjoyable experience. We will definitely book with Captain Woody again next time on Maui.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip with captain woody!”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We booked our trip trough internet, it was simple and captain woody answered quickly and gave us clear instructions, even for us who don't speak english very good.

We got on a shared boat trip with 2 other people..I mean wow! we were only 4 guests on the boat wich made us feel like we had rented our private boat. The boat ride was great but not very long since the snorkel spots were not quite far. I sometimes get sea sick but with this kind of boat, the ride was much more easier and it felt good to enjoy the boat ride as much as the snorkeling. Fist snokeling spot was great !!! Cleaaaaaar water. Excellent corals and lots of fish. We saw turtles too and got all the time we needed at this site. Chris, a member of the crew, guided us during our snorkel tour and took awesome pictures for us. We then had lunch and headed for the second snorkel spot. The second one was near the boat ramp, with a different environnement we enjoyed, even though it was not as beautiful as the first spot. We definitely recommend booking a tour with Captain Woody, who was more than welcoming on his boat. You'll get personalized attention, great snorkeling plus sharing the day with an awesome crew. Thank you Captain Woody and Chris!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mcfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I can't say enough good things about Captain Woody”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I am so glad I booked our snorkel tour with Captain Woody. He's a little hard to find compared to the other more heavily advertised snorkeling tours, but I am so glad I discovered him via the other reviews here. Since he limits his tours to six people, the personalized attention is first-rate. The morning my family of four went, we had Captain Woody all to ourselves. Also, we did the tour the morning after our arrival in Maui, which got our vacation off on a very good note. This is a must for first-timers to Maui, as my kids were. Woody and Keri made sure we were comfortable, well-fed and learned a tremendous amount about Maui and its marine life. They were in the water with us the entire time after we got to the snorkeling spot. Woody took extra good care of my wife who was not as comfortable in the water and stayed with her much of the time. Woody and Keri identified sea life and snapped pictures of us while we were snorkeling and just generally made the who adventure more fun. Also, we harvested Woody's knowledge of Maui restaurants to get many good recommendations for places we otherwise might never have found, and he was right on the money.

Next time we go back to Maui, Captain Woody's snorkel tour will be at the top of the list of things to do again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedaVacation002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best parts of the trip”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I spent a lot of time on Yelp and Tripadvisor researching snorkel charter reviews, and went with Captain Woody. Boy, was that a good decision. Captain Woody and his crew, Terryn and Chris, were friendly, knowledgeable about seemingly everything to do with Hawaii, and dedicated to ensuring my family had a great time.

I appreciated the fact that Woody keeps the passenger count to a maximum of 6--it makes for a much more personalized and intimate experience. We passed by many larger boats crowded with tourists huddled together in their own groups and not interacting with anybody next to them. The boat crews seemed to just dump those snorkelers and leave them to their own devices. Captain Woody and his crew, on the other hand, snorkeled with us, even offering to take pictures of and for us. They also knew where to swim to find Sea Turtles and dolphins, and we got to swim right next to both! (According to Woody it's pretty unusual to be able to swim next to the dolphins, so don't go expecting it).

On top of providing an AMAZING snorkeling experience, Woody and his crew were a blast to hang out with. It truly felt like we were a group of buddies hanging out on a sick boat in Maui, rather than a family being toted around by a crew just looking forward to the pay check. Also, it must be said that the food was delicious. Great variety of sandwich fixings, salads, and fresh fruit. Yum!

I recommend going with Woody toward the beginning of your stay on Maui, as his and his crew's knowledge about the island is really helpful in planning other activities.

Snorkeling with Captain Woody and his crew was one of the high points of my family's trip to Maui. It's well worth the money. Mahalo Woody, Terryn and Chris!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NoraMac0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Woody's also viewed

 

Been to Captain Woody's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing