We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
$991
View deal
Orbitz.com$1,013
Official Site$1,030
Agoda.com$1,261
Trip.com$1,060
Lol.travel$1,013
StayForLong
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,954)
Filter reviews
3,954 results
Traveller rating
2,443
962
331
131
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,443
962
331
131
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews konea tower duke's restaurant aina market bosch appliances full kitchen through vrbo every other day ocean view washer and dryer quiet pool grocery store times market high end appliances underground parking pools and hot tubs living room huge lanai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3,954 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2022 via mobile

Unfortunately the Honua Kai is no longer any where near the resort it used to be. Carpets in common areas need replacing, the rooms are in need of refurbishment and there are numerous small issues that need addressing (examples: lamps with faulty light switches, properly stocked kitchens and housekeeping quality control). When one considers the rates that this resort charges, be it directly or through 3rd party vacation rentals, you can get much better quality at other condo style resorts on this part of Maui. Oh, and one more thing, pretty much half of the underground parking is unavailable at the Hokulani Tower due to numerous structural jack screws holding up the center portion of tower, this kind of tells you about the attention to detail from the beginning. (I would hate to be an owner of one of these units as they’ve just thrown money into a pit. Make your own conclusions from that as you wish.)

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank BordFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 November 2022

It’s our first morning here and we are sitting on the deck looking at the ocean but to the sound of a jack hammer next door. We weren’t informed of the construction when booking. Big disappointment to the start of our 25th anniversary vacation.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andiefromac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 November 2022

Buyer beware! Hawaii is expensive. It's a given. Costco travel packages to Hawaii will entice you to save money by purchasing their flight/car/hotel packages. Runnnnn! I purchased a Maui package - Hawaiian Air, Alamo car, Honua Kai Resort & Spa. Pros: it's Hawaii! We were given a condo (so we could make breakfast and lunch). washer/dryer in the rooms. Dukes Restaurant (yum). Fruity drinks by the pools ($14-25). Lovely spa. Little market/deli onsite (sandwiches $15-20) and well-stocked gift shop. Bellmen - super helpful. What could go wrong? Cons: Flight was ok, except we got the worst seats on the plane (row 15). No windows, no leg room=claustrophobia for 5.5 hours. I had made the reservations 6 months in advance and asked to have adjoining rooms with my daughter, son in law and 5 year old granddaughter. They put us on different floors (making it hard to coordinate logistics and passing a 5 year old back and forth), then they changed my room the next night (same floor, down the hall). The rooms were beyond disappointing as they were nothing like the photos. These were evidently time share condos that had seen a LOT of wear and tear. Carpets were old and filthy inside and in the halls. Furniture dirty and threadbare. Comforters had small blood (?) spots on them that seemed to increase during our stay. Dishwasher smelled like something had died in it. Cockroaches in the bathroom and under the sink. The "ocean view" room - that we paid extra for - gave us a little glimpse of the ocean if we stood just so on the deck. No housekeeping services for 8 days. We were assigned the same crappy seats for the trip home, and when we tried to change them Hawaiian air said they could not help us because we had “used a third party travel company”. Calling Costco Travel to sort it out was a 2 hour hold. The day before our flight, when we could check in, we were assigned seats all over the plane - including putting our 5 year old in a seat 2 rows away from her mom. Fortunately, once we got to the airport the Hawaiian Air guest services person moved us to two rows so kiddo could be next to a parent. Unfortunately, the cons (and stress) overshadowed the pros and we won't be using Costco Travel again.

Room tip: Don’t book through Costco Travel
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 November 2022 via mobile

I kinda want to give a 4if not less for pool side service but I know how hard staffing is my only complaint is by the pool it’s like so hard to get service we were told Bradley was in charge of our side and Every time Bradley walked by he ignored you even if you waved at him so I had go get our own drinks which is fine I just thought it was super rude to ignore us at least
tell us you will be right back oh and the girl that was helping him deliver his drinks wouldn’t even let him know we wanted to order so he just he misses out on tips and we never ordered food because of it! Kudos to the bartenders! They go above and beyond I believe they have to pick up the slack for laziness!More

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dream565460
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 November 2022

We reserved Konea Tower room 214 through Maui Resort Rentals for the entire month of October 2022. This was a beautiful 1 bedroom unit in a great location. The large lanai has a view of the mountains. The room was far enough away from the resort pools to avoid any noise coming from them while being literally a 2 minute walk to Kanapali Beach. There is a beautiful waterfall fountain just outside the unit and the sounds are very relaxing.

This unit has a full sized kitchen and is fully equipped. The room has a very comfortable King size bed and a Queen size pull out sofa. There is a flat screen TV in the living room as well as in the bedroom. Most days we cooked our own food on the induction stove top and using the convection oven. There is also a stackable washer and dryer, iron and ironing board in the unit.

Whenever we needed anything, Maui Resort Rentals was able to supply it for us within the hour (garbage liners, dishwasher detergent, Dawn dish detergent and scrubber sponges, paper towels, Kleenex tissues, shampoo, conditioner, body wash and hand washing soap).

During our month-long stay we learned a lot by talking with other renters. 1. Units at Honua Kai are managed by different Resort Rental Companies (OutRigger, Maui Resort Rentals and others).
2. This unit is managed by Maui Resort Rentals. This is important because MRR brings the supplies directly to the room while the others make you pick up your supplies from the front desk.
3. MRR also provides use of the towel machines located all around the Resort. The towel machines provide towels for use at the beach and pools so you don't need to bring any towels from the room. OutRigger makes you bring towels from the room or you can pick them up from the front desk.
4. Every Wed there is an art walk at the resort where you can purchase gifts.
5. BBQ grills do not need to be reserved, use when you want to grill something, cleaning when you are done.

We would recommend unit Honua Kai Konea tower room 214 to anyone interested in having a wonderful time in Maui.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank khcrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews