We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vacation!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Ione, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome vacation!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This was a wonderful vacation because the service and room were superb. My husband, adult daughter and I stayed here for the first time and enjoyed every minute. Our room ( 2 bedroom suite) was gorgeous, spacious, and spotless. The maid service did an exceptional job every day, and we were greeted with a very warm welcome by everyone throughout our stay. Dukes restaurant was an added treat. The grounds were perfectly manicured. We will be back to Maui and will only stay here we are looking forward to our return. We stayed here in September, less young children.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,944
    769
    221
    68
    40
See reviews for
1,647
965
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at Konea for 7 nights during September 2012 and had a terrific experience. We had a one bedroom apartment which was beautiful, spacious and well maintained. Many properties aim to be 'big on service', but in this case it was absolutely true. Justin and John Brunold from KBM Hawaii were exceptional with the management, ensuring we were well looked after, comfortable and had a brilliant time. Gerry from Duke's also needs to be mentioned as poolside cocktail experience would not be the same with out his delicious suggestions and cheeky sense of humour! Beautifully located with views of the mountains, we found the resort was too comfortable to leave to explore the rest of the island! I cannot wait to return and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 177Eddy___
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I got married in Oahu and then decided to follow that up with a trip to Maui.

After reading many reviews, both good and bad, we decided to give Honua Kai a try, and we are very happy with our choice.

To make this an easier review to read, I will break it into pros and cons:

PROS

- This resort has EASILY the best looking property on the island. During our stay we visited numerous other hotels and resorts, and they paled in comparison to the wonderful landscaping, room design, and architecture at Honua Kai.
- Multiple pools plus direct beach access to beautiful Ka'anapali Beach provide many diverse ways to enjoy the water while on hotel property. They have a main central pool that was perfect for lounging around with amazing tilework, underwater ledges for sitting, and plenty of available lounge chairs and umbrellas. For families, there is another pool with a waterslide and play area for the children. In addition to all this, they have 4 or 5 different hot tub areas which are set back and walled off to provide a little more privacy for couples and groups.
- The rooms are gorgeous and well accomodated. These are condo style rooms so you will be given a full kitchen with state of the art Bosch appliances, a large spacious shower plus full size bathtub, and every room has a lanai or balcony. Some rooms came equipped with an outdoor kitchen/grill as well (there was a very nice public BBQ grill area as well). The rooms are fully stocked with silverware, cookware, serveware, glassware.....everything you can possibly need.
- There is a market on site called Aina Market which is owned by renowned local chef James McDonald (he also owns Pacific'O in Lahaina). His company has an entire farm upcountry in Maui so all produce is grown fresh on the island, and you can definitely taste the difference. Its a perfect place to pick up a few extras without having to run to the Safeway down the street.

CONS
- I am being very picky here but I was not impressed by the valet service. For our wedding, we had stayed at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach in Oahu and their valet service was exceptional so maybe I was a bit spoiled. I just didnt see the urgency to get my car quickly and provide helpful tips. The valet service is included in the daily resort fee ($25)
- The amenities offered pool side are ridiculously overpriced. For example, they charge $8 for an hourly snorkel rental. You can go to Boss Frog locations and get $8 daily rentals. They are also constantly trying to sell you on their own brand of sun lotion which gets annoying.
- The front desk wasn't helpful with local information. My wife and I had a reservation we had to get to at a certain time, and we had heard there was a Maui marathon being run that day. We called the front desk and asked if that would slow traffic near the hotel, and they informed us rather rudely that it was in Wailea and of course it wouldnt have an effect. Lo and behold, our 10 min drive turned into 40 min because they closed down all driving lanes but one near our hotel for the runners.

I would 100% recommend this hotel to ANYONE staying on Maui - families, couples, friends, whoever.

Some helpful Maui tips:
- The best snorkeling we found was at Honolua Bay which is about 10 min from Honua Kai. The water is murky and rocky when you first jump in but as you venture out you get to see a great variety of fish and sea creatures in very clear water. We saw a huge barracuda swimming around!
- Mala on Front St. is a really really nice 'hidden gem' of a restaurant in Lahaina. Its on the beach, a really unique and cool menu, plus a great serving staff. They also serve a really delicious Japanese beer called Hitachino Nest.
- Local Boyz serves the best shave ice in Lahaina....get the kuaia cream and azuki beans for something really unique!
- If you want to go on a helicopter tour (and I suggest it), go with Blue Hawaiian and take the trip out to Molokai. Huge waterfalls, amazing sea cliffs, and a very very professional staff. We couldnt have felt more safe!

- The best beach for families in the general vicinity of Honua Kai is Napili Bay. The parking is limited but the beach is nice, the water is light blue, and the view is to die for.

Room Tip: Just another tip, they only have housekeepers do a thorough clean of your condo every three days. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maverick8x8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I gotta say, this is one of the BEST hotels that I've stayed. Especially at a reasonable price. Love the customer service they provide. If you wanna experience what the "aloha spirit" feels like, this is the place to go. #1 hotel in my eyes. In order to experience the GREAT & FRIENDLY customer service that I have, YOU NEED TO BOOK YOUR RESERVATIONS NOW :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiareotsuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is an amazing properly. My wife and I were just here for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved this resort. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them in the morning at the little cafe that is in the lobby area. You are minutes drive from amazing snorkeling or there is even some right near the beach of the resort as well.

The kitchens in the room are great and fully stocked with all the cooking equipment and utensils you would need. There is even a washing machine in your room which does come in very handy. You also get Wifi and underground parking while you are there.

Only 2 words of advice when booking with this Hotel

The Spa portion of the hotel is still under construction and therefor no services available onsite. They do they have a deal with the hotel next door to get a discount of their spa services while theirs is under construction.

If you want privacy don't request a room on the second floor center as the balcony is a huge shared area between 5 rooms. We took this avice from another persons review and requested a room on the 3rd floor or above which they provided for us.

We will most definitely be returning to this resort. :)

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the second floor center as its not a private balcony. Other than that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryFun_and_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
6.8 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.8 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,373 - ₹ 49,365
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing