We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do NOT miss out on the snorkeling right off the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss out on the snorkeling right off the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a very nice resort with a beautiful, comfortable lobby (lots of seating) and a big pool area. We had a studio ocean-view room and it was beautiful, large and very comfortable. There was a full kitchen with island and a huge bathroom. The balcony directly faced the courtyard and the ocean and was a very nice size. It was pure luxury waking up and seeing the ocean every morning from our bed. We also had a washer & dryer in our unit which was very convenient.

The hotel is right on the beach. the beach isn't the best for swimming but that is only because of the coral which means that it is great for snorkeling. We saw so many different kinds of fish and no need pay for a tour (although we did to get to Molokini and it was worth it!).

The Duke's restaurant that is right on the property is delicious and very worth a visit.

The market in the lobby is SUPER expensive. It was easy enough to walk (or drive) to the grocery store across the street from the hotel to stock up on essentials.

The hotel is literally 5 minutes from Kanapali airport and there is a parking garage underneath teh hotel.

Room Tip: The ocean view was really worth teh added expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibli0phile25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    777
    222
    71
    41
See reviews for
1,674
969
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My family and I stayed at the Honua Kai Resort and Spa in October 2011 for my wedding. The resort is in a prime location on Kaanapali Highway. The room came fully equipped with a refrigerator, washer/dryer, dishwasher, plates and glasses, and a brand new flat-screen plasma TV in the living room and each of the bedrooms. We rented unit #209 (Honua Kai Hokulani unit# 209) - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, full top-of-the-line kitchen and an amazing wrap around balcony. Unit #209 is the only unit with this wonderful floorplan. Large table and chairs on balcony too. A wonderful spot to have your morning coffee. The amenities are nice and the surround area is quiet. Dukes Restaurant is conveniently located right on the property - great atmosphere and quality of food is great for the price. We'll be staying at Honua Kai for our next trip to Maui!!!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend unit #209 - two bedrooms and two bath, nice balcony and view of pool and beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleGirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My family of 4 are on our 4th night stay here. We couldn't be happier! The grounds are extremely clean and well maintained. We rented a 1bedroom suite. There is more than enough room for us four! The extended lanai gives added space. The kitchen and laundry were very handy and enabled us to pack lighter and save $ on meals. The pools were never overcrowded and there was always plenty of room and chairs. The hotel market has great panini's and gelato. Duke's was just "ok" and a bit overpriced. Honua is close to everything you need; grocery, whaler's village, etc... I highly recommend this resort. We rented room 338 which had a beautiful ocean view from the lanai. A great place to have coffee in the morning. Any meals w e had in the room were eaten in the lanai:)

Room Tip: We are staying in the newer tower, Hokulani Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Bar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We traveled with our daughter and her husband and our 2 granddaughters, aged 17 and 19. We had 3 spacious bedrooms, two with ensuite baths (girls lost!) and the best kitchen I have ever experienced. The grounds were breathtaking and the kids went snorkeling just off the hotel grounds and haven't stopped talking about it yet! We were upgraded to an ocean front unit - lookingout over Duke's restaurant - so we had our own grill on the lanai and used it freely. My only complaint is that there weren't enough cooking pots and pans to my taste. We ate in for most of our meals and I was juggling to get breakfast done with just one 10 in stainless steel frying pan! We are already planning our next trip to Maui and it will definitely be at the Honua Kai!

Room Tip: VRBO (Vacation Rentals By Owner)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaSeniorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I hate giving highly rated places a low rating, but despite trying to look past the faults, I can't give this hotel more than a 2 or 3. First of all, our small family of 3 quickly discovered that we were more suited to staying at a hotel (this was our first time staying at a condominium hotel). For those large families or people staying for an extended period of time, I can see how the full kitchen and insuite laundry can come in very handy. We were only staying for less than a week so the benefits weren't fully appreciated. However, the Honua Kai still disappointed.

The day of check-in we were greeted by the valet who are overall quite friendly. Doorman service was very quick. Front desk staff are lackluster and could smile more and be more accommodating. Concierge ladies are extremely helpful and friendly but I suggest booking most of your activities directly as there were a couple ones that the concierge was unable to book me into but I called the company myself and was able to book.

Now to the room... We arrived at our one bedroom suite and were at first impressed. All the appliances are top quality (Bosch) and there was enough space for everyone to sleep. That's as far as the pros go. There were several (very obvious) things broken in our suite and we spent the first day in Maui dealing with maintenance- not what we paid good money to do and housekeeping simply ignored, i.e. the toilet paper roll holder in the bathroom was completely unhinged and broken so housekeeping put the toilet paper next to it instead of fixing it? Carpet was very wet and sticky when we arrived, I assume because it had just been cleaned. It took forever to dry and made everything else sticky too. Bed sheets felt damp and uncomfortable and instead of enjoying crawling into bed after a fun filled day, I dreaded it here.

Duke's Beach Point restaurant was very good, not amazing but good. Towel/pool service SUCKS. There is a snooty lady that works there and not enough servers providing drinks by the pool. We rented out an umbrella and some chairs for the beach and handed over our credit card but wasn't even told how much. We later found out we were charged $60!!!!! I have never paid that much for an umbrella, maybe $30 at max. We snorkeled at the beach in front of our hotel and saw a decent amount of fish. I heard snorkeling at the beach at Kaanapali right next to us was better though.

For the price and reputation we really hoped we would be blown away by the Honua Kai but we weren't. I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel, unless maybe for people with big families but even then renting out a regular condo would be cheaper and probably about the same.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank janerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
6.8 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
2.8 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,037 - ₹ 38,484
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing