We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium Condo in a Premium Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Our entire family stayed at the Honua Kai Resort from April 18-25/2012. My husband, my daughter and myself stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo with a resort view. My brother, my sister-in-law and their 3 kids stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo with an ocean view.
From the very beginning, right at the booking stage, the staff were extremely accomodating. They assured us that we would be taken care of and that they would try to place us as close to each other as possible. True to their word, we were very well taken care of. We had picked up our rental vehicles and went to Costco to buy all of the groceries we would need for our holiday. We got to the resort at 2pm only to realize that check-in wasn't until 4pm! No problem!
They were able to check us in right away because our room was available. Not only did they bring our bags up for us but they unloaded all of our groceries as well. My brother's room was not ready until 4pm but the staff took all of their groceries to their condo right away and put them in the fridge for them while the condo was being cleaned. Not enough can be said for how great the Honua Kai was for our family. We loved that the ocean was so close to us and yet we also appreciated the extra swimming pools on the property for the days that we didn't want to deal with waves or go snorkelling. According to the locals, we had some of the best snorkelling sites right out in front of the resort. Also, our condo had a washer&dryer. This was an amazing convenience that we totally put to good use! Don't pack so much, Mom!! It was nice to wash all of our clothes before packing. What a delight to unpack newly washed clothes when we got home. All in all, if you are trying to decide on an oceanview or a resort view; While the oceanview is lovely, all of the lanais (patios/balconies) are facing each other. If you are looking for privacy from your neighbours then we would suggest the resort view. One window in the living room had a view of the ocean while the lanais had a view of the park below as well as the mountainside. We had a rainbow everyday and the lanai is extremely private. We also had the option to open the patio doors completely in both the living room and 1 of the bedrooms. It was amazing! One morning, before we had a chance to pull the screen shut, a bird flew in for a visit, looked around a little bit and then flew back outside. It was delightful! It may seem silly but we loved to go down to the lobby everyday to find out what kind of water they were serving from the chilled cooler. Pineapple one day, lemons or limes the next, cucumber water and so on. There is also a strip mall across the park where we would frequent quite often. There is a Times grocery store that is open until 2am and various other retailers that sold souvenirs,& we also rented our snorkelling gear from SnorkelBob's for $9 a day. We loved our stay at this resort. We were in condo 632 and my brother's ocean view condo was 643. They were both located in the Konea Tower.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thewayrealpeopleare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,288 - 2,292 of 3,197 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. Very friendly & helpful staff. We loved the swimming pools. Also in a central location.

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful, but do not pay extra for an ocean view, it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a fantastic vacation in Maui! The room was perfect with a full equipped kitchen. The bed was super comfortable!! The amenities and services were top notch. The location was very convenient and right on the beach. We could have not wished for a better stay on the beautiful island of Maui!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vacationlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed 9 nights in a one bedroom "mountain view" condo. Our view from the room was the parking lot, highway and the water treatment plant across the street. Along with the wonderful views, came traffic noise from both the highway and the parking lot and best of all the wonderful smell from the treatment plant (sewer). This is not what we pictured when we saved to go on our dream vacation. No sitting on the lanai enjoying your morning coffee or your glass of wine Our friends stayed a couple of hotels down the beach and had amazing views of the ocean and spent less $. Better clarification of the units/views would be helpful before you select the property. The staff would not return our calls or request to upgrade to a different unit. The front desk check-in and the several times we checked back with them, seemed almost "put-out" by our request. I felt they must get this request a lot when guest see the units. The pools are very crowed with children. If your looking for a relaxing pool side read and a drink and some quite time, this is not your place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to "Ocean View" if your considering staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Crowded pools, dirty hallways, terrible views if you are facing the Westin to the South. Coffee shop was never able to deal with more than couple of people at a time... always a lineup in the A.M. Elevators looked like they are seldom cleaned. The rooms are nice. 3 star not 5 star!

Room Tip: No spa even though it is called Honua Kai Resort and Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 490baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
39.7 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
2.8 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.5 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,100 reviews
2.1 km away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 17,126 - ₹ 59,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing