We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here for a week in February with our 2 sons aged 11 and 7. The resort itself is beautiful. It is very well maintained and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Our room was a one bedroom plus den partial ocean view. The room had everything we need including a kitchen 3 beds and a huge lanai which was perfect for eating breakfast and dinner on. Our kids absolutely loved the many pools there. We rented a couple of boogie boards and sand chairs from the resort, sure beats dragging all of that stuff on a plane. The beach in front of the hotel is amazing. The sand is beautiful and there is an assortment of areas that range from reasonable size surf, to calm water where the kids can play in. There are some areas that are rocky (coral) but a lot of areas that are smooth underneath. Grab some snorkel gear and just off the shore is some impressive snorkelling. Dukes restaurant is great. The service is amazing the food is great, and it is beachside. The resort itself is a short drive from the Kaanapali beach resort area, and Whalers village. It is also a short drive to the main part of Lahaina. Across the street from the resort is a good grocery store offering everything you need including "beverages". I have read complaints about the smell of sewage in other posts, but it really wasn't a problem. Apparently the sewage plant is across the highway and down the road. I think we may have caught a wiff of it for a few minutes one afternoon, but if this is a worry to you I would ignore it as it really was not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuckiesaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,963
    777
    222
    71
    41
See reviews for
1,673
969
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Love staying at the Honua Kai. We stayed for 1 week in February 2101 and wished it could have been longer. The hotel is so clean. We stayed in a one bedroom. We love having the full kitchen. We stayed on the ground floor which has it's advantages and disadvantages. We liked not waiting for an elevator but we felt that we lost privacy while sitting on the patio. We walked to the grocery store and to Snorkel Bob's. Check out Snorkel Bob's before you plan any excursions or even if you want to go to a great beach and swim and snorkel as they know everything! The pool at Honua Kai is very busy with lots of families and even more kids. It is hard to get a chair by the pool unless you are up very early as people save chairs using towel although this is apparently not allowed according to their policies. Love Dukes and we didn't have a bad meal there, from breakfast to dinner. Snorkelled right in font of the hotel and saw lots of fish and turtles. Check out Mala restaurant in Lahaina.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed at the Honua Kai for 10 days and had a wonderful time. We did stay through a private owner, so we were not charged resort fees and did not have maid service.

The place is very nice. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The veiws are breathtaking! We watched whales everyday from our balcony! We were on the 8th floor and found it to be very quiet. We didn't notice any bad smell while we were there. The tradewinds, in the afternoon, made it so that we had to shut the glass doors for an hour or so.

There were enough pools so that we did not feel crowded. We traveled with Grandparents and two teens, so we found that there was something for every age group. FYI...the place is not an adult only style place. If you are looking for no kids around....then you will not like Honua Kai.

The beach was lovely! Yes, there is a reef right off the beach. For our family, that was wonderful!!! We found sandy spots and went in and snorkeled 25-50 feet off the beach many times. We saw lots of fish, eels and turtles in the water. We could also hear the whales while under the water. The reef was SO convenient...no driving...no boats...no fees....just get in and swim!!! If you are looking to swim only, then walk down the beach and jump in. Just south of the hotel the area gets more sandy.

The only problem we had was that the air condition went out for 3 of the 10 nights. That made sleeping difficult. We were encouraged not to use the screens when it was windy, instead just leave the glass doors open. We were told that bugs would not be a problem. We did this and woke up with bugs bits. We then had to sleep with the room closed up and it got hot.

Overall, We would stay at the Honua Kai again. The place is great! It was exactly what we were looking for. Oceanfront, roomy, clean, beach and reef right outside. We weren't there to party or to be on a romantic escape. We went to have a family vacation that was full of ocean/nature activities...and we got exactly want we wanted!!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room, it was on the outside /top of the Hokulani Building. We could see th Beach(whale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mashadeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Loved having a condo versus a hotel room. It was great having a fridge, microwave, oven, etc. However, there's not a lot of storage in the condos so keep that in mind when packing.

The market was REALLY expensive, 3.50 for a USA Today paper, $8 for a smoothie! I pretty much stayed away from the market. But Duke's restaurant was great. Good food, pretty reasonable prices, great view of the ocean.

The pool area was nice but the chairs aren't very comfortable.

The staff that we came in contact with were all great, especially Randy, the valet guy.

The other reviews are right, there are a lot of kids but that didn't really bother us. Would definitely come back to Honua Kai!

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room which wasn't too bad but if you can afford ocean view, I'd defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath Park
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Family of four, we have two kids and we absolutely loved staying at Honua Kai!!!
We requested ground floor so the kids could run in and out...plus we enjoyed barbequing alot and being close to that was great. Staff was always friendly and helpful...we never got any bad smells at all like some say they did... yes it's very windy at times but who cares you're in beautiful Maui it's not that bad...it's close by to a strip mall with grocery store,subway,pizza place, all walking distance... plus it's a short drive to Front Street where all the giftshops and places to eat are, it's a beautiful street to walk along day or night for dessert....we're already planning next years trip back and we've only been home two weeks...
Happy family from CANADA

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
6.8 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
2.8 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,237 - ₹ 38,655
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing