We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
29 people are viewing this hotel
Westin.com
$839
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Expedia.com
$832
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$811
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/01/22
Booking.com$842
Hotels.com$832
Priceline$895
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,469)
Filter reviews
6,469 results
Traveller rating
2,709
1,883
945
543
389
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,709
1,883
945
543
389
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach tower whalers village adult pool ocean view self parking breakfast buffet our honeymoon black rock hula grill koi fish an umbrella abc store towel cards pool chairs four seasons lobby area beautiful resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 6,469 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2021

From the time we checked in, to the time we checked out, we had a wonderful time at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa! Our initial contact, Miss Megumi, was such a joy. She upgraded us from the Ocean Tower to the Hokupa'a Tower as a complimentary gift because we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, and also provided us with Kukui nut leis and some beverage tickets.

The room was nice, clean, and spacious and the view was spectacular. Prior to visiting, I read many reviews and some complaints included thin walls and loud hallways. I didn't find that to be the case at all. We did not hear our neighbors and we were often the only people in the corridors and elevators in our tower.

We rented two beach facing pool cabanas one of the days we were there and my only complaint about those is that I wish that the cabana tents were adjustable or that the cabanas could rotate to account for the sun. I also wouldn't mind the hours being extended either an hour earlier or later to the regular 9-5 hours. We were waiting on hourly by a sweet woman who refreshed our waters and brought us ice buckets and towels. We also had great waiter service for lunch and drinks from the nearby Hale Moʻolelo. The pool area was clean and had ample seating, however, the pool water was freezing! My daughters preferred to spend their time in the ocean, where the water was warmer.

Speaking of ocean, the beach in front of the resort was fantastic. It wasn't very busy, the sand was so soft and fine, and the water was mostly calm or safe. We were able to rent beach chairs for the day there one day but try to get there earlier - you have them for the day and when we were there, the umbrellas had already sold out.

The dining options were plentiful and the only line I had to wait in was the Starbucks line for the people like me who hadn't adjusted to the time change yet and needed a coffee fix early.

The hula show on Saturday morning was great, the grounds were well kept and beautiful, and everyone we met was helpful and kind.

The proximity to Whaler's Village was great, too. There we dined at some of the more popular restaurants, picked up some souvenirs, and grabbed some late night gelato. We traveled with our twin 16 year old daughters and we felt safe to let them roam around the area on their own, to shop and grab a snack.

We really enjoyed our time at The Westin Maui and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmarc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

Aloha jmarc23,

We are pleased that you and your family left energized and fulfilled after your stay at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali. Mahalo for your generous comments regarding the attentive and personalized service you received from our associates throughout your entire stay. We are excited they made your experience more memorable, and we look forward to sharing your kind remarks. We are also grateful for you highlighting our convenient location near Whalers Village. There are so many things to do and see on the island, and our central location provides easy access to different shops and attractions. Mahalo for being our guest, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With Warmest Aloha,
Selawe Tau
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2021

My wife and I have been at the resort for less than 24hrs and already feel inspired to write a 5-star review. Upon arrival, we were promptly invited to a sunset cocktail hour where we were greeted like family. Within seconds, we were handed beautifully-crafted desserts directly from the sous chef and mai tais from the most welcoming man on the island, Selawe. Selawe, alone, earns this place 5-stars. His positivity is simply contagious. We can’t wait to see what amazing adventures the rest of our stay brings!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mobile296863
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Aloha Mobile296863,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your wife to our resort. Our priority is to ensure each guest has a meaningful and unforgettable experience, and we are so delighted that you were welcomed with open arms by our team of dedicated professionals. Mahalo for mentioning me by name and how much you loved our cocktail hour. On behalf of the entire team, please enjoy the remainder of your stay at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali.

With Warmest Aloha,
Selawe Tau
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2021

We visited to celebrate our 35th Wedding anniversary. Prior to arrival Kasey from the concierge staff helped us with all of our dinner arrangements for the week. Upon are arrival we were surprised and grateful to be upgraded to a nicer room. The property is beautifully maintained. Aurora from the concierge staff was amazing during the week keeping us on track with our scheduled activities and helped us with some additional activities. The hotel had fitness activities available every day, Yoga, Runwestin and Spin. Carrie, our yoga instructor and Massage therapist was phenomenal. We would definitely visit again.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michaelkE92JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2021

Aloha michaelkE92JV,


Mahalo for sharing your feedback with fellow online travelers regarding your very special visit to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali. Happy Anniversary! We appreciate your generous compliments, and we are pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay. Our associates are committed to providing intuitive and thoughtful service, and mahalo for recognizing all that they do. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we look forward to hosting you again.


With Warmest Aloha,
Selawe Tau
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2021

Great place to stay. Pools were very clean and not crowded. Lots to do around the hotel. Several excursions every day. Very peaceful. Employees were particularly friendly. Food was very good in the several outlets we were in.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank Stuerenberg2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Aloha Stuerenberg2007,

Mahalo for your lively review of your stay at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali. It is gratifying to read you loved not only our relaxing property and outdoor pools but also our enriching activities and the delicious food we serve. Our world-class paradise setting offers an abundance of exciting things to do at our resort. Venturing off-property, our guests find a wealth of things to do that are just steps away. We also appreciate your kind comments about our intuitive associates. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With Warmest Aloha,
Selawe Tau
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2021

We have been coming to this resort for 25 years. Always had great things to say, sometimes on this website. I get no pleasure in writing the current review. But people need to hear what happened to us, in order to make informed decisions on where to stay.
We booked our reservation in January of 2021 for a King Bed with rollaway in the Ocean tower, mid floor, ocean view. Was going to pay $425 plus tax a night for 10 days.
We went to check in at 4:30 pm and our front desk staff Michael informs us that unfortunately all of the King rooms have been sold, and we will be given 2 doubles instead. When I register my. initial disbelief and then frustration, he tells me that if I choose to upgrade to the Beach tower, I can have 2 queens for $240 more a night, plus tax, adding $2400 more to my hotel bill. Then he says he's found a King in the Beach wing but we wont get in until Wednesday (this is monday).
In the last 25 years we have never run into this situation at this hotel. I asked Michael how could this be when my husband received an email 48 hours before from IKE at customer service assuring us that everything was in order for our imminent check in 2 days later?
Ultimately, we were tired after a long day of traveling and just wanted to check into the hotel so we opted to pay the additional amount. I stopped by the concierge on the way to the room and she shared that the hotel occupancy at the time was no more than 65-70%. She shared some muted skepticism that ALL of the King beds had been given away....
I guess you could argue that bed size isnt such a big deal, but the reality is that our confidence in this hotel has been severely shaken, and my vacation budget shot by one third more in costs. If I had wanted 2 double beds I would have asked for them back in January.
Frankly we were told "no you cant" numerous times during this stay. When we were moved to a King room (which of course was very nice in the Beach Tower) we asked for the roll away . We were told that because there was a pull out couch, we could not have the roll away. We shared that we were not planning to use the sofa bed because it literally. bowed in the middle and was extremely uncomfortable (especially for 10 nights). We were told that unfortunately we would not get a roll away but we WOULD be charged $101 a night more for the extra person in the room (who would get to sleep on a faulty sofa bed.)
In previous stays we felt well-cared for by Westin. We aren't Titanium elite, just a family who works hard for their vacations. We are both health care workers who like so many have been trying to deal with the ravaging conditions of COVID and looked forward to a relaxing vacation and to celebrate the grad school graduation of one of our children ( a trip which, due to COVID, had been cancelled twice).
My husband had reached out to hotel management with our situation. Their response was to apologize and to remove $400 in "resort fees" and promise to "investigate" why this happened. They could have done more. $400 out of an $8200 hotel bill is hardly an effort to make things right.
We left the hotel wondering if we will return. So many great memories of previous trips. Would love to hear from the hotel if they would be willing to make further adjustments to our bill. I'll wait.

Room tip: Resort side of Beach Tower is much quieter
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cradlemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Aloha cradlemom,


Mahalo for being a valued Bonvoy Member and taking the time to share your concerns.

It is always our priority to provide attentive, responsive service along with an exceptional experience, so we are disappointed to know that we did not meet these expectations. As such please let us look into this matter further.


With Warmest Aloha,
Resort Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews