We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I met a few friends for a 5 day girls getaway in Maui. We stayed at the Westin Resort and Spa where we stayed in Deluxe Ocean View room. The view was beautiful. We overlooked the pool and had a nice view of the ocean. This is one hotel where you had better ask what view might have, one whole side of the hotel overlooked the parking lot. The room itself was ok, seemed a little "tired". The bathroom was old, they need to invest in better towels. The public areas of the hotel were quite nice, plenty of little nooks and crannies to grab a seat and just chill. The staff at the Westin was wonderful....helpful, friendly and everyone we met truly shared their ALOHA spirit, especially the Valet staff. The pool area was beautiful and even though it was quite busy while we were there, we never had a problem finding a few seats together. Overall, this was a nice place to stay. It's location was perfect, (great shopping area next door) right on a beautiful beach, friendly people. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to face the pool /beach area. A room on an upper floor would be better to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emeraldeyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,208 - 3,212 of 5,162 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We selected the Westin Maui Resort to celebrate our 30th anniversary and it was a great choice. The hotel room in the Beach Tower is very good and we are delighted at the servive level offered, especially the Mr. Lopez at the Ono Grills who greated us every morning for breakfast. We highly recommend this hotel because of the great beach, great food (Ono, Tropica) and good service.

Room Tip: Go for the Beach Tower with ocean view on the pool side or ocean front (if you can get it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNgoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After much research and a great price on Expedia, we decided to book the Westin for our recent 6 night stay in Maui. This hotel is beautiful and there are many benefits to staying here.
The first is location - great strip of Kaanapali beach in front of the hotel and you are not shoulder-to-shoulder with others like Waikiki. We never had problems finding a spot on the beach, and you are within walking distance of a spot with surfing or, in the other direction the Sheraton and Black Rock snorkeling. The resort is also a quick walk to Whaler's Village, a collection of shops and some restaurants and a museum on one level. Great shopping here, there are some expensive shops and some with less expensive souvenirs. A lot of boats come into shore to pick up passengers for excursions here too, and we were able to board a whale-watching tour that picked us up right on Kaanapali beach.
The hotel pool is wonderful - big and clean pool area with waterfalls, a big waterslide and lots of loungers. The usual resort thing happens here where people are down at 5 am putting their towels on chairs by the pool then leaving. We did not do this and when we went down to the pool in the afternoon, we were always able to find a chair somewhere, even if it was not right at poolside. Seems most people do not stay at the pool all day which makes it possible to get a lounger. There are special loungers and cabanas that can be rented for full or half days, but these have to be reserved in advance or you won't get one. My only beef with the pool area was lack of poolside beverage service - we did not see anyone any of the times we were at the pool. There are of course many places you can get your own food and drink to bring to your lounger but it is nice to have a drink brought over every so often.
We had a Premium deluxe oceanview room and it was perfect. The room was a good size with 2 double beds and a great view of the pools and the ocean. Housekeeping are so friendly here - we were always greeted with smiles and "alohas" and requests were promptly taken care of. They give you lots of extra toiletries in the bathroom too so you will never run short on mouthwash or shampoo.
The resort grounds and lobby are beautiful - very lush and lots of great photo ops in front of waterfalls, or if you follow the paths through the resort, there are many statues and a gazebo. Also lots of birds on-site - pink flamingoes and parrots, and a pond full of big koi with their mouths wide open looking to be fed all the time. The Tropica restaurant is great with a fantastic beachfront location - wonderful to watch how quickly the sun sets while enjoying a great dinner there. Of course the food on the resort is expensive, apparently this is an ongoing joke on any snorkeling or whale watching boat tour you take, the price of food on Maui in general. Things seem to shut down early in the evening on the resort so don't expect a "party all night" atmosphere.
The hotel has a shuttle that will take you between the Starwood properties along Kaanapali and another shuttle that will take you to Lahaina. The shuttle is great!! Take advantage of it as your resort fees are paying for it. The drivers are helpful and polite and they really strive to keep right on schedule so the shuttle is there when it is supposed to be. You can get off at one of 3 different stops, the first being a stop by a Safeway and mall, the second at Hilo Hattie's souvenir shop in Lahaina right off the main Front Street and the third at Lahania Gateway with a nearby Walgreens and some other stores. Lahaina is a great place to spend a day shopping, at the harbour or checking out some of the neat little museums or eating at some of the great restaurants (we loved Cool Cat Cafe for burgers - apparently a local favorite).
The Westin luau was wonderful - generous helpings of great food, frequently refilled glasses of wine or tropical drinks, and great entertainment with the dancers and fire show.
The only complaint I have is the Starwood timeshare plug if you visit the concierge. The concierges are very helpful and friendly but I could do without the sales pitch every time I talked to someone at a concierge desk (Maybe if you were staying for 3 weeks or something and had any spare time it might be worth attending a presentation as you get some nice incentives for doing so, but we were not interested in sacrificing any of our time there doing that).
We loved the relaxed and unhurried atmosphere at this resort and on Maui in general. We would absolutely stay here again

Room Tip: Mid to higher floor premium deluxe oceanview room in Beach Tower have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB85Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I traveled to Maui for a few days of relaxation and diving before he had to attend a business conference and we opted to stay at the Westin. It was a large hotel, but had very friendly staff that made us feel welcomed from the minute we arrived (the valet attendants had smiles and kind words every time we saw them). Check-in was easy and the lobby was beautiful and made me feel relaxed and into "vacation mode" almost immediately. They do have the "resort sales team" with vendors in the lobby halls and sales offices for the villas, but they were not intrusive towards us. The room was comfortable and we were upgraded to an ocean view, which was nice. There is a great pool area - especially for children as there are a few pools that connect with tubes and water slides. There is also an adult pool up and a bit away from the kids. I had read other reviews which discuss this is a family oriented place, and it is. I did not find it a problem in any way, though. The kids were all with parents and there was no excessive noise or dangerous horseplay near other guests. We have a 1 year-old son who did not accompany us this time. Perhaps I was more tolerant of children as a result, but we would love to come back and bring our son along next time.
The restaurants were good and food was great. The beach was very beautiful, though we spent most of our time diving and thus had very little "beach" time.
The hotel is in a resort area with other hotels within walking distance and it is located right next to whaler's village shopping area, so it is convenient for dining and shopping options.
The staff and the overall resort environment were absolutely wonderful and the main reasons we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A bit disappointed with this hotel
Rollaway not ready despite numerous reminders - eventually sofa pull out which was very uncomfortable for my daughter
Requested high floor away from elevator and given low floor 2 rooms down from elevator which could be heard at night
Balcony paint /plaster coming off and sticking to feet

Breakfast buffet very average - not worth the money

Nice pool area but very crowded

Room Tip: rooms in tower perpendicular to beach are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
37.9 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,169 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.8 km away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 21,763 - ₹ 52,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing