We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
766
379
86
44
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
766
379
86
44
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kaanapali beach black rock shopping carts hula grill tower facing ocean view full kitchen underground parking abc store koi pond premium room pineapple studio condo through vrbo construction noise bath unit north side
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Stayed here for a week on a family trip. Booked through Costco with a package that included the hotel and a rental car. Overall this is a fantastic location - the hotel itself is in a great location, right on the beach and immediately next to the Whaler's village, which was convenient for restaurants and especially the ABC store, good for knick knacks such as snacks, beverages and goodies.

pros:
- location is right on the beach. In the Kanapali area which is driving distance to Front street in Lanai, or if you dont want to drive the whaler village next door offers shops, restaurants and a convenience store.
- the pool is nice, its a decent size and located right next to the beach. We encountered many friendly people at the pool. We were with a group that included small children, which the hotel accommodates/tolerates but doesn't cater to. We didnt feel alienated because of the kids
-the room was beautiful. However the room we were in was a timeshare, so YMMV when it comes to amenities and the age of the furnishings.
-Koi pond - the grounds are beautiful and include a koi pond. You can feed the fish every morning at 8:30, a fun activity especially for the little ones.
-The beach is fantastic - when we went there was plenty of sand on the beach. There isnt a reef in front of the hotel for snorkeling, but to the north lies black rock beach, about a 10 minute walk. This is a prime snorkeling/scuba area. I went on a night scuba dive at black rock and it was full of sealife. (surge was very strong at the most westernmost point, so beware)

Cons
-I had to fight the front desk person for a good room. He originally tried to put us in a room on the 2nd floor, saying that was a 2 bed, 2 bath room. When I asked what else was available he mentioned a higher room that was smaller and he didnt recommend.
When we looked at both, turns out he lied about the size of the nicer room, and was disgruntled when we decided to ignore his advice and took the higher floor. That left a bad taste in my mouth, but on the bright side the higher floor was absolutely beautiful.
-Room service was spotty - they only cleaned our room 2x out of the 8 night we were there. The housekeepers would show up at the very end of the day, if at all. this meant they couldn't wait 30 minutes to clean the room as they were at the end of their shift. I imagine this is an exception rather than the rule, but detracted from our experience.

Overall, a 9 out of 10 experience. The only downside was the interaction with the deceitful front desk staff. My recommendation for others is to be insistent on actually seeing the available rooms and choosing the one you prefer, don't rely on the staff to choose for you.

Room tip: the higher the better
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank justin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Aloha Justin and thank you so much for your thorough review. We will be sure to share all of your wonderful feedback with our team, as well as those areas where improvements can be made.

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Multiple Hawaiian things to do. There is a visitors center at the office with agents available to help in finding, and booking activities.
Whale watching catamarans come to the beach.
Tour bus to circle the island comes to the hotel.
Multiple food/drink venues within easy walking distance.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank bbrown1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Aloha BBrown,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time here on Maui!

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

This unit, 1273, overlooks the Whaler Shops and Restaurants. The exhaust fans below and delivery trucks backing up completely ruin the experience of enjoying the amazing views on the massive lanai. For the price paid, this unit was a disappointment. Beer and wine hospitality gift was a nice touch, the views are amazing, and the unit is large with great air conditioning. There were only two usable beach chairs and they were in terrible condition. When you pay a premium price, beach gear is typically included in Hawaii. The cooler was terrible but there was a decent beach umbrella. Ceiling fan remotes were missing batteries and quite frankly the unit was not clean to our standards. We had to keep our shoes on to keep our feet clean. Bathroom rugs were dirty, carpets in bedrooms were stained. Bottom line, you're paying to be on Kaanapali beach but the unit needs renovations and the location within the building is LOUD out on the beautiful lanai. My favorite part of the day is morning coffee on the lanai and a nightcap on the lanai. Not this lanai. The noise is unbearable. Overall the resort is great, but I wouldn't pick this unit again. Choose a unit that is not facing the shops/restaurants.

Room tip: Avoid units which face the shops
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Suzaconn1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Aloha Suzaconn and thank you for your review. We appreciate your taking the time to provide your feedback and will follow up appropriately.

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Wonderful location, super clean and well maintained. Hard working, friendly staff. The grounds are beautiful. The condo I stayed in was very nice, with a fantastic view of Black Rock. The full kitchen is really nice to have allowing you the freedom to prepare some or all of your meals.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cakbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Aloha Cakbak!

Fabulous review and we thank you sincerely for taking the time and making the effort to post your comments. We agree that the location is wonderful and the facilities and grounds are clean and well-maintained. In fact, we think the property has never looked better! The new lobby, corridor carpet and wall treatments and new guestroom doors have really enhanced the look and feel of this resort and we are pleased you noticed! And of course, the flexibility that a full kitchen affords is one of the great things about staying in a condominium resort here in the heart of Ka'anapali. Mahalo nui loa once again for such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

From what I have been told, all the apartments/condos are privately owned, so decore varies in all of them. We were fortunate to have a studio condo that was excellent, looking onto the gardens with complete privacy. This has under ground parking and a good overflow car park. The staff were excellent and the place was well maintained. We had friends staying a few flors above us in a larger condo. With excellent water views. This was not as well appointed as our condo but all the same, very nice. I would stay here over any hotel, as you may well know, Maui is not a cheap place to vacate, so serviced appartments make for a good choice. I like to make my own coffee and bagels in the morning. And as I am relaxing on the beach I can return for lunch, rather than eating out all the time. A wonderful place, recommended for families and couples alike.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank johnsH3246XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Aloha John,

We sincerely appreciate your review of our facilities and are pleased to know you took advantage of all the conveniences of a resort condominium, including the full kitchen. I will share with our entire team that you were pleased with their service and that you enjoyed your time here in paradise!

Warm Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews