We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great condo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great condo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed with my fiancé in a studio condo and everything was just fantastic. The staff is super nice there was always somebody cleaning somewhere, the hotel is right on the beach it's amazing

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    330
    71
    40
    16
See reviews for
299
531
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My boyfriend and I travelled to Kaanapali for a family reunion trip, and each family member rented a condo at the Whaler through VRBO (you can also rent rooms directly from the property). Some of my family had stayed here before, and their recommendation didn't disappoint! The location is located close to Black Rock and all of the vistas/snorkelling that offers, but The Whaler is also centrally located next to a variety of restaurants, bars, and shops.

Since we were some of the younger travellers in our group, I was unsure if Kaanapali would be a good fit for 30-somethings since West Maui is typically a family-friendly destination. We ended up having a great time! The Whaler rooms offer gorgeous views no matter where you stay - we stayed in Tower 1 on the Black Rock side, and enjoyed ocean and mountain views off the lanai. The hotel was recently updated and offers a beautiful center garen area with koi ponds. I couldn't get over how close to the beach we were given the rate we rented our studio condo for!

If staying here, check out Leilani's beach bar for a great happy hour and tasty food. We also had a great dinner at Longboard's which is part of Marriot's vacation village not far down the esplanade. The esplanade walkway along the ocean was lovely to walk any time of day, especially in the mornings when hunting for coffee (tip: there is a free-standing Starbuck's just past the Kaanapali Ali resort).

I may not be back to Maui any time soon, but I'll continue to recommend the Whaler and the VRBO condos as a great option to any friends that do make the trip!

Room Tip: There are two towers to choose from, each with a "sunny" side that gets lots of daylight s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mlemire617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

After several trips to Maui, and exploring all over to find the spot that best suits our interests, this location is it. This property in particular, depending on the room you select, offers the best views and best location for lazing on the beach, snorkelling, or what have you. It has good access to nearby shopping (Whalers Village), and Lahaina for larger stores. It's a very nice walk to Lahaina, which is great to explore, and for the less hardy type you can take the public transit bus back to save your feet. Golf course right at this location as well. Good eating locations too.

Room Tip: Travellers should know that in our case the room we selected at the Whaler does not have daily room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlampingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I rented a one bedroom, two bathroom unit at the Whaler through VRBO. This was our first time renting through VRBO, and we liked that we could choose the actual unit that we were to stay in. Since each unit is individually owned, they vary significantly in their decor so if this is important to you then it is good to know.

Our unit was on the 7th floor back corner of Tower 1, facing north towards Black Rock with a view off the back lanai of the west Maui mountains. This unit had a great breeze since it was on the corner of the building where the wind blew in from, although the morning sun made it surprising hot to sit out in the morning. We did not have a great view of the beach or the path, and a slightly obstructed view of Black Rock. If the unit was a floor or two higher, or closer to the front of the building, the views would have been much better.

The unit itself was great. Clean, spacious, fairly recently remodeled, fully stocked with all of the basic amenities needed - except beach chairs. There was only one, very small and cheap beach chair. It would have been a nice touch to have 2 or 4 good beach chairs in the unit for guests to use. We didn't need, but liked, having two bathrooms. The extra space with a one bedroom unit instead of a studio was nice too. The lanai is very large since it's a corner unit, although all of the units at the Whaler have large lanais.

There is underground parking at the Whaler, but not enough spots for every guest so if you get back later in the evening you have to park outdoors in the overflow lot, a very short walk from the building. This was not really any inconvenience or much further to walk. Overnight parking fees are $12 in addition to the unit rental, regardless of whether you're in the underground garage or the overflow lot.

The location is fantastic, right on Kaanapali Beach. The pool is fairly small for a property of this size, but that is one big difference between a resort and a condo property. You pay for the convenience of a full kitchen and more space, not for acres and acres of groomed property, park-like pools, and service. We did spend the second half of our trip at a resort in Wailea as well as one night in Hana.

Room Tip: Units on the inside/courtyard have better views of the beach and better sun, but they also face othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifeIzzGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We will be returning to The Whaler in November. We like the location and laid back atmosphere. We prefer Tower one facing Black Rock floors 9 and above as it is high enough to be above the Kaanapali Beach Hotel roof. This side also isolates you from the noise from the activities going on at Whaler's Village.

The underground parking is nice as it keeps your car cool during the heat of the day.

The location can't be beat. you can walk along the path to the Sheraton Black Rock and the other way to the Hyatt Regency. Restaurants, shops, and an ABC store in Whaler's Village make for a great convince during your stay.

Families with kids would probably prefer facilities such as the Marriott, Sheraton, etc with their mega pools and programs for kids.

Room Tip: We prefer Tower 1 facing Black Rock floors 9 and above to get above the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. We ca...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
0.3 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,687 - ₹ 32,464
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing