We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After several trips to Maui, and exploring all over to find the spot that best suits our interests, this location is it. This property in particular, depending on the room you select, offers the best views and best location for lazing on the beach, snorkelling, or what have you. It has good access to nearby shopping (Whalers Village), and Lahaina for larger stores. It's a very nice walk to Lahaina, which is great to explore, and for the less hardy type you can take the public transit bus back to save your feet. Golf course right at this location as well. Good eating locations too.

Room Tip: Travellers should know that in our case the room we selected at the Whaler does not have daily room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GlampingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 742 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I rented a one bedroom, two bathroom unit at the Whaler through VRBO. This was our first time renting through VRBO, and we liked that we could choose the actual unit that we were to stay in. Since each unit is individually owned, they vary significantly in their decor so if this is important to you then it is good to know.

Our unit was on the 7th floor back corner of Tower 1, facing north towards Black Rock with a view off the back lanai of the west Maui mountains. This unit had a great breeze since it was on the corner of the building where the wind blew in from, although the morning sun made it surprising hot to sit out in the morning. We did not have a great view of the beach or the path, and a slightly obstructed view of Black Rock. If the unit was a floor or two higher, or closer to the front of the building, the views would have been much better.

The unit itself was great. Clean, spacious, fairly recently remodeled, fully stocked with all of the basic amenities needed - except beach chairs. There was only one, very small and cheap beach chair. It would have been a nice touch to have 2 or 4 good beach chairs in the unit for guests to use. We didn't need, but liked, having two bathrooms. The extra space with a one bedroom unit instead of a studio was nice too. The lanai is very large since it's a corner unit, although all of the units at the Whaler have large lanais.

There is underground parking at the Whaler, but not enough spots for every guest so if you get back later in the evening you have to park outdoors in the overflow lot, a very short walk from the building. This was not really any inconvenience or much further to walk. Overnight parking fees are $12 in addition to the unit rental, regardless of whether you're in the underground garage or the overflow lot.

The location is fantastic, right on Kaanapali Beach. The pool is fairly small for a property of this size, but that is one big difference between a resort and a condo property. You pay for the convenience of a full kitchen and more space, not for acres and acres of groomed property, park-like pools, and service. We did spend the second half of our trip at a resort in Wailea as well as one night in Hana.

Room Tip: Units on the inside/courtyard have better views of the beach and better sun, but they also face othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeIzzGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We will be returning to The Whaler in November. We like the location and laid back atmosphere. We prefer Tower one facing Black Rock floors 9 and above as it is high enough to be above the Kaanapali Beach Hotel roof. This side also isolates you from the noise from the activities going on at Whaler's Village.

The underground parking is nice as it keeps your car cool during the heat of the day.

The location can't be beat. you can walk along the path to the Sheraton Black Rock and the other way to the Hyatt Regency. Restaurants, shops, and an ABC store in Whaler's Village make for a great convince during your stay.

Families with kids would probably prefer facilities such as the Marriott, Sheraton, etc with their mega pools and programs for kids.

Room Tip: We prefer Tower 1 facing Black Rock floors 9 and above to get above the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. We ca...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Whaler for six previous visits. This was the best experience yet. The construction was over, the grounds were beautiful, and our condo was great. We stayed in an ocean view studio on the 11th floor- the views were fantastic. The king bed was very comfortable, the granite bathroom was spacious, and the kitchen was well-equipped. Our daily maid service was greatly appreciated. The only spoiler was the noise from leaf blowers which seemed to be used throughout the day. We saw workers sweeping leaves as well, and appreciate the cleanliness of the property. We will be back.

Room Tip: We prefer Tower 1 on an upper floor. Tower 2 is close to the Whaler's Village and sometimes the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Newmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at the Whaler for 3 days because hubby wanted a beachfront accommodation. I was initially looking for a location in Lahaina town but I am so glad we stayed here because it was just so nice to wake up with the fresh breeze blowing through the apartment (aircon was available but we didn't use it), with the sound of the wave and the sun rising from the mountain side. We didn't want to leave!

Tell them if you have a special event e.g. honeymoon and you'll receive "amenities" a bottle of red, macadamia biscuits, chocolates, glasses, mugs, coffee ... it was special! In addition (if you have time) you can hire a free DVD a day.

Room rates were definitely more reasonable for the same view along the boardwalk ... other accommodation like the Sheraton/Westin were only a hop-skip-and-a-jump away.

Very happy with the accommodation, and would be happy to recommend to young or old couples, families ... groups of friends.

It was also convenient to have the Hula Grill, Leilani's, Starbucks not too far away.

One other plus, I also used the inhouse Spa ... very good service and a fraction of the price offered down the boardwalk. Worth checking out!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luveely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,172 reviews
2.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 20,059 - ₹ 36,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing