We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be returning to The Whaler in November”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Renton, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will be returning to The Whaler in November”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We will be returning to The Whaler in November. We like the location and laid back atmosphere. We prefer Tower one facing Black Rock floors 9 and above as it is high enough to be above the Kaanapali Beach Hotel roof. This side also isolates you from the noise from the activities going on at Whaler's Village.

The underground parking is nice as it keeps your car cool during the heat of the day.

The location can't be beat. you can walk along the path to the Sheraton Black Rock and the other way to the Hyatt Regency. Restaurants, shops, and an ABC store in Whaler's Village make for a great convince during your stay.

Families with kids would probably prefer facilities such as the Marriott, Sheraton, etc with their mega pools and programs for kids.

Room Tip: We prefer Tower 1 facing Black Rock floors 9 and above to get above the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. We ca...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    342
    73
    42
    17
See reviews for
313
564
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Outer Banks
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Whaler for six previous visits. This was the best experience yet. The construction was over, the grounds were beautiful, and our condo was great. We stayed in an ocean view studio on the 11th floor- the views were fantastic. The king bed was very comfortable, the granite bathroom was spacious, and the kitchen was well-equipped. Our daily maid service was greatly appreciated. The only spoiler was the noise from leaf blowers which seemed to be used throughout the day. We saw workers sweeping leaves as well, and appreciate the cleanliness of the property. We will be back.

Room Tip: We prefer Tower 1 on an upper floor. Tower 2 is close to the Whaler's Village and sometimes the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Newmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at the Whaler for 3 days because hubby wanted a beachfront accommodation. I was initially looking for a location in Lahaina town but I am so glad we stayed here because it was just so nice to wake up with the fresh breeze blowing through the apartment (aircon was available but we didn't use it), with the sound of the wave and the sun rising from the mountain side. We didn't want to leave!

Tell them if you have a special event e.g. honeymoon and you'll receive "amenities" a bottle of red, macadamia biscuits, chocolates, glasses, mugs, coffee ... it was special! In addition (if you have time) you can hire a free DVD a day.

Room rates were definitely more reasonable for the same view along the boardwalk ... other accommodation like the Sheraton/Westin were only a hop-skip-and-a-jump away.

Very happy with the accommodation, and would be happy to recommend to young or old couples, families ... groups of friends.

It was also convenient to have the Hula Grill, Leilani's, Starbucks not too far away.

One other plus, I also used the inhouse Spa ... very good service and a fraction of the price offered down the boardwalk. Worth checking out!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luveely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed at the Whaler from Apr 2 - 9, 2012 in unit 356 tower 2. The unit was spacious and well supplied. Location is right on the Kaanapali Beach with Whaler's Village right next door. Views were great and weather beautiful.
Cons - ammenties were only so so. Pool is small with limited chairs that were full by 8 am. Exercise facility was not worth visiting. We received clean towels each day, but unit was cleaned only once during our stay. We required a late checkout on our last day and even though the room was not booked, we were charged almost a full day rate. Renovations were still going on and if you were in your unit during the day it was annoying. For the price per night, I expected a little more.
This was our first trip to Maui and if you are looking for a party, this is not the place to go. Restaurants closed at 9:30 and nothing else going on.
Overall, the Whaler was just ok.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frredom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
1.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,511 reviews
1.0 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,003 reviews
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,468 - ₹ 69,743
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing