We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable resort at beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Comfortable resort at beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

All positive reviews about this property are right. We spent 9 days in one of resort's ocean view studios in late April/early May and loved our stay. The resort is large, comfortable property that includes several low-rise buildings with various room sizes, very good restaurant, swimming pool, putting green grass and other amenities.
Our studio was very comfortable and included kitchen and balcony. We managed to get good rate booking early with pre-paid option, but I saw that normal rates for the hotel are quite pricey.
The resort's main attraction is its location at beautiful Napili Bay with its sandy beach and great sunset views. The beach is protected from waves and is great for swimming, snorkeling and paddle boarding. You can see large turtles there and occasionally - which apparently is rare in late April - also whales.
The resort occupies northern part of the bay, which has calmer beach that middle section of the bay, which is bit more exposed to higher waves.
In climate terms, this particular part of West Maui when we were there got refreshing breeze and occasional showers - mainly at night or early morning. Thanks to that the weather was very comfortable - not too hot and not too wet as in East part of Maui.
In terms of guest mix, most visitors were middle aged but the property is also popular and suitable for families with children and for retired visitors. The property is large enough so it can take those different age groups without conflict. The hotel has some Canadian connection, so in addition to US visitors, there are also quite a lot of Canadians there. We also saw some tourists from Asia and Europe.
Tip: Napili Kai Beach Resort appears to be most expensive and nicest of hotels located at the Napili Bay. But there are also other solid but cheaper-looking hotels that share the same beautiful location. Those are: The Mauian, Napili Bay Beach and Napili Bay Resort. From what I saw those hotels have slightly younger visitors on average than Napili Kai Beach Resort. So budget-oriented folks may look at those without compromising on great location of Napili Bay.
Another tip: Napili Bay is located quite far from main Maui landscape attractions such as Road to Hana and Haleakala National Park - so trips to those attractions take at least full a day with Road to Hana being worth two full days. We also took a boat trip to neighboring island of Molokai, which is far less touristy than Maui, but laid back and also very nice. Just be aware that boat trip from Lahaina harbor to Molokai can get VERY bumpy so I don't recommend it for families with children or people prone to motion sickness.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    182
    48
    18
    17
See reviews for
236
425
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I've been going to various Maui and Hawaii locations for years. Once we found this place in 2008, I have no desire to go anywhere else. The water is beautiful, with some waves but nothing to hamper daily swimming and snorkling. If you want bigger waves, the left side of the beach (as one faces the ocean) has them. The Beach House restaurant is on site and quite decent, plus it's open pretty much all day from breakfast time through dinner /drinks time. Other excellent restaurants are very close by, some -- like Merriman's -- are even in walking distance, as are the Gazebo and Cafe O'Lei. Plantation is nearby and also the Kapaula branch of Sensei, with great sushi and fish. We mostly relax, swim and gaze upon the water, but Napili is a great jumping off point for day trips to other islands (Kapaula airport is about 10 minutes away, if that) and other parts of Maui. The staff is very friendly and helpful and only pretty mellow folks seem to stay there. The only bad experience with staff was that one bartender was very slow on one occasion (so that wine and food were brought too far apart) and one time the maid forgot to lock our sliding doors. Overall, absolutely terrific and reliable choice for an outstanding break.

Room Tip: It depends on what you want. Nearer the ocean on the ground floor means nearer the pool and other pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzieBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I recently made our second trip to Maui and Napili Kai Beach Resort and can't wait to go back. Our stay there was awesome with a great beach, beautiful grounds and wonderful resort staff. The food at the Sea House is always very good and the sunsets awesome. The Napili grocery is nearby and you are only ten minutes from shopping at Whalers Village. We have already committed to return again and would not stay any where else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brijul329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for our 10 year anniversary and loved everything about our stay. The hotel is a great value and has everything you need. The staff was very thorough and helpful. The food at the Sea House was great and a good value. We snorkeled every day and saw 3 turtles, tons of fish, and could walk right back to the room and take a nap. The resort is also walking distance to another fantastic beach and a couple great restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure to have an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliNJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have stayed in Kapalua in the past and we would come over to Napili Kai to eat at their wonderful restaraunt The Sea House. Also we would come spend a day on Napili Beach. Finally we thought, "Why are we staying at Ritz Carlton, when this is where we love to hang out"? For about the same price as a standard room in Kapalua, you can get a lovely ocean facing room at Napili Kai. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean suite and it was really worth the extra money. The view was spectacular. The king bed is in the front room toward the ocean. Our two kids were in a seperate bedroom in the back of the unit, each with their own nice twin bed. There was a small kitchen with full sized appliances and beautiful new cabinetry and granite countertops. We felt seriously spoiled. The beach at Napili is crescent shaped, clean, and beautiful. Medium sized surf, great for kids to play. Excellent snorkeling right off the beach with a variety of corals, fish, and sea turtles. The grounds of the hotel are really pretty and well kept, staff super nice. Walk up snack bar where the kids to could charge lunch or snacks. They provide beach chairs and towels. We got a massage at their small massage facility, it was great. We used the putting greens and outdoor games, they were fun. I really can't think of anything more they could offer. It's a wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HiGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
6.2 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
8.6 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
9.1 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
9.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,321 - ₹ 54,483
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing