We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
213
128
37
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
128
37
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ohana room cinnamon bread coffee and juice continental breakfast fresh fruit beautiful napili bay coastal trail house restaurant there is no air conditioning literally steps kitchen facilities cross breeze beach chairs small kitchenette full kitchen the ground floor first floor
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2015

The Mauian delivered. Our room was clean and comfortable. The Wiki-Wiki breakfast was a high point of each day that we were on Maui. We were literally steps from one of the best snorkeling beaches. Close to dining and other sites. Highly recommended. The only criticism is that while the management said that our room would accommodate four adults, this was only the case if one adult was willing to sleep on the floor on a futon, which was really a cloth covered trifold piece of soft 2 inch foam. We all took turns with this uncomfortable option. Other rooms have a two person size pullout couch which would have been better. Still, an excellent place!

Room Tip: If there are more than 4 adult size people, make sure to select a room with a larger pullout couch!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 968kippm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
808GuestServices, Manager at The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving the Mauian a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast every morning, we have had so many great compliments on our cinnamon raisin bread.

We agree, the snorkeling out here at Napili Bay is right outside your door and one of the best snorkeling spots on the island.

We are sorry that the futon was not comfortable for you and your guests, unfortunately it is a twin size folding mattress and usually children would sleep on those. We do have units that will actually accommodate 4 adults comfortably, they are our pool view hotel rooms, these rooms will come with 2 queen size Tempurpedic beds and the views will overlook the beautiful landscaped grounds and swimming pool.

Have a wonderful fall and winter and we look forward to seeing you again at the Mauian.

Mahalo,
Wilmanette M. Oskins
Assistant Manager
The Mauian Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Absolutely ideal location, well kept, well managed property. Rooms updated somewhat recently and were nicely appointed. Only complaints were the lack of A/C (as we were there during unusual humidity) noise levels are high (you hear everything going on in adjacent suites), and the wifi is weak at best. Great value, nice beach, great location.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSCowboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
808GuestServices, Manager at The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a great review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time here at the Mauian.

We pride ourselves in our beautiful grounds which are just steps away from the ocean. As for as the humidity, we do agree with you. This is the hottest summer we have ever had. Weather is starting to cool down and we got the trade winds back, which is a relief to all of us here.

Please call us for your next visit, we look forward to hearing from you again.

Mahalo,
Wilmanette M. Oskins
Assistant Manager
The Mauian Hote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We stayed at the Mauian for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. Our second floor room was breezy and the ceiling fans were very well placed to keep us cool. It did get warm, but was cool enough at night for sleeping. The room is really, really well designed for a beach vacation, with lots of hooks and bars for towels and wet suits. The rooms are attractive and contain everything you might need, and the general atmosphere is very relaxing.

And the beach... I cannot imagine a more perfect beach. It's gorgeous, not crowded, and the water is very calm. The Mauian provides beach chairs and towels, fresh fruit and baked goods for breakfast, free parking, and wifi (slow but acceptable... don't expect to stream Netflix).

My only word of caution is on the openness of the room design. As other reviews mention, it's necessary to keep the windows open and blinds up to catch the breeze. That means privacy is a bit diminished - definitely on the first floor, a bit less on the second. Sound also travels, and while nobody was very loud or rowdy, we found ourselves waking up at the same time as the other guests.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor for more privacy and better breeze
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lenivtsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
808GuestServices, Manager at The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Mauian and for your wonderful review, all of us here at The Mauian Hotel strive for our guests to have a wonderful time and a memorable stay with us. We hope to see you folks again in the near future.


Mahalo,
Wilmanette M. Oskins
Assistant Manager
The Mauian Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

My Husband and I arrived at the Mauian after a long trip from the UK. We immediately fell in love with the surroundings; the beach was pristine and the vegetation lush and green. We stayed in an Ocean View room (no.207) and it was lovely. The view was stunning and it was so relaxing to lay in bed and listen to the waves on the shore.
The hotel does not have air conditioning, so it does get pretty hot. There are ceiling fans in the rooms that do help, but if you struggle with heat/humidity then you may feel a little uncomfortable at times.
The room itself was very comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed sitting out on the lanai in the mornings to eat our breakfast - which we collected from the communal room. It was a mix of fresh fruits and breads/pastries and hot coffee.
The Mauian is a lovely hotel to unwind in and enjoy all that Hawaii has to offer - particularly the snorkelling which can be done right off the beach!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are likely to be quieter and it is worth paying a little extra to enjoy an uninterrupted view of the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah_W_M4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
808GuestServices, Front Office Manager at The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Aloha Hannah,
Thank you for your pleasant comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Mauian.

Yes room 207 is a great room that is very close to the beach with spectacular views of the ocean and sunset.

Happy to hear that you took advantage of the awesome snorkeling out front in our bay with the turtles and fishes.

We thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you on a return trip soon.

Mahalo,
Mauian Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Overall, The Mauian is a great place to stay. The location is superb, and really is only a few steps to the beach. The accommodations are dated, but everything operates and is efficient, except for one thing. The WIFI is extremely poor! If you are planning to unplug from life completely, then no problem. But I wanted to read emails occasionally, look up some activities and restaurants, and download some movies since there is no TV at The Mauian. Forget it! You have to walk over to the clubhouse to get any wifi at all, but it's not strong or fast enough to download a movie. It was ok to look up local information though. I wasted time and money sitting there with my iPad, but was unsuccessful in downloads. Each to his own, but I was told wifi was available. This statement is both true and not so much.....Still, I recommend this property.

Room Tip: The partial beach views are fine and still only a few steps to the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews