We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,208)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveller rating
588
460
106
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
588
460
106
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the banyan tree no elevator historic hotel front street great location lahaina harbor attached restaurant rooms are small whale watching within walking distance ceiling fan old hawaii a great place to stay old lahaina luau nice pool rental car balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2022

Very good hotel, friendly staff, nice pool outside
The room was clean and comfortable.
The location is just in the center of Lahaina, a minute walk to the
Harbor, and a minute walk to the outlet mall and Main Street.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank gal6546524
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 October 2022

A lovely hotel with an interesting history.
The pool was great and most days we had the pool to ourselves. It had a lovely garden and made swimming very relaxing - floating in the pool and looking at a blue sky framed by frangipani and palms was glorious.
The local Foodland was a great place to pick up a tropical fruit platter for breakfast and what better place to have breakfast than on the balcony.
Convenient location for seeing the sights of Lahaina.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolabA5702RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 October 2022 via mobile

My husband and I loved this charming hotel right in the center of Lahaina, but sadly we were only able to stay 2 nights! (Sept 27/28) But the real reason for my review is the staff. Everyone was so nice and welcoming but Kiley was exceptional. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Best of all she granted us a early check-in! So Kiley, if you are reading this we so enjoyed chatting with you, thank you for everything and we will be back soon! (PS, say hi to Alex and Sketch for us…)
Laura and Brian
Pacific Grove, CA

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LauraN479
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2022

If you want to experience Maui without staying in the resort areas, then the Pioneer Inn is a great choice.

The hotel is an historic property that has retained much of its character; the lobby, courtyard, rooms, and lanais all have the feel of their 100 plus year history. Rooms and amenities, of course, have been updated.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. The courtyard was relaxing and a pleasant place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The pool itself was nice but needs to be recoated (a lot of worn areas in the blue lining).

The location is great...right in Lahaina! Walking down Front Street to shops and restaurants is a breeze.

All the rooms (I think there are only 33!) seem nice but if you want quiet ask for a room facing the courtyard, if you want to see the harbor and mountains, ask for a room on the Banyon Tree side.

Arrival was a bit tricky since there is no driveway or obvious place to stop and unload your car. Front entrance to the hotel is facing the harbor so you need to drive around and hope to find an open place to park and unload. As far as parking during your staff it's free but across the street and behind the Baldwin House in a public lot...not convenient but workable.

Finally, the two story hotel does not have an elevator so be prepared to drag your suitcases up the stairs (all rooms are on the second floor).

We loved this place and are likely to return!

Room tip: Quieter rooms face the courtyard; rooms with views face Banyon Tree and Front Street.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 September 2022

We were in Lahaina for 3 nights and could not have been happier with our accommodations! We had a great wrap around porch with a view of town and the water which had chairs and a table which were perfect for eating take-out and people watching as well as drinking my morning coffee from my in-room coffee maker! The bed was extremely comfortable and the air conditioning was amazingly efficient and quiet, especially considering how hot it was when we were there. It's a great old historic hotel that is quirky and fabulous to walk around, but the rooms are modern with fridges, tv's and spacious bathrooms. There are no elevators, so ask for help if you have trouble carrying bags upstairs. The location is very convenient to walk everywhere from the Bad Ass Coffee Shop downstairs to the ABC store across the street and plenty of restaurants including the excellent Bar & Grill attached to the Inn. They even have beach chairs and towels you can borrow to take to close-by Baby Beach. But by far, the best part of this hotel is the people who work there. Pattie, Kiley and Mark make you feel so comfortable, are so friendly and will help you with anything you need, with a smile on their face...even mailing an iPad that was left behind all the way to the mainland! Mahalo!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Becky Lennon, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2022

Thank you so much for staying with us. We agree with you that our staff try their utmost to make our guests feel like family. We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews