We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Kai unit #408. A corner oceanfront view and true island hospitality!”
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Kai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Every year we stay at the Maui Kai in unit #408. It has the perfect corner view of Kaanapali Beach. The unit is always clean and comfortable and of course, beautiful. When we open the doors, it's like we're in our home away from home. The owners are truly amazing! They set you up for a truly Hawaiian vacation and are so hospitable. We will always stay there. After a week at the Maui Kai, you will know all the people at the pool too. What a friendly bunch. As I say, we love the owners and the unit. Give it a try. You will not regret it. Be sure and read the guestbook and you will see that everyone that has stayed there has had such a wonderful vacation. Miss it already and we just got home! Duane and Rosie Posey

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
Thank luvumeanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 861 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2009

This was our 5th stay at this small resort located right on the beach at the north end of the Kaanapalli Beach. We were central enough to have access to great restuarants and attractions, but also had the condo conveniences such as a full kitchen. Many nights we grilled fresh fish by the pool and watched the sun set from our balcony while dining. Great snorkeling was available at the doorstep and all along the beach. We watched surfers and boogie boarding, then left for days of sight-seeing, shopping and excursions.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

This is a wonderful small condo/hotel tucked away on the oceanfront on a quieter stretch of beautiful Ka'anapali Beach. UNIT 408 is on the N corner with a sweeping view of the ocean & beach, Molokai & Lanai, and endless gorgeous sunsets. The private screened lanai is a perfect place to start & end the day - and offers a great view of migrating whales during the winter. A grocery store & restaurants are within easy walking distance across the street. Pool, hot tub & laundry facilities on property.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

I spent 2 weeks in this condo and it was great.

I have stayed here in the past. Shayla and Mark have done a great job on the remodeling. Everything you need is there.

All you need to do is walk to the Farmers Market on Mon, Wed and Fri for your fruits, bread and veggies. Then go to Star Market for other stuff.

There are a couple fo nice bars that you can walk to also.

The condo building is right on the beach, with a very nice cabana with pool, jacuzzi, grills and a full kitcthen, library, ping pong table, and free internet access.

Very Nice HDTV with cable. I think there might be a DVR, because every day I got a message that a recording of All My Children was happening.

I met some very nice people while I was there.

Thanks Shayla and Mark.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basilisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We have been visiting Maui for over 15 years and found a "home away from home" at the Maui Kai. The location is great because it is right on the water with every unit facing west, it is a perfect location for sunsets and whale watching. There is good swimming and snorkeling right out in front and a few world class surfing and snorkeling spots very close by. Restaurants and grocery shopping are within walking distance and Lahaina is a short drive away. More restaurants (both high end and affordable) are within a few miles. The Maui Kai itself is quiet and private with a generous and helpful staff. We have stayed in a number of studio units but our favorite is 807. We like being on the 8th floor for better views and the room itself is very comfortable with Hawaiian themed art and furniture. All the appliances are new and the kitchen recently remodeled. (The kitchen is great so we don't have to spend as much money eating out -- a big advantage over the hotels.) Everything is super clean and well taken care of. We spend most of the time when were not in the water sitting on the lanai looking out at Molokai and the island of Lanai. The other thing we like about the Maui Kai is that it is reasonably priced especially considering it is right on the water. For us that means we can have a longer Maui vacation. See (--) for pricing and discounts

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,237 reviews
1.5 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
9.1 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: ₹ 16,598 - ₹ 23,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing