We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great show!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great show!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This was our first stay here--it won't be the last! The grounds were wide and spacious with a very relaxed comfortable feeling. The rooms are small--nothing to write home about, but we did not spend enough time in the room to make it as issue. The most fun about this hotel is the Tiki Bar and show. The Mai Tais were the best we've had (Dale makes a good one) and the show is great, but not every night. Sometimes it's a show that lasts a few hours and sometimes it's only an hour. Sometimes the music is taped--sometimes it's not. Sometimes there's lots of dancers--sometimes it's only a few. I suggest you ask Lynn the waittress--she'll fill you in on all the possibilities and she has the best "off the beaten path" drink suggestions.
We ate at the restaurant once and the steak was fabulous, but I was unimpressed by the menu. The grill is a good choice if you don't want a full sit down dinner. The staff is friendly, especially the front desk, and everyone always looked like they were having a good time. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a mid range hotel.

Room Tip: We liked our room facing the courtyard--that way we could see the show every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattiboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,947
    1,332
    436
    193
    121
See reviews for
1,023
2,041
94
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We did the resort thing in Waikiki, but now it was time to kick back, slow down, and experience Hawaii. KBH gave us precisely what we needed. Although not top-quality and right up-to-date, the rooms are clean, adequately-sized, and comfortable. The lobby staff is easy-going, laid-back, and accommodating. The restaurant staff and tiki bar staff are attentive but not pushy. The grounds with Hawaiian specialty gardens, a generous beach, and a small but clean whale-shaped pool with lounge chairs on the grass, sand, and pool deck all encourage you to slow down and enjoy your surroundings. There is nightly Hawaiian or Polynesian live music and there are daily Hawaiian activities (lei-making, hula classes, palm hat and basket weaving, scuba training ...) throughout the grounds for adults and kids. The staff is deeply invested in Hawaiian culture, and they are required to take part in yearly seminars on the culture, language, arts, and artifacts of traditional Hawaii. At the end of your stay is a traditional lei ceremony where you are presented with a handmade kikui nut lei by the staff.
If you must plug in to reality, you are a short walk away from Whaler's Village where you can shop and dine in more contemporary, upscale settings. And you're a 5-minute drive from the crowded and popular Lahaina Front Street with its seashore-like street of shops, bars, and restaurants.
Kaanapali Beach Hotel can really remind you what "vacation" is all about!

Room Tip: On-Site washers and dryers available to refresh clothes and cut down on packing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OutofTownMidwstVstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, BC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I loved my first time stay in Maui. The rooms may not be fancy but the location, the grounds and the wonderful staff make up for it. We stayed in an ocean front room and enjoyed the stunning view from the deck. The staff, especially the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant were fabulous. It was awesome to see so many people who were happy to serve and who enjoyed their job and working for the hotel management. Our waiter had worked there 17 years and only had positive things to say and you could feel it with everyone who worked there. Great atmosphere. They offer a $50 a week breakfast which was so worth it! Also an unbelievable Sunday brunch that you pay extra for but well worth the price. Be prepared, there is no shade on the sandy part of the beach unless you rent an umbrella or lounge chair with cover. (expensive to do) It was the same for all the hotels along Ka'anapali Beach. We plan to return one day and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking ask to be by an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarlenePortMoody_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We did a lot of research to find a nice hotel in Maui and Ka'anapali Beach Hotel is a good option, however we think that the rooms need a renovation. The Hotel has a good situation and has the Whale Center in a walking distance with shops, restaurants and Luau options.

The room we enjoyed was big and with fridge. We got the Breakfast package and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet everyday. It has plenty of options (fruits, scrambled eggs, bacon, toasts, cereals, pastries, juices...) and is the perfect way to start the day with energy.

As Honeymooners we ask for an upgrade (in some brochures they offer this options) and we had a gorgeous views of the ocean.

I will recommend this hotel mainly because has a great staff, is in a perfect situation and has somekind of the “aloha” spirit

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USGAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

So, for my disclaimer...in Maui you have a ton of choices of where to stay and what to do. You have a wide range of resorts, condo's, and price breaks to choose from. KBH is simple, clean and you can't beat the location. If you need five star service that looks like your local Marriot, you can find it in Maui. This hotel is unique and special in so many ways. It's not super modern but it has everything you need to launch into a great Maui experience. When you spend all day and most of the night outside, you really need just a place to shower and sleep. Why pay more for something you don't use? It's like upgrading your rental car and then paying for Valet parking.....to never use the car but once or twice the entire time your there for a week. Nobody cares if you are driving a convertible mustang or staying at the Royal Lahaina resort. The fact is...we both are at the same beach in Maui! The truth be told, we paid half for the same night's sleep!
To begin...this is my second review of this resort. Also, my second return to Maui.....because of this resort! With so much to say it is hard to give a review that puts an experience so satisfactory into words. Our first trip was to celebrate our 15th. This trip was a family vacation! We booked everything through Costco travel and it turned out seamless. We added a Luau, dinner cruise, rental car and flights. We chose to attend the welcome breakfast. If this is your first time to KBH, do attend the breakfast. Actually, I would suggest attending the breakfast every time you visit as it is free! Who else would give you a full buffet breakfast for staying at their hotel in Maui, but KBH! It is not an up sell, but a nice welcome breakfast that is very informative and entertaining. Because of the breakfast, we did book the magic show! Probably would not have considered it prior to the breakfast. Very much worth the admission price as we were totally entertained and the food was great! Our room was an ocean view and it was just as we had expected. The room had been updated since 2005, however the look and feel was the same. The toilet takes does take forever to fill, the shower drains slow, there are not very many wall plug-ins for electronics...to name a few negative things. However, we found it very clean and certainly comfortable. There is a flat screen television now and the safe and fridge is in the closet. My only suggestion would be a small microwave, but we would have only used it to heat up coffee, so not a must. The grounds were swept clean every day. The staff was always friendly, helpful and professional. We enjoyed the local vendors each day in the lobby and we took advantage of the Hula lessons! We were not overly impressed with the Tiki grill, and at $8.25 for a Mai Tai, we had to limit ourselves there. Regardless, for a quick bite to eat on the beach, or a drink while watching the hula show....you can't beat it.
Upon landing, we hit the local Walmart. We found everything we needed there. Pop, chips, suntan lotion and we picked up our snorkel gear. For $30 bucks a set, we got a decent snorkel set that rents for $25 a day at the resort. We used them every day and then donated them to the hotel upon leaving rather then check them in our luggage. We found wine at the Walmart also, so we took our room ice bucket out onto the grounds and enjoyed a wine sunset. You can't beat that view, the breeze and the location. We saved a ton of money as we stocked our fridge, had chips and salsa for lunches and didn't spend a fortune doing it. One note, Hawaii passed a law that they don't use plastic bags at the grocery store, so the locals bring their own bag to take their purchases home. They did give us a box as we had a lot of stuff. However, if you forgot something, the ABC store in Whaler's Village is very reasonable. Another tip is the Kmart in Kahului supposedly has the best selection of Maui souvenirs for the best price.
You can get beach towels for free at the activity center on the beach. They just hand them out to you. Also, if you snorkel, once you get around the corner of Black Rock, the waves make it difficult swimming back around the point. So, if you venture that far or you let your children go that far, they should be very good swimmers. We had a very scary experience with this which is why I'm sharing it with you. In addition, the coral will cut you...and the locals diving off of Black Rock don't care if you are swimming below them so steer clear of them. Besides, mornings are the best to see fish and enjoy clearer water, the waves are calmer and the locals are still asleep!
We also did the road to Hana. If you go, pick up the CD tour guide. It is worth the twenty bucks in the gift shop or you can pick one up on Amazon if you have enough time before you leave. There is a ton of history on the CD and they tell you where to stop and where the trails and waterfalls are. This CD made our trip very informative and enjoyable. Just a note, we left the hotel at 6:00am and had lunch in Hana. We made it home by 5:00pm. Coming back was much quicker as we didn't stop for anything. The black sand beach was simply awesome!
For us, this trip was a special trip as it is probably our last trip as a family as my boys are headed to college and life! KBH made this trip so special in so many ways. From great service with a smile, to all the little details that go along with a vacation. It would be hard to go to Maui and not enjoy your trip unless your simply looking for something negative. There is so much to do and enjoy that KBH is a hotel you can relax in when you're not doing other things. Next time, we will be looking to save a little money and book a garden view room. The ocean view is stunning and worth the money. For us, money is a consideration. If it weren't for KBH, we would not be able to afford to stay on beach front property. If money isn't a concern, I suppose you can stay in a hotel similar to what you would find in any other city across the world. We never had any annoying smells, saw grime or gum or anything that would have made us consider our health was in jeopardy. We smelt good food, beautiful flowers and saw clean grounds as well as hear the constant sound of waves crashing and Hawaiian music. The pool was clean and my boys even got a free snorkel lesson in the pool. Just overall an outstanding vacation. I hope you also will find your stay at KBH to be the same! I would definitely recommend this hotel and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Consider Costco when booking! Pick up snacks at Walmart near the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dkbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.9 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.9 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,993 reviews
1.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,648 - ₹ 20,601
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing