We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“If she can stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If she can stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here two years in a row and will be back this year. yes its a bit dated but stay in the kauia- wing and maybe upgrade to pool view and really just enjoy the outdoor setting! The beach
is so pretty here and the water is safe. the walk to Whalers Village is 2 minutes and the Cane and Taro has really good breakfast! Try the local favorites!! Eating at the hotel is expensive for breakfast and not that tasty. sarah palin was staying with her family until pesky paparazzi showed up ..so if her family could enjoy this 1970's experience... so can the more relaxed of us! For the folks wanting to be in a modern high end resort this is not it. A relaxed, comfortable,
funky cool? you found it! Pool is not great but the beach is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    1,190
    387
    174
    106
See reviews for
867
1,815
81
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My partner and I just stayed for 8 days at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. First timers to Maui, we chose this location because of the great beaches. We were not disappointed! Great beach access with beautiful views of the island of Lana'i and Black rock beach where you can snorkel. Also, walking distance to Whalers Village which has great shopping. When you arrive you are treated to a welcome breakfast. The staff is so personable and with the decor I can see why it is the the most Hawaiian Hotel in Maui. When you leave the staff present you with a Lai and some Hawaiian culture exchange. (Shocked that some of the reviews said the decor was dated and 70ish, it is real Hawaiian decor not some cold and modern hotel rooms, if you want that kind of room stay in South Beach, Miami or dare I say some of the huge resorts on the island where you can't even get a chair to sit by the pool and with double or triple the price of this hotel) We paid a bit extra for the partial ocean view which was nice and the grounds with the lovely trees and flowers are the prettiest of the Ka'anapali hotel/resorts. Every room has a nice size patio and we kept our sliding glass doors open most of the time to enjoy the tropical breezes. What we certainly enjoyed most was that it had a such a relaxing atmosphere and only on the weekends did the pool area got a bit busy but never really crowed and there are more adults which really kept it peaceful. Free nightly entertainment, clean rooms, friendly staff, and the best location. We will hopefully be back very, very soon!

Room Tip: partial ocean view 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee77b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruitland, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel at the end of April 2012. I read all the reviews I could, and I am glad we chose this hotel. We stayed in the Kauai wing on the 5th floor with an ocean view. The room was nice, the staff was excellent! Everyone was friendly. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Maui. If you are looking for a "large resort" this is not where you want to stay. We never had problems finding a lounge chair by the pool or a nice spot at that beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimedwards44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Can't beat the location of this hotel! The ocean is right out your hotel room door. This is our 6th stay at KBH. The hotel has maintained its casual friendy hawaiian appearance. While we were there, April 2012, one wing of hotel was under construction. The staff called it ,"cosmetic
upgrades". The expanse of lawn and gardens- taro plants, palms and plumerias plus myna birds, sparrows, doves and golden plovers, lets you stretch out in the shade and enjoy Hawaii. The Tiki Grill located smack next to the lawns and pool is an inexpensive place for good mahi mahi sandwiches, wraps, salads and burgers. The Tiki Bar is right next door. The pool is small. There is no jacuzzi. The rooms are standard type with a small refrigerator. There is no microwave. There is a laundry room with washers/dryers- $1.75/load. There is a small grocery store near the lobby, and a gift shop. Locals bring their arts/crafts on certain mornings for sale in the lobby. Free kukui lei at end of trip. Breakfast buffet and menu. Also, the Tiki Terrace restaurant is $$$ and very good! Nightly local hawaiian music. The Trilogy desk for snorkel sets, whale and snorkel trips, sunset cruises etc. is on the property. Whalers Village is a very short walk. Maid service is on Hawaiian time - sometimes it's early sometimes it's not. There is a magic show/dinner called Kupuna. It was worth the price and enjoyable. I wouldn't see it again. This year was the first time we didn't receive the nightly cookies and turn down service from the hotel. Maybe they're cutting back. That was a nice touch.

Room Tip: My teenage boys like the bottom floor - pool view or partial ocean view rooms. They can walk right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

After a slightly disappointing first stage of our holiday in Hawaii we moved from the Big Island to Maui for six nights at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. We chose the hotel on the basis of guide books, TripAdvisor reviews and discussions with a travel agent. Thank you authors, reviewers and Carmel! We were certainly not disappointed.

For this part of our trip we hired a car which we picked up at Maui airport and drove to the hotel. The car park is at the side of the hotel and, conveniently, there is a passage from it to the hotel rooms on each floor.

The reception staff were helpful and welcoming when we arrived and the staff were pleasant throughout our stay. It was disappointing to find on arrival that there were red flags flying on the beach. We later discovered that this simply meant that no lifeguards were on duty, not that it was too dangerous to go swimming as it would in the UK and other beach resorts we have visited. However, there is good information at the Trilogy hut (mentioned below) about the sea and weather conditions. The hotel provided telephone messages when they really advised guests not to enter the water.

The hotel is separated from the beach only by delightful gardens and a path along the shore. Our room overlooked the gardens rather than the beach but this is no disadvantage and we still had fine views of the sunset. In fact we would recommend a garden view.

There are hotels all along the beach so it is no unspoilt tropical paradise. Ka'anapali is an American style resort with a shopping mall (the Whalers' Village) and a golf course. This is not a criticism but we mention it in case potential visitors are expecting something different. The Whalers' Village is only ten minutes walk from the hotel and has some excellent restaurants as well as a number of upmarket shops. As a result we had only a few meals in the hotel. The shops proved invaluable as it was rather cool in the evenings of our first few days (at the end of March) and we needed to buy some warmer clothing.

The hotel claims to be Hawaii's most Hawaiian hotel (we have only been to one other hotel in Hawaii and so cannot judge this claim). It was therefore surprising that our waitress apreared to be trying to dissuade us from choosing the traditional Hawaiian meal in the restaruant on our first evening. We are glad that we risked it as it proved to be very tasty and a welcome change from the more usual fare.

On our first morning we had a complimentary breakfast with a presentation which was largely an advertisement for various events taking place in the hotel. We also had an excellent breakfast in the hotel restaurant on our last morning before departing which made us wish that we had been there a few more times. There is also a bar in the gardens with light meals such as burgers.

The long sandy beach is the big attraction. It is splendid for swimming and just relaxing with a good book.

At the edge of the gardens on the path along the beach is a stall run by Trilogy, the sailing and watersports organisation, where snorkelling gear can be rented (we took our own) and trips and other activities can be booked. We booked a snorkelling trip to Molokini (which departed from Ma'alaea). Snorkelling is good but not as good as some places we have been, notably the Maldives. Part of the beach near the Black Rock promontory is popular for snorkelling but in our opinion was not outstanding. On our Trilogy snorkelling trip we saw whales from the boat, which was exciting, and turtles as well as colourful fish. It was captain Brad and his crew, however, who made the excursion great fun. We also saw whales from the beach by the hotel and from a popular lookout point on the road between Lahaina and Ma'alaea. Remember to take your binoculars! We understand that the season for whales is December to April.

I also booked a surfing lesson which was held on the beach not far from the hotel. I was expecting a group lesson but in fact had a one-to-one session with the instructor. I do not know whether this was just because no one else had booked for the same time. They guarantee that you will stand up on the board - and I did (just!). As a middle-aged non-athletic man from the other side of the world I am very pleased to say that I have surfed in Hawaii. My wife took photographs from the beach so I have the evidence.

As we had a car we spent perhaps half of our stay visiting other parts of Maui. We would recommend
anyone to do the same and in particular to drive up Haleakala, the dormant volcano which forms the Eastern part of Maui. This was an unforgettable experience. Although a review of one hotel is perhaps not the place for comments on all the places we visited we cannot miss the opportunity to mention Haleakala. There is a lot to see in Maui. As well as visiting Haleakala we spent afternoons at two other beaches (Kama'ole Park 3 and Kapalua) and spent one morning watching expert surfers negotiate huge waves at Ho'okipa on the North coast.

Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious with a view of the gardens and beyond them the sea.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we ever go back to Hawaii will think about staying at the Ka'anapali Beach hotel again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpcheshire1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.1 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.9 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
34.0 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,021 - ₹ 20,518
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing