We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“true aloha” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“true aloha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is an older hotel, only 4 stories, with comfortable rooms and wonderful atmosphere. The grounds had lovely mature shade trees, so we could laze on lounges in the shade and stroll out to the best beach on Maui for a dip. It has a sandy bottom, gentle surf, and beautiful views of Lanai and Molokai. Whaler's Village shops & restaurants (Hula Grill!) are a 5-minute walk. We felt welcomed, and the hotel had an intimate feel, so unlike the big high-rises down the beach a ways. They have a great outdoor tiki bar, an okay pool, a somewhat dark restaurant (we didn't try it), and nightly Hawaiian music and hula dancers on their outdoor stage. Some of it was a bit corny, but the kids were so cute (and they brought their ohana) that we clapped for them anyway. The room was very clean, and the fragrant Hawaiian breezes and sounds of the ocean at night were so restful. Excellent package deal (flight/hotel/car) through Alaska Airlines.

Room Tip: Maui wing is quiet. Lanai wing has best ocean views, but get a room away from tiki bar, as it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachfolks_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,862
    1,256
    407
    183
    114
See reviews for
942
1,944
89
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My family just returned from a wonderful week at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. We were there from April 5-April 12, 2012. This hotel was perfect for our family and in my opinion is the best place to stay in the Lahaina - Kaanapali area. Let me add this note of caution: If you want the latest, most modern amenities in a resort hotel, then this place will not be for you.

The hotel is an older hotel, especially compared to the properties down the beach. We found the hotel rooms to be clean and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. The grounds are spacious, well maintained, and the staff works hard to be friendly and make sure you enjoy your stay. It has a bar and snack bar right by the pool. Be sure to meet the bartender, Dale. He has been at the KBH for over 40 years and is something of a local legend.

Here are a few reasons to consider staying at the KBH:

It is very easy to get around at the KBH. A boardwalk/pathway is located next to the property and it allows you to easily walk around the area. It is great place for evening morning walks and getting to the Whalers Village.

The hotel is right on the beach, so no driving is required to get to and from the the beach. Because the KBH is a smaller hotel compared to the others, the beach in front of the hotel is typically less crowded. The beach is a great sandy beach for kids and swimming. It is very clean. There is a great place to take the kids snorkeling just a short walk down the beach to Black Rock. Our kids were so excited when a giant sea turtle cruised through the throng of snorkelers. Get to the Trilogy rental hut in the morning to reserve chairs and an umbrella before they sell out. Definitely worth it.

The pool is basic, but of an adequate size. I admit when I walked over to the lagoon pool at the hotel next door, I had pool envy. But after swimming in the lagoon pool with my kids, I soon realized that the novelty wears off quickly and that in order to watch your kids wind their way around the pool, you have to be in the pool with them. After that I appreciated the KBH pool a lot more. Another thing about the pools at the big hotels; I noticed during morning walks that people at the big hotels start reserving lounge chairs at 6:30 a.m. At KBH, we never had a problem finding chairs during any time of day.

Another reason we liked the KBH was its proximity to Whalers Village. Whalers Village, located one property down the beach, is a shopping mall with restaurants, shops, and stores. Again not having to drive to eat every meal was very nice. It has a small food court that offer some cheaper alternatives to the more expensive restaurants (note: the restaurants fill up quickly and it is not unusual for them to have wait time of over an hour). The mall also has an ABC store, where you can buy water, some grocery items, and all kinds of souvenirs.

The only thing I found missing at the KBH was a hot tub. I would have liked to been able to sit in one after a day at the beach.

We are planning to return to Maui and if we stay on the west side, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: A room that looks out toward the ocean will provide good people watching on the boardwalk and some g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, and the people there are very friendly. The service was very slow in the restaurant, so choose the buffet if you have a busy day planned. Also - be aware that there is no elevator in the original tower. We had a room on the third floor and had to haul all of our luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 1st April until 11th April '12. The hotel was lovely, we stayed in the Lanai wing, the room was spacious enough for a family of four. The grounds were beautifully maintained and each day we could walk out at any time and find four sunbeds and sit under shade and in relative privacy. The activities are great and if you are having a quiet day at the hotel it's a nice way to break the day up, they last anything from 20mins to 40mins and it's a great way to get to know the staff. The Whalers village is literally a 5min walk away and if you are on abudget or have (as we did) a fussy eater the food court is great, McDonalds, Subway, a Chinese and an Italian, our youngest likes plain food and the Italian did plain pasta for her no problem. The Trilogy hut is great and right next to the Hotel, we did the Whale watch and surfing. We swam in the ocean and down at black rock the turtles were around alot. We went to the Magic Show at the Hotel which was okay, a bit tired, and the food was not bad, however our food all arrived at different times and we only got one drink because the waitress was so busy. This was the only place on the Island were someone was actually very rude and that was the lady who takes the bookings for the Magic show, she was very unpleasent and actually this incident ruined the evening, on the whole I would say save your money and go and get a good meal somewhere else. If we visit Maui again we would certainly choose this hotel there is something very special about it, thanks go to all the staff who make it such a lovely relaxing place to be.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The rooms were nice, but normal hotel rooms with a simple Hawaiian motif... what really earns the place an "excellent" is the wonderful staff. From the front desk to the grounds person, everyone was very friendly and helpful. They really went out of the way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are comfortable, with a nice balcony and we had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 young children. Everything was clean and neat. The location right on the beach was great, every room is only steps from the pool or beach.

Room Tip: Get a pool veiw room in the Kuwai building, then you will also have a partial veiw of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFLmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
0.5 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,945 - ₹ 20,230
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing