We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach, clean rooms, friendly people, good prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great beach, clean rooms, friendly people, good prices”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our room on the first floor opened to the pool area and beach a short distance beyond. The pool was never crowded; we could get chairs any time of day. The first floor allows smoking on the lanai, but it was not intrusive. This was a nice change from busy resorts we've stayed at in the past where people "hold" their chairs with a towel for hours on end and never return. Beach towels are provided by the hotel and are always readily available in the housekeeping office. On-site coin-op laundry is great. For the price, you get a great deal here. Neighboring hotels (Sheraton, Westin) are substantially more. The rooms here are nothing fancy, but ours was very large for a family of 4 (depends on the building) and had an extra sitting area and extra twin bed. Stay here and save your money to use for ziplining, Road to Hana tour, and whale watching like we did! Our room was not ready at check-in, but we were issued free drink coupons for our slight delay. We purchased the breakfast/room package and the buffet was substantial enough to skip lunch. The beach is beautiful and said to be the best on Maui; we found no rocks, seaweed, or debris and did not need water shoes. The pool is larger than it appears in the pictures, and my kids enjoyed swimming in it. Free nightly entertainment is nice. Be aware that while in your room in the evenings, you'll be able to hear the band until about 9:00 pm. You won't find flat-screen tvs or fancy decor, but you will enjoy your stay if you're looking for an affordable, clean room.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer buildings and first floor if you want a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssKay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,915
    1,295
    422
    188
    119
See reviews for
990
1,994
92
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gadsden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Hotel and staff were very friendly and kind.
I had fallen and injured myself the day before and as our room was the furthest from everything, I asked managent for a room closer to the elevators and restaurant, which they were kind enough to give me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myra_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room on the 6th floor and the view was great. It was clean and there was plenty of room.

The location on the beach was great. It's a short walk to the Whaler's Village if you want to shop or get food outside of the hotel.


Close to Lahaina where you can find lots of shopping and excursions.

You can rent chairs for on the beach at the Trilogy booth. The price for 2 chairs and an umbrella until 6 pm was $35 which wasn't bad. If I was going to spend more time at the beach instead of going on excursions I would just buy a cheap beach chair at Kmart to use every day and leave it at the hotel when I left the island. Also, this booth is where you can arrange for a number of excursions or rentals for snorkling and other equipment.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so you had a great view of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this lovely hotel for four nights. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. Everyone was so welcoming from the moment we arrived until we left. We had great fun at the welcome breakfast where we were entertained and informed of activities and trips both at and arranged by the hotel. Our room was clean, large, airconditioned, and well presented, situated in the Molokai block. The hotel bar, restaurant, beach etc were adjacent to our block. All the staff were very friendly and very knowledgable of Hawaiian traditions and culture. We would highly recommend this hotel and it would be our first choice in Maui. The Whalers Village shopping complex is a few minutes walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linfield1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel was a huge disappointment. My husband and I booked our Honeymoon here. If you like to go on vacation and you don't care what your room looks like, then this is the place for you. But if you want a nicer, modern room, run far far away from this place quickly. When we entered the lobby, we immediately knew that this was not going to be a nice place. It looked like we had just gone back in time 40 years. There was no bellman to help with our bags. We arrived right at 3:30 which is their check in time and there was only one person at the front desk so there was a bit of a wait. Our first room had a terrible old wood musty smell which is probably because everything is wicker and about 30 years old. However, it did have an excellent view of the ocean. We asked the front desk if they had a recently renovated room that we could move into which they moved us to. They were very nice about it. I am still trying to figure out what was recently renovated (they said within the last three years) about the second room. It had no bad smell, but it looked exactly the same as the first with the exception of new nicer balcony furniture. We paid for an ocean view room, but we looked out on the lawn and the pool. You had to open the balcony and step all the way out on the balcony to see the ocean. The bathrooms have very old plumbing and you can hear everything going on next door. When they are in the shower you may as well get in too because you are going to hear everything. The faucets and shower heads have to be original. The grounds of this hotel are beautiful but their tiki bar restaurant has very old heavy lawn furniture with dirty pillows to sit on and their hula restaurant looks very old and also has an old musty dirty wood smell. 98% of the staff at this hotel were friendly and it is in a great locations. It has a parking garage, but I urge you to spend a few hundred more dollars and stay elsewhere. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane7127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,926 reviews
0.5 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,459 - ₹ 18,859
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing