We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning construction is going on !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warning construction is going on !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Saturday, March 22, 2008
Here I am in the hotel on our last day wishing things had been better. I booked (3) rooms for my family and hoped for a wonderful experience based on all of the great reviews.

The hotel is building a new restaurant adjacent to the pool. The work is just now in the demolition stage with jack hammers and tractors working and looks like it will be at least 6 to 9 months of work going on. The hotel plays some music real loud trying to mask the construction noise.

This is not only loud and distracting by the pool but it took another restaurant out of service so all of the people that got the breakfast included with their stay have to go to a single restaurant causing long waiting lines. (Like 30 to 45 minutes starting at 7:30 AM)

We are staying in the Atrium towers and the elevators have been having trouble all week. Nearly every day one or two of the elevators have been out of service. This puts a lot of traffic on the other elevator so there is always a line waiting to get on. To make it worse they make this Crack, Crack, Crack noise as they come to a stop on the bottom floor. I mentioned this to one of the maintenance crew and they acknowledge that this is normal. Yikes!! The elevator company service trucks have been at the back door all week and they only are able to rotate which elevator is working.

The remaining elevator doesn't seam to know to stop on the way down, so you must call the elevator to go up and get on and ride up a floor or two so you can ride down to your destination.

OK, so this morning the elevator doors sticks in the half open position and we are stuck in the elevator (8 of us) until I forcefully open the doors by pressing my body against them. My wife and I have been taking the stairs now (89 to the first floor yes we counted)

I called and reported the elevators and took the time to complain to the hotel manager about our disappointing stay. They offered to comp the hotel resort fee and apologized. I asked them to reevaluate the comp so they offered $600 total. I have just spent $16,000 in room fees and found this a little disappointing.

We would not have come if we new of the construction in advance I hope you are able to save a few travelers the full price this hotel charges even as it is under construction.

Sincerely,

Mike Miller

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Hotel has construction going on, elevators were in need of service, billings got messed up.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank atsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,015
    1,755
    820
    370
    189
See reviews for
1,707
2,955
83
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2008

The Hyatt Regency was absolutely beautiful! It is definately expensive, as are many restaurants/resorts in Hawaii. We had outstanding service upon checking in (after 9 pm even). Our reservations were just as we expected. The rooms were very nice. Yes, there are a few nicks on the furniture where guests have been less than careful. The beds were very comfortable. The sites, with the plants and wild life, were beautiful. Do be cautious of the mini bar and the snack tray. Items are set upon a tray with sensors...if you pick up an item to look at it...you will be billed for it. This was easily taken care of upon check out, however. The beach area was better than we were expecting. My husband and teenage son had a great time snorkeling just off to the side. An Activities Group (ie. pool volleyball, beach volleyball, boche ball, etc) would have been super for our older teens (similar to what the resorts have in Mexico), however, our 18 and 20 year old daughters had a very nice vacation lounging around the pools. Parking spots are tight. We had a rental minivan which was doable in the small spaces. I was thankful we didn't have an SUV. We went thru the Pacific Whale Foundation for our snorkeling trip and had a great time there. We had a bonus to our excursion with a Mommy and baby whale circling our boat! The Old Lahaina Luau was a wonderful experience as well.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank kmjolsness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We just finished a four night stay here after a glorious stay in Hana. What a disappointment this place was. The pool was very crowded with people jockeying for lounge chairs through out the day. Poolside service was great one day, non-existent the next. In fact,we gave up getting our drink order after our server diappeared for over 30 minutes and went to the bar ourselves.Then we paid her only to have her call our room later requesting payment again!
Another big problem was a lack of sit down food service for lunch-there basically is nothing other than a food court comparable to that found at the mall. Yikes,this for $400 a night!
To make for a perfect stay they nicked us $15/day resort fee for the privilege of in room coffee (like that at Motel 6),a newspaper and the right to hit the gym, which we really didn't need since we didn't get lunch!!!!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank SpokaneHikerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

I stayed at the Hyatt for our honeymoon last Feb. You expect your honeymoon to be perfect and wonderful and the Hyatt was just that! The grounds were beautiful and my husband and I strolled around at night. The luau performance was said to be the best around and it was, though a little expensive, but included food and drinks. The pool was very crowded at this time because of school vacations, so getting to the pool early was necessary. If you love the beach there is not much room directly in front of the hotel to lie out on, but if you walk to the edge of the property it opens up and the Hyatt offers different activities there, too. Since it was our honeymoon we went all out on the room. If you are able to I was suggest the ocean front room. It is quiet expensive, but worth the view as the bed faces the double glass sliding doors that open up to a small balcony that overlooks the pool and the beautiful, breathtaking ocean and surrounding islands! All staff was very nice and helped us answer all of our questions and set up different activities around the island like helicopter rides, sunset cruise, etc. They also have valet parking, which was very helpful at night when all guests usually went out to eat, or other extremely busy times! Great place and cant wait to go back some day!

  • Liked — The grounds and the accomidations
  • Disliked — really crowded
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Skister96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Upon arrival to our room we found dozens of flying bugs in our room. We could not even open the patio door because there was holes in the screen. Also,the room was not clean. When we asked to change rooms we were treated rudely. We were told that bugs this time of year are the norm and we should just accept that. In addition, the room was on the first floor by the in-house Medical Clinic and every time we left or returned to our room, there was a line of sick people in the hallway we had to walk by. The hallway smelled and the trash was overflowing.
We were initally told we would never be able to change rooms because the Hotel was booked for the entire time we were going to stay. We then talked to the manager and eventually we were moved to a new room and we bought cleaning products and cleaned the room ourselves. Luckily the room was located on the main floor because we did not have to depend on the elevators that we out of order. We have traveled extensively and we found this property to be overpriced and in need of improvements. This was our last stay at a Hyatt because it destroyed the trust we once had in the Hyatt name.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mij_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
37.2 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.9 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
2.7 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
36.4 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,638 - ₹ 48,134
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing