We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$ 279
US$ 224
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 436
US$ 388
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$ 231
US$ 214
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$ 308
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 466
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 336
US$ 286
Official Website
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 485
US$ 376
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 537
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$ 233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 1,402
US$ 1,351
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (6,986)
Filter reviews
6,986 results
Traveller rating
3,370
1,993
948
442
233
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,370
1,993
948
442
233
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan courtatrium towerour honeymoonbreakfast buffetswim up barexotic birdsself parkingresort feewalk in closetpool areawhalers villagelahaina towerkaanapali beachpartial ocean viewmaui resortocean frontkids pool
Filter
Updating list...
6,191 - 6,196 of 6,986 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2008

The Hyatt Regency was absolutely beautiful! It is definately expensive, as are many restaurants/resorts in Hawaii. We had outstanding service upon checking in (after 9 pm even). Our reservations were just as we expected. The rooms were very nice. Yes, there are a few nicks on the furniture where guests have been less than careful. The beds were very comfortable. The sites, with the plants and wild life, were beautiful. Do be cautious of the mini bar and the snack tray. Items are set upon a tray with sensors...if you pick up an item to look at it...you will be billed for it. This was easily taken care of upon check out, however. The beach area was better than we were expecting. My husband and teenage son had a great time snorkeling just off to the side. An Activities Group (ie. pool volleyball, beach volleyball, boche ball, etc) would have been super for our older teens (similar to what the resorts have in Mexico), however, our 18 and 20 year old daughters had a very nice vacation lounging around the pools. Parking spots are tight. We had a rental minivan which was doable in the small spaces. I was thankful we didn't have an SUV. We went thru the Pacific Whale Foundation for our snorkeling trip and had a great time there. We had a bonus to our excursion with a Mommy and baby whale circling our boat! The Old Lahaina Luau was a wonderful experience as well.

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank kmjolsness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We just finished a four night stay here after a glorious stay in Hana. What a disappointment this place was. The pool was very crowded with people jockeying for lounge chairs through out the day. Poolside service was great one day, non-existent the next. In fact,we gave up getting our drink order after our server diappeared for over 30 minutes and went to the bar ourselves.Then we paid her only to have her call our room later requesting payment again!
Another big problem was a lack of sit down food service for lunch-there basically is nothing other than a food court comparable to that found at the mall. Yikes,this for $400 a night!
To make for a perfect stay they nicked us $15/day resort fee for the privilege of in room coffee (like that at Motel 6),a newspaper and the right to hit the gym, which we really didn't need since we didn't get lunch!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank SpokaneHikerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

I stayed at the Hyatt for our honeymoon last Feb. You expect your honeymoon to be perfect and wonderful and the Hyatt was just that! The grounds were beautiful and my husband and I strolled around at night. The luau performance was said to be the best around and it was, though a little expensive, but included food and drinks. The pool was very crowded at this time because of school vacations, so getting to the pool early was necessary. If you love the beach there is not much room directly in front of the hotel to lie out on, but if you walk to the edge of the property it opens up and the Hyatt offers different activities there, too. Since it was our honeymoon we went all out on the room. If you are able to I was suggest the ocean front room. It is quiet expensive, but worth the view as the bed faces the double glass sliding doors that open up to a small balcony that overlooks the pool and the beautiful, breathtaking ocean and surrounding islands! All staff was very nice and helped us answer all of our questions and set up different activities around the island like helicopter rides, sunset cruise, etc. They also have valet parking, which was very helpful at night when all guests usually went out to eat, or other extremely busy times! Great place and cant wait to go back some day!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Skister96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Upon arrival to our room we found dozens of flying bugs in our room. We could not even open the patio door because there was holes in the screen. Also,the room was not clean. When we asked to change rooms we were treated rudely. We were told that bugs this time of year are the norm and we should just accept that. In addition, the room was on the first floor by the in-house Medical Clinic and every time we left or returned to our room, there was a line of sick people in the hallway we had to walk by. The hallway smelled and the trash was overflowing.
We were initally told we would never be able to change rooms because the Hotel was booked for the entire time we were going to stay. We then talked to the manager and eventually we were moved to a new room and we bought cleaning products and cleaned the room ourselves. Luckily the room was located on the main floor because we did not have to depend on the elevators that we out of order. We have traveled extensively and we found this property to be overpriced and in need of improvements. This was our last stay at a Hyatt because it destroyed the trust we once had in the Hyatt name.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Mij_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

My wife and I just returned from our wedding/honeymoon and had a wonderful experience at the Hyatt.

Room - Was in good condition, and had no complaints. Had a wonderful view of the Pool and Ocean from room 2019. Will try to add pictures at a later time.

Pool - Seem to get a little crowed, but had no problems coming down later in the day to get a spot. Alot of people begin laying towles around 7am to save spots, but we did notice letters from the pool "people" saying that if the chairs were not occupied in a hour the towels would be removed. Pool seemed to be in great shape. Drinks from the pool area area pretty expensive around $10 / drink, but your in Hawaii and at this type of resort your going to pay the price. Ate once or twice from the pool menu and food was pretty good.

Resturants - Ate at Swan Court, and had excellent experience every morning. Seemed a little pricy at $27 for the breakfast buffett, but we had the free buffett card for breakfast, and that work out great. Often was able to pass lunch due to still be full from breakfast.

Beach - Yes the beach area is very small if any, but just walk down a 100' and you have a excellent area to relax at.

Workout facilites - Did not use, but walked in and it look pretty nice. I work out regular at home ane the facilitiy would have been nice for a vacation.

Overall stay here was excellent, and would return here at the Hyatt anytime. I got a little scared after reading recent reviews, but glad we spent our time here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gundo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews