We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fantastic Stay at The Palms! Best condo in South Maui!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palms at Wailea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms at Wailea
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Stay at The Palms! Best condo in South Maui!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just returned from a 9 day stay here with my wife and 2 daughters aged 8 and 4. This is our second stay here but first in a two bedroom unit. We rented this unit through vacation rental buy owner website and it is managed by Maui Car and Condo. We had unit 704 which has recently been reno'd and has garden and ocean views from the lanai. It is a second floor unit with a massive fully furnished lanai. This unit is beautifully decorated, furnished and finished. Comes equipped with everything and more than you will need including gass BBQ on the lanai, 2 sets of golf clubs and a huge box on the lanai stuffed full of several sets of beach equipment, chairs, cooler, boogie boards, beach umbrella, etc, etc. Beds were probably most comfortable we have ever slept on with top end linens too. The art in the unit is also fantastic. Kitchen was equipped as good as ours at home, with granite countertops as well. Unit also has granite in all the bathrooms as well as parts of the flooring. This place is top shelf 5 star all the way.

Had a new flat screen HD TV, nice new stereo with compatible iPhone and iPod docking station, DVD player, free wifi, radio alarm clocks in both bedrooms ... Wow! What a place!

Only minor complaint about the place was that the free wifi was spotty and only worked about half the time due the the provider, Time Warner Oceanic server being down or offline constantly. Wifi signal is strong, but server was crappy. I would strongly suggest that he owners find a new provider. Only other slight weakness at Palms is that the pool could be a little bigger and that more chairs would be good during peak times. Appreciated the perfect water temperature and that it is non chlorinated and salt water too. The hot tub is also excellent. Outrigger front desk staff and staff at Maui Car and Condo were also friendly, helpful and professional.

Lots of beautiful birds always chirping and singing on the property and some cool little lizards too.

The grounds and setting at Palms are also immaculate, serene and heavenly. This is paradise! We will return and hopefully stay in this unit again. If we win the lottery, this is where we are buying! Can't recommend this place more strongly! Fantastic! Can't wait to return and we just left yesterday!

Room Tip: Try to get a unit with ocean views and off of the road. North side of complex seems to be best locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    129
    36
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
102
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
210 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

had high hopes, but very disappointed. lots of ants in kitchen, ceiling fans dirty and not dusted, ac in master bedroom broke, screen doors don't slide too. the pool is so far away too, it was such a hike uphill.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kdooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

First impression was good. Stayed in Unit 1503 which was bright and spacious. Kitchen was fully equipped & there was a BBQ on the patio which we made good use of. The unit was what I would consider "surface clean" and could do with a thorough cleaning, and the kitchen appliances could do with updating, as could the main bathroom. The dining room chairs looked none-too-clean and the blinds need replacing throughout the unit.

If you have small children and stay on the ground level, you will need to watch them as there is a stream that runs from the top to the bottom of the property with pools along the way. The garden setting was lovely, tons of little birds, but beware of falling palm fronds/branches!!

Pool and hot tub area is nice, but we only used this after 9 when all the little kids were in bed.

Front desk staff were exceptional - helpful and friendly. They lent us a cooler for the week.

All in all, I would not stay here again as, in the final analysis, the unit was not clean enough for my standards. Also, for me, the property was too far from the "action" for my liking and the area is very manicured. There are no places to nip out to and grab a coffee or a pint of milk within walking distance, although there is a nice beach only a 5 minute stroll away. Another personal downside was this unit got no sun at all, so no lounging on the patio in the morning or evening sun.

Room Tip: If you stay on ground level, you can hear the upstairs people. Unit 1503 receives no sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

For years, our family has visited "The Palms" and we can't imagine staying anywhere else. Since my first visit a few years ago, we've added a baby into the family...which makes the Palms even better.

Very reasonable rates, great amenities, quiet (enough), accessible, and incredibly friendly staff. Even though we're only there for a couple of weeks, the staff seems to remember us and cares to ask how we've been since the last visit.

Highly recommend the Palms.

Room Tip: If you're renting a unit, make sure to get a unit on the lower-level and around the grassy area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XclusiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My family & I have stayed at the Palms at Wailea a total of 7 visits. We honestly would not stay anywhere else on Maui. The spaciousness & privacy of condo living cannot be matched by any of the hotels nearby !!! Having said that, the one thing about the Palms that rankles is the wide variation in quality of the units, regardless of the category. On visits in 2010 & again in 2012 we were assigned Unit 1002 which is in the oceanview category. There is a lovely oceanview so the category is justified, however the unit needs work in terms of basic furnishings and amenities. For starters both the master & extra beds need new matresses. Either the owner or Outrigger have simply elected to put a layer of foam over each matress to extend the life of the mattress....very CHEAP!!! The seat cushions in the dining area are not attached the chairs so when you get up the seat cushion slides off. The kitchen utensils were very basic and did not include any kind of roasting pan or casserole dish (we purchased foil pans at Safeway). The lanai seems a bit small compared to others. There were no serious issues with cleanliness or housekeeping. I think that having Terminix spray each unit every month is a really good idea in a tropical setting. On visits in 2011 & 2006 we feel that we were assigned much better units (1509 & 2302). Unit 2302 in particular was very well cared for. We tried to get that or 1509 again but they were unavailable the first week of our visit. While we would not stay anywhere else & admire greatly the public areas of the complex, I don't think that Outrigger should permit such a wide variation in quality. Don't accept Unit 1002 if offered (we won't again). It would be worth downgrading for a better quality unit..

Room Tip: Avoid Unit 1002
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_CNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.6 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.9 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
37.0 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.3 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.7 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms at Wailea

Property: Palms at Wailea
Address: 3200 Wailea Alanui Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,122 - ₹ 25,736
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms at Wailea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Palms At Wailea Hotel Kihei
Outrigger Kihei
Kihei Outrigger
Palms At Wailea Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing