We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families - a lovely community feel”
Review of Maui Sunset Condos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Sunset Condos
Ranked #4 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here recently for 3 weeks, with our 18month old son. The Complex is extremely well maintained, with beautiful gardens, large grass areas, pool, small putting green area, and a few other games for older kids.

We couldn't fault the complex itself - very 80s in style, but extremely well looked after. Its a great location for sunsets - just wonder out of your condo across the lawns and public park area, to the edge of the ocean. Pool area is lovely with plenty of seating/lounges, and a hot tub. They also have standup paddle boards for rental at reasonable prices. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

Location is more North Kihei, with grocery stores about 10-15minutes walk away, so pretty convenient, although no paved walkways, so cars are fairly necessary on Maui.

We stayed in condo #108A, which was ground floor - and leads directly from the lanai out to the common grass area. About midway down the building, so was good location for access to bbq's, grass for playing, and putting green. Its great for children - Our little one could just wonder out, visit the neighbouring children playing, all whilst still in sight of us. I also recommend the A side of the building, as the car park area backs onto another condo complex, where as the B side car park backs on to the road which provides public access to the beach and park, meaning its a bit more busy. There is a bus stop out the front on South Kihei road, which was only $1, and comes every hour. If you are not in a hurry, then this is very convenient to go towards Wailea, including Kamaole beach parks along the way.

The condo itself provided all the necessary items, including beach gear (umbrella, boogie boards, esky/cooler, etc) and plenty of kitchen accessories. The bathroom and kitchen and living room were also recently refurbished with new tiles and furnishings which was nice. It also has 2 murphy beds in the living room for extra guests. Having our own laundry was also very convenient.

Only downside we found was the carpet in the bedroom desperately needs replacing - on our arrival it was noticeably dated and a bit smelly, for which I contacted the management agent who quickly had a steam cleaner visit. So, quickly serviced, but I think the age and quality of the carpet needs replacing and when this happens, it would make a big difference.

For the special spring price, and beachfront location, its probably hard to beat in this area.

Beaches further south are preferable to the beach out front - we hardly swam here, but made our way down to Wailea and Makena, which have much nicer beaches with fine sand and crystal blue waters.

Room Tip: Choose A side of the building for less noise compared to B. (B has public access road behind their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Metcalf-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 279 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

The whole process from calling to booking to arriving late in the evening, staying, and unfortuneatly-leaving, was totally amazing! Everything was perfect, and especially when we arrived to our unit, we had a most pleasant surprise by being upgraded to a larger 2 bedroom unit, that we did not expect! The kids had their own room and bathroom and we had a king size bed and ensuite with a bath, which I like to use! It was clean, and very comfortable especially with the 2 ceiling fans on the lanai, and in every room. Mostly quiet, except for the early tennis players and late poolside kids noises, it was great through the night. I would suggest pool time be moved up for kids to 9pm, and adult time 10pm, would help in the noise level being better for sitting on the lanai doing reading, or listening to the waves.
We found the location very convenient to the Safeway mall, and the Azeka mall with Stella Blues resteraunt, and other stores, post office, and Longs Drugs & McDonalds & Jack in the Box. Also close to drive to Kahului, and Lahina,
We would definitely book again, and are making plans to pick our dates for next year! Thank you so much Maui Sunset!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryKelowna_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Truly a hidden gem! We stayed in Building B# 414 and booked direct with Maui Sunset online. When I booked, there was not many oceanfront properties available as it was during a springbreak and there were a lot of Canadians here as well. Not expecting much but booking based on Tripadvisor member reviews, I went ahead and booked our vacation for 10 days.
We have 2 teenagers and while the general age group here is at min 50+..the teenagers loved it! B#414 was SUPERCLEAN and had a gorgeous view of the grounds, tennis courts and sunsets..1 bedroom/2 baths means a sofabed. The teens said it was super comfortable; I'm happy to hear that! No complaints with our bed either. A single murphy bed is available as well and we didn't use it (keep in mind you would have to be 5'2" and under to be comfortable on this murphy bed). Kitchen was fantastic too! Decent, decent kitchenware available...so nice to have that in a rental. The whole unit was SUPERCLEAN!! Our only complaint would be to have some of the basics be stocked...there was no pepper, no salt, no laundry soap and just enough t/p for our 10 day stay..I think for the price/night paid these little necessities could be supplied but this did not distract us from having a wonderful stay at Maui Sunset.

This would be a good place for families with young kids, teenagers, seniors, tennis players and people who plan on staying poolside for their visit. There is a narrow strip of rocky beach really only good for walking on to catch the beautiful sunsets or like to have the beauty of the expansive well kept grounds around them. The amenities available here are good as well. Wifi included, lots of parking and close to The Cove, Kameole 1, 2 and even 3 (abit of a walk for 3).

I have no hesitation in booking Maui Sunset B#414 again. Many of the units are available on VRBO and other sites like that as well, so it is quite possible that every unit will vary.


Mahalo!

Room Tip: Two buildings A and B and I think it is 6 floors in total. All have a decent view of either the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MauiMamaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

After reading the previous review titled "welcome to shady pines", I felt compelled to write this review. My family and I have stayed here numerous times over the past 7 years. It is a very low key and peaceful facility. It also has the largest pool in Kihei.

Below are a few facts the previous reviewer failed to research or tell the truth.

The pool aerobics takes place on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 9-9:50 AM and everyone is welcome to participate or just swim.

The facility is owned by private owners who either live there year round, own a timeshare or rent them out. Not by Boss Frogs.

The previous reviewer failed to mention the activities lady by the pool gave them all of there money back.

There are some people that are never satisfied and I suspect the previous reviewer is one of them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SherryLinn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

So have you ever watched Golden Girls? If so, you'll understand the title of my review. The condos are overrun with the elderly. Hey, I have nothing against older folks, but I don't know, it just felt as though I was vacationing at a retirement community (we are in our early 30s). There were a few other families there, but by and large it was a lot of older people. One nice thing about vacationing at the Maui Sunset is that it was extremely quiet! But one very annoying thing about Maui Sunset is that the old lady water aerobics class takes over the ENTIRE pool each morning. I got a little fed up with that after a few days as my child liked to swim first thing after breakfast and she had to be confined to a small corner of the pool while they did their water exercises for an hour. The complex is definitely aging (probably built in the 70s) and the buildings aren't much to look at, but they pay meticulous attention to the grounds. The beach that it is situated on is not nice at all. You definitely wouldn't want to swim there. It really isn't much of a "beach" per se, maybe a few feet of sand and then there's the water. It's good if you want to go out and do paddle boarding or just walk along the sand and pick up shells, but it's not good for much else. The pool is okay, pretty much commensurate with what the buildings looks like. They do have a large hot tub which came in handy during the cool mornings and evenings. There are plenty of lounge chairs by the pool, so you don't feel like you have to get there early to get one. The condo we stayed in was very nice and well appointed. All of the floor plans are the same, but from sneaking a peek at other units on our way to the pool, they are definitely not all furnished the same. Our condo had recently been updated. We were in a one bedroom unit. The bedroom had a queen-size bed and full bath. The living room featured a single murphy bed that pulled out of the wall and a pull out couch, both pretty uncomfortable, but a good place to put kids since they rarely complain about the comfort of a bed. Off of the living room is another full bath, but it is basically the size of a closet. It features a shower, tub and sink. Again, good for kids. The condo had a full kitchen with dishes, etc. We went to the local Safeway and picked up breakfast and lunch items and then would eat dinner out, saving us a lot of money. Each unit also has a nice outdoor patio/lanai with a table and chairs. The best part of this condo in my eyes was having the washer and dryer in the unit. It came in handy after a long day at the beach with wet/sandy clothes and towels. They don't provide beach towels, so make sure to bring your own. Our unit had two boogie boards, some beach chairs and an umbrella, which were nice to take to the beach each day. The front office was nice, but completely unhelpful with any and all questions that we came to them with. The condos are in Kihei. I did not like Kihei, it was a little run down compared to the other parts of the island that we visited. If I had to do it again, I would stay in either Wilea or Kaanapali/Lahaina. Wilea is really beautiful and features some amazing (albeit extremely expensive) resorts and some really great restaurants. Kaanapali is a lot more populated with a high concentration of resorts and condos right on the beach and some good shopping at Whalers Village. Kihei had a lot of bars and little dive restaurants, just not our scene really. I like Wilea because like Khei, it is situated on the dessert side of the island which sees very little rain each year (approx 10 days of rain per year) so you don't have to worry about rain spoiling your vacation. Something to be aware of is that it is usually cool in the early mornings and evenings on Maui, so bring a light jacket or sweater. Also, the trade winds are predictable, they come in at about 11 am each day, so the afternoons can be really windy. Do snorkeling trips in the early morning or you'll be subject to some pretty choppy waters.

OKAY so here's a VERY important tidbit of information for those of you deciding to vacation at the Maui Sunset, so read carefully. Upon arrival, the front desk will give you a little flyer that tells you about an "orientation and continental breakfast" each morning down at the activities desk near the pool. First off, the "continental breakfast" is a few stale cookies/muffins and a little bit of pineapple. They play it off like a helpful session to tell tourists all about Maui. In reality, it's a sales pitch for paid activities or tourist traps. For full disclosure, Maui Sunset is owned by Boss Frogs, a company that does all of the touristy snorkling, boat, bus, etc trips. Any stuff that the activities desk sells to you, they get a cut of, so my suggestion is to just do some internet research and buy the tours (if that's something you want to do) on your own. The lady that ran the activities desk and led our "orientation" (whose name I shall keep private) gave us some misinformation about a few of the trips she sold us. She sold us the Hana Adventure Tour which was done by Polynesian Adventure Tours. She told us things were included on the tour which turned out to be false. Needless to say, we were NOT happy. We spent $525 total for our party of 4 adults and 1 child to sit on a hot sweaty bus for 10 hours and waste an ENTIRE day of our 7 day vacation. So in a nutshell, don't go to the Maui Sunset "orientation" it is a waste of your time and you might get sucked into being sold on something that is not great because they are trying to make a buck off you. After the Hana trip from Hell, we actually canceled the other trips that we booked with the lady down at the activities desk because we just didn't trust her and didn't want to flush any more money down the toilet. It's a racket, so beware. The people at the activities desk pretend to be helpful, but at the end of the day they are there just to make money off you.

Our experience at the Maui Sunset was average. I would not stay there again, but I'm not looking back on it wishing that we hadn't stayed there, if that makes sense. The condo was clean and pleasant on the inside and the grounds are nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawaiiheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
3.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
5.8 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 62 in Kihei
536 reviews
3.4 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#6 of 62 in Kihei
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
1.5 km away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
5.4 km away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#12 of 62 in Kihei
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sunset Condos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunset Condos

Address: 1032 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9197
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: ₹ 12,569 - ₹ 22,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Sunset Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Sunset vacation condominiums are one of the best deals Maui has to offer. Maui Sunset offers low rental prices for a quality oceanfront property with all of the vacation amenities. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a vacation 'suite' for half the price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Sunset Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunset Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunset Condos Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing