We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
355
369
143
88
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
369
143
88
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle resorts across the street stayed in building building room pool area beach chairs through vrbo partial ocean view boogie boards garden view kam iii beach grounds are lovely mai tai washer and dryer air conditioning specific unit beautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
830 - 835 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2008

I booked this place very last minute on Expedia for a 2 day business trip. I just loved the location. The grounds are beautiful with lots of green grass, fountain, waterfall, and a large pool area. The condo unit I got was in excellent condition. But the best thing is the nice sandy beach right across the street. Along side the beach, there is also a beach park, where lots of people gathered int the evenings to enjoy the sunsets. I actually got to enjoy the beach and the sunsets quite a bit during my short stay there. The sunsets were beautiful! There are several restaurants nearby within walking distance.
I had an one bedroom on the 3rd floor. The unit was clean and very well stocked. This complex seems to be very family friendly.
I think Kam Sand's location and amenities give this place the best value on Maui. I will definitely book here the next time I go to Maui with the wife and kids.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TAP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

about a 25 minute drive from the airport,stop at costco just outside airport exit for water and fruit,walmart is not far from costco on the way to condo.
the one bedroom condo had a great view and was furnished in contemporary whicker and was very comfy,in the morning the birds sounded great sitting on the balcony drinking our coffee.
in the evening the pool was a short walk behind the condo down a path with coy pools and beautiful flowers.
the ac is quite far from the bedroom so you need the fans on to circulate air and the stove was a little wonky, but very clean ,dish washer was great and loved the ice machine.
shopping is quite far away as well as restraunts.
the beach is across t6he road at a park but there were many signs saying not to swim,there is a beach5 miles up island.
great weather made our stay here very enjoyable,we will come back,hope to see you there.

Date of stay: October 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cuda1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami6, owner at Kamaole Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2008

Kam III is right across the street...a beautiful beach...We have owned 13 years at this complex and have NEVER seen a "no swimming sign" at the beach.....shopping and restaurants are close by....within walking distance...a wonderful complex!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

I've noticed many negative reviews of the Sands on this website. We couldn't have been more pleased with our condo. We were staying with our 3 young boys and have never had a holiday and were quite anxious that everything be OK. Building 10- #402 was absolutely perfect. 2 bedrooms a pull down bed in the living room. obviously recently reno'd. Lots of clean towels and even boogie boards, sand toys and snorkel gear in a closet. The owner obviously cares. The pool was really nice too, and the BBQ's were readily available. I've heard others say that this wasn't their experience. I would strongly recommend asking for this condo or another recently updated one.

Have a great trip

Date of stay: March 2008
3  Thank momijenpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

We recently had a week's stay at Kamaole Sands, arranged by a travel agent through Castle Resorts. Our 3-bedroom condo (for 7 people) had positives and negatives:

Positives:
*Landscaping and grounds, in general, were very well-kept and quite attractive
*Pool area is large, very clean with good loungers, tables, chairs
*Location in Kehei is good - close to beach (though we prefer to stay on the beach), close to restaurants, markets, etc.
*Personnel at desk were polite and helpful, both at check-in and check-out
*Tour guide at Expedia provided good information on Maui at the complimentary breakfast provided on your first morning

Negatives:
*Condo was directly opposite the elevator. Noise from the parking lot and people using the elevator was quite disturbing late at night, since one bedroom is about 20 feet from the elevator.
*Patio/lanai furnishings were old and inadequate. Seating accommodated only 4 people.
*Dining table was small and seated only 4 people. There were small stools at the kitchen counter, however.
*Air conditioner was very noisy and did not adequately cool the entire condo.
*Carpet was dirty in several places
*Beds were kings, but mattresses were definitely in need of replacing.

Recommendations:
*Rent through individual owners so that you can see photos of the condo you are renting and, if necessary, talk to the owner to determine location in the complex. (Some condos are definitely in better locations with good ocean views and away from parking lots and elevators!)
*If you don't rent from the owner directly, ask to see the condo before moving all your things into it. Apparently, the condos available for rent vary immensely in terms of their cleanliness, overall condition, and location.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

.........all buildings have 4 floors...........
Me and my family have been to Maui twice, the first time was with parents and they paid for everything, second time.... we had to so we wanted to find something nice close to the beach but not to expensive..... thats when we found kamaole sands..... the location is perfect its just a walk across the street and you are at a beautiful beach..... the ground are beautiful and very well taken care of very tropical....there are bbq areas that you can use....very close walking distance to anywhere in kihei ....great location...... i have read most of these reviews before booking our trip here and was a little nervous.... you can book a room but they don't tell you which one you are in until you check in..... what we did is called and requested a level a room and that should at least put you at the top of the list but you never know... we went with another group that stayed in a room in building 5 the view was gorgeous they were on the top floor and you could see all the ground and the beach and ocean from there balcony..... the room was a little outdated but it was clean and taken care of...... we stay in the 4th building we had no view of the ocean but there was beautiful trees and greenery all around and our room was recently remodeled and they did a beautiful job granite counter tops and all.... oh and just a little tip... if you get a 2 bedroom on the top floor which is the 4th floor your room will have stairs in it and at the top of the stairs that is the master room and other bathroom...... no doors...... and in the 2 bedroom on regular floors the master bathroom is behind the door to get in the room..... we didn't even know we had a bathroom until the end of the night.... hahahah silly us..... the front desk people were so nice always had a smile and we really felt like they were there for us at all times.... we loved this place would defiantly go back to Maui and def stay here again.......

Date of stay: February 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dirtydsolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews