We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great condo, great location”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #15 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Rented a one level 2 bdrm condo in #10 -214 through VRBO, after doing much research on the web on where to stay. Unit was recently updated with very nice furnishings, had everything you needed including beach equipment and had a lovely view of the fountains and ocean. Only thing I could see that could be a problem in the summer is no air conditioners in the bedrooms.
The grounds are very nice as well as the pool, though the ground attendants can be fairly strict, my kids were told they couldn't kick a beach ball on the grass because it made too much noise. The only noise complaints we had were the occasional late time party crowd coming home from bars, but security put an end to their noise very quickly, and I'm sure this happens in every condo complex.
The location is very good, just over the road from Kam 3 and a 5 minute walk to the stores. We enjoyed many of the beaches nearby in Wailea and Makena. We even went and spent a night at the Westin Maui in Kaanapali on a points reward, but preferred the condo and more down to earth crowd in Kihei.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank skibcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 772 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2008

I booked this place very last minute on Expedia for a 2 day business trip. I just loved the location. The grounds are beautiful with lots of green grass, fountain, waterfall, and a large pool area. The condo unit I got was in excellent condition. But the best thing is the nice sandy beach right across the street. Along side the beach, there is also a beach park, where lots of people gathered int the evenings to enjoy the sunsets. I actually got to enjoy the beach and the sunsets quite a bit during my short stay there. The sunsets were beautiful! There are several restaurants nearby within walking distance.
I had an one bedroom on the 3rd floor. The unit was clean and very well stocked. This complex seems to be very family friendly.
I think Kam Sand's location and amenities give this place the best value on Maui. I will definitely book here the next time I go to Maui with the wife and kids.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TAP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

about a 25 minute drive from the airport,stop at costco just outside airport exit for water and fruit,walmart is not far from costco on the way to condo.
the one bedroom condo had a great view and was furnished in contemporary whicker and was very comfy,in the morning the birds sounded great sitting on the balcony drinking our coffee.
in the evening the pool was a short walk behind the condo down a path with coy pools and beautiful flowers.
the ac is quite far from the bedroom so you need the fans on to circulate air and the stove was a little wonky, but very clean ,dish washer was great and loved the ice machine.
shopping is quite far away as well as restraunts.
the beach is across t6he road at a park but there were many signs saying not to swim,there is a beach5 miles up island.
great weather made our stay here very enjoyable,we will come back,hope to see you there.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cuda1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami6, owner at Kamaole Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2008

Kam III is right across the street...a beautiful beach...We have owned 13 years at this complex and have NEVER seen a "no swimming sign" at the beach.....shopping and restaurants are close by....within walking distance...a wonderful complex!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

I've noticed many negative reviews of the Sands on this website. We couldn't have been more pleased with our condo. We were staying with our 3 young boys and have never had a holiday and were quite anxious that everything be OK. Building 10- #402 was absolutely perfect. 2 bedrooms a pull down bed in the living room. obviously recently reno'd. Lots of clean towels and even boogie boards, sand toys and snorkel gear in a closet. The owner obviously cares. The pool was really nice too, and the BBQ's were readily available. I've heard others say that this wasn't their experience. I would strongly recommend asking for this condo or another recently updated one.

Have a great trip

Stayed: March 2008
3  Thank momijenpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

We recently had a week's stay at Kamaole Sands, arranged by a travel agent through Castle Resorts. Our 3-bedroom condo (for 7 people) had positives and negatives:

Positives:
*Landscaping and grounds, in general, were very well-kept and quite attractive
*Pool area is large, very clean with good loungers, tables, chairs
*Location in Kehei is good - close to beach (though we prefer to stay on the beach), close to restaurants, markets, etc.
*Personnel at desk were polite and helpful, both at check-in and check-out
*Tour guide at Expedia provided good information on Maui at the complimentary breakfast provided on your first morning

Negatives:
*Condo was directly opposite the elevator. Noise from the parking lot and people using the elevator was quite disturbing late at night, since one bedroom is about 20 feet from the elevator.
*Patio/lanai furnishings were old and inadequate. Seating accommodated only 4 people.
*Dining table was small and seated only 4 people. There were small stools at the kitchen counter, however.
*Air conditioner was very noisy and did not adequately cool the entire condo.
*Carpet was dirty in several places
*Beds were kings, but mattresses were definitely in need of replacing.

Recommendations:
*Rent through individual owners so that you can see photos of the condo you are renting and, if necessary, talk to the owner to determine location in the complex. (Some condos are definitely in better locations with good ocean views and away from parking lots and elevators!)
*If you don't rent from the owner directly, ask to see the condo before moving all your things into it. Apparently, the condos available for rent vary immensely in terms of their cleanliness, overall condition, and location.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
35.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,215 reviews
0.3 km away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.9 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
35.6 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: ₹ 9,989 - ₹ 30,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamaole Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing