We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamaole Sands
Nearby Hotels
US$ 548
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 553
US$ 490
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 190
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
US$ 721
US$ 674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 508
US$ 468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
US$ 406
US$ 365
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 545
US$ 457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 800
US$ 771
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 296
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 209
US$ 193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
339
358
136
85
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
358
136
85
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle resortsacross the streetstayed in buildingbuilding roompool areabeach chairsmai tai partythrough vrboboogie boardskam iii beachpartial ocean viewgarden viewgrounds are lovelyair conditioningspecific unitbeautiful propertywasher and dryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you rent this place knowing that any ocean view is extremely limited, then you'll probably be very satisfied. I've heard that some of the units are not well kept and/or very old. However, we rented from the Kamaole Sands website who contracts with the individual owners. That way, if we were unhappy with the unit, we may be able to switch. As it turns out, we were 'upgraded' to a well-kept, 3 bedroom unit (1-401) and it made for a perfect stay in Kiehe. The grounds are wonderful - and the lighted fountains are cool at night. The barbeques are kept immaculate (each day someone goes out and cleans them). The pool party was a fun treat. This place is full of families - many 3-generation groups here.
The beach across the street is wonderful and only a short walk. They had to close the beach about 4 weeks after we were there because of a shark sighting - but that could happen anywhere in Hawaii. On that trip we also stayed up in Napili. We love it up there, but we had to drive back down to Kihei to get some sun - Napili is definitely wetter.

Room Tip: If you like fish tacos - try Coconuts down the street to the right about 1 mile.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Three generation family vacation...
2 - 204 Booked through Maui Condo and Car Rental.
We had to pay for the Unit 30 days ahead of time.(Make sure you receive the lock box code before arriving)
Centrally located, this one bedroom unit was totally renovated with view of gardens, pool, and Ocean. The bed was a little on the soft side for our liking. We were not able to obtain unit in until 5:00 in afternoon, but were able to put our luggage in room at 3:00. Would rent this suite again.

5 - 205 Booked this two bedroom Unit through Castle Kamaole Sands, with just a deposit needed. Suite is partially renovated with view of swimming pool, garden and ocean. (Close to the pool) It would be appreciated if Beach Towels were provided. On a few occasions our key cards stopped working, so a few a quirks needs to be worked out here. Final payment was at end of our nine day stay.
***
Our family, five adults and two children would definitely stay here again because of the location and amenities. It was Spring Break so there were many children which made it FUN for the our children. Kam 111 beach right across the road is perfect for families with children... They especially loved snorkelling with the turtles.
The grounds are beautifully kept up and the Wednesday afternoon Mai Tai event was appreciated.
A friendly suggestion to Kamaole Sands would be have an information sheet for new arrivals, as lady at the reception desk was new and not able to answer many of our questions.
Looking forward to coming back here with all the family! Mahalo!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have stayed at Kamaole Sands two times. The grounds are pristine and the pool and BBQ areas are great. The locatino of KS is fantastic. You can walk to the beach right across the street, you can walk for dinner or to get icecream. We rented directly through Kamaole Sands, and will not be doing that again. It is basically a sutie that is site unseen and they have no standards of the amenities within each unit. When we arrived we were happy to see that we were in building 6. This is an inside unit facing the inner court yard and close to the pool which is ideal. The suit itself was not so nice. First off, it is carpetted throughout. Carpet and Maui just don't mix! Secondly, it is not well stocked. The kitchen was missing many utensils (such as BBQ utensils) and small appliances (such as a blender). We didn't have access to the lanai closet, therefore we did not have beach towels, umbrella, cooler, boogie boards etc that you would expect to have renting a unit in Maui. When we called the front desk to complain, they said there was nothing they could do about it and if the owners were "nice enough" they would leave those things for their guests, but there was no standards as to what needed to be in each suite. We were very disappointed as we paid $175/night which was extremely high for what we got. Some suites are renovated and are extreemely nice. I suggest renting throug VRBO.com so at least you know what you will be getting.

Room Tip: Inner court yard buildings are the best and the ones at the back, closer to the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, Front Office Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Aloha Tripadvisor. This is in regards to the comments made about 6-306 which is a condo that is managed by Castle Resorts and Hotels and not Maui Condo. I have a question as to why Marina Sands is allowed to solicit Maui Condo and Home. Kamaole Sands is an individually owned property with multiple management companies that represent them. Marina Sands is posting comments to units that Maui Condo does not represent and to reviews that are not identifiable as to who is the managing agent is. In the headline to her comments, she gives the impression that she is located at the property. “Manager at Kamaole Sands” the company of Maui Condo and Homes office is located off property. Is there a way that her comments can removed from any review that is not managed by the company that she represents which is Maui Condo and Home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

(8-301) An older unit that has a (from one spot on the balcony) a small view of the ocean. We stayed here with friends. Our first and perhaps most lasting concern was the cockroaches. We informed the owner who gave us advice on cleaning up but to our knowledge never sent an exterminator. One of the excuses offered was that this issue is typical in this environment. However my wife and I have stayed various places in Maui and have never encountered house roaches. There were traps in every cabinet.

In addition to this the condo owner had rules posted everywhere. These things created an odd vacation environment. We have stayed in condos in the Carribean, Florida, Alibama and have never seen quite this situation.

The grounds are nicely kept. The location is close to the beach for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Aloha, If you want to stay in a very beautiful, organized and well maintained hotel property, I would recommend Kamaole Sands in Kihei...the condos are fantastic and have all the ammenities one needs to enjoy their stay. I would recommend to buy your grocery food for the condo as it is very expensive to dine each day on the Island. There are gas grills outside the complex where one can enjoy cooking their food to their perfection. Oh, and the pool area is very big compared to the other Kamaole condos. There is a pool and 2 hot tubs w/each different temperature for the liking. The staff are great!!!! Just across the street is the beach and areas to picnic at...one of the best beaches I found in all of Kihei. Enjoy the stay...I am coming back next year. One last thing...ask where the Triangle is at and the night life there is great...live bands (all genres one can experience) in 8 of the pubs. It is north and about 1 mile north of the condo. Mahola

Room Tip: I stayed on the bottom corner floor which are very large and the bedroom is at the beginning of the condo....couch in living room area makes out to be a bed...very comfortable. There was no noise and the parking was private. At any given time, 24/7, there are teams of management driving their carts around if you need some assistance of any kind.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews