We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location. Location. Location.”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #13 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location. Location. Location.”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our one bedroom two bathroom condo was in the back of the complex, so no ocean views for us. Actually, there was only a small back yard with a big road beyond their natural fence.

Although our individual condo did not have a good view the complex was location on a nice area of South Kihei. Kamaole III was just across the street. Pretty good snorkeling in the morning and equally good boogie boarding in the afternoon.

The pool complex included a good sized pool, one whirpool that everyone could use, a kiddy pool, an adults-only whirlpool, exercise room, and an on-site Expedia agent that could book attractions.

The condo had cable TV, free wired HSIA, beach toys, and a sofa bed which seemed adequate.

Room Tip: If I were to book a condo again I would book with VRBO, instead of Hotwire, so that I could choose m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loomis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    342
    130
    78
    63
See reviews for
392
264
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayden, ID
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you rent this place knowing that any ocean view is extremely limited, then you'll probably be very satisfied. I've heard that some of the units are not well kept and/or very old. However, we rented from the Kamaole Sands website who contracts with the individual owners. That way, if we were unhappy with the unit, we may be able to switch. As it turns out, we were 'upgraded' to a well-kept, 3 bedroom unit (1-401) and it made for a perfect stay in Kiehe. The grounds are wonderful - and the lighted fountains are cool at night. The barbeques are kept immaculate (each day someone goes out and cleans them). The pool party was a fun treat. This place is full of families - many 3-generation groups here.
The beach across the street is wonderful and only a short walk. They had to close the beach about 4 weeks after we were there because of a shark sighting - but that could happen anywhere in Hawaii. On that trip we also stayed up in Napili. We love it up there, but we had to drive back down to Kihei to get some sun - Napili is definitely wetter.

Room Tip: If you like fish tacos - try Coconuts down the street to the right about 1 mile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Three generation family vacation...
2 - 204 Booked through Maui Condo and Car Rental.
We had to pay for the Unit 30 days ahead of time.(Make sure you receive the lock box code before arriving)
Centrally located, this one bedroom unit was totally renovated with view of gardens, pool, and Ocean. The bed was a little on the soft side for our liking. We were not able to obtain unit in until 5:00 in afternoon, but were able to put our luggage in room at 3:00. Would rent this suite again.

5 - 205 Booked this two bedroom Unit through Castle Kamaole Sands, with just a deposit needed. Suite is partially renovated with view of swimming pool, garden and ocean. (Close to the pool) It would be appreciated if Beach Towels were provided. On a few occasions our key cards stopped working, so a few a quirks needs to be worked out here. Final payment was at end of our nine day stay.
***
Our family, five adults and two children would definitely stay here again because of the location and amenities. It was Spring Break so there were many children which made it FUN for the our children. Kam 111 beach right across the road is perfect for families with children... They especially loved snorkelling with the turtles.
The grounds are beautifully kept up and the Wednesday afternoon Mai Tai event was appreciated.
A friendly suggestion to Kamaole Sands would be have an information sheet for new arrivals, as lady at the reception desk was new and not able to answer many of our questions.
Looking forward to coming back here with all the family! Mahalo!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have stayed at Kamaole Sands two times. The grounds are pristine and the pool and BBQ areas are great. The locatino of KS is fantastic. You can walk to the beach right across the street, you can walk for dinner or to get icecream. We rented directly through Kamaole Sands, and will not be doing that again. It is basically a sutie that is site unseen and they have no standards of the amenities within each unit. When we arrived we were happy to see that we were in building 6. This is an inside unit facing the inner court yard and close to the pool which is ideal. The suit itself was not so nice. First off, it is carpetted throughout. Carpet and Maui just don't mix! Secondly, it is not well stocked. The kitchen was missing many utensils (such as BBQ utensils) and small appliances (such as a blender). We didn't have access to the lanai closet, therefore we did not have beach towels, umbrella, cooler, boogie boards etc that you would expect to have renting a unit in Maui. When we called the front desk to complain, they said there was nothing they could do about it and if the owners were "nice enough" they would leave those things for their guests, but there was no standards as to what needed to be in each suite. We were very disappointed as we paid $175/night which was extremely high for what we got. Some suites are renovated and are extreemely nice. I suggest renting throug VRBO.com so at least you know what you will be getting.

Room Tip: Inner court yard buildings are the best and the ones at the back, closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, Front Office Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Aloha Tripadvisor. This is in regards to the comments made about 6-306 which is a condo that is managed by Castle Resorts and Hotels and not Maui Condo. I have a question as to why Marina Sands is allowed to solicit Maui Condo and Home. Kamaole Sands is an individually owned property with multiple management companies that represent them. Marina Sands is posting comments to units that Maui Condo does not represent and to reviews that are not identifiable as to who is the managing agent is. In the headline to her comments, she gives the impression that she is located at the property. “Manager at Kamaole Sands” the company of Maui Condo and Homes office is located off property. Is there a way that her comments can removed from any review that is not managed by the company that she represents which is Maui Condo and Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

(8-301) An older unit that has a (from one spot on the balcony) a small view of the ocean. We stayed here with friends. Our first and perhaps most lasting concern was the cockroaches. We informed the owner who gave us advice on cleaning up but to our knowledge never sent an exterminator. One of the excuses offered was that this issue is typical in this environment. However my wife and I have stayed various places in Maui and have never encountered house roaches. There were traps in every cabinet.

In addition to this the condo owner had rules posted everywhere. These things created an odd vacation environment. We have stayed in condos in the Carribean, Florida, Alibama and have never seen quite this situation.

The grounds are nicely kept. The location is close to the beach for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
35.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
36.6 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 km away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Property: Kamaole Sands
Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,632 - ₹ 23,142
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamaole Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing